We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GC
Wakefield, United Kingdom

Great holiday

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Mar 2013
Booked this hotel after reading good reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. The rooms are big, clean and we were offered either free WIFI or mini bar. We chose the WIFI so we could use our tablets daily in our room.
On arrival we were offered a free juice drink while checking in. Check in was easy and reception staff were brilliant then and at all times, always ready to assist in any situation.
The hotel is close to shops and restaurants but is in a quiet area so we didn't hear any noise. You can walk to the beach and beach road via a little track.
CONS
Our room was nice and big but the view could have been better for a deluxe room. We were at the back overlooking the back of another building. The shower leaked and there always appeared to be water on the bathroom floor, I think this is a bad design.
The pool area was clean but more sunbeds are needed for a hotel of this size and the lady who staffed the pool bar appeared to be doing everything and when we needed a drink she was often nowhere to be seen. She would then reappear with food for other people. Perhaps there should be 2 staff here so one could collect the food from the kitchen and one serve behind the bar.
Overall we had a lovely holiday here and nothing really detracted from our enjoyment. We would stay here again without hesitation.
Date of stay: February 2013
Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$134
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$147
  • Hotels.com
    AU$124
  • Expedia.com
    AU$145
0.1 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$86
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$86
  • Expedia.com
    AU$86
  • Vio.com
    AU$87
0.8 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$148
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    AU$134
  • Trip.com
    AU$134
  • travelup.com
    AU$152
0.8 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free parking
Pool
AU$176
  • Priceline
    AU$176
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$166
  • Expedia.com
    AU$176
1.4 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$214
  • Priceline
    AU$206
  • Vio.com
    AU$190
  • Expedia.com
    AU$232
2.9 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$317
  • Priceline
    AU$338
  • Agoda.com
    AU$306
  • Expedia.com
    AU$338
1.7 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$140
  • Priceline
    AU$136
  • Vio.com
    AU$136
  • Trip.com
    AU$176
2.8 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$340
  • Expedia.com
    AU$341
  • Priceline
    AU$340
  • Hotels.com
    AU$341
2.7 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$70
  • Priceline
    AU$62
  • Expedia.com
    AU$73
  • Hotels.com
    AU$73
0.4 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$854
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$855
  • Priceline
    AU$854
  • Expedia.com
    AU$855
3.0 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Patong
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
176
236
63
23
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
176
236
63
23
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bangla road free mini bar orange restaurant pool area nice pool bars and restaurants egg station spacious rooms buffet breakfast noise massage phuket baht madness
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 524 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2013

R-Mar is probably best described as a nice resort, with a great location. It's close to Bang La Road, but feels miles away when in the resort. As mention by many, the swimming pool is huge and relaxing, and the breakfast is also pretty good (though inferior to a Novotel, for example).

The one main problem that we had was that our entire bathroom flooded with each shower. The staff were well aware of the problem, with their band aid solution being to put a towel along the side of the shower-bath. This was insufficient, as the bathroom still flooded. The issue was created by some extremely poor shower design and it is alarming that the issue has not been fixed by management. Broken tables at the bottom of poolside umbrellas seemed to also be reflective of the management's ineptness to repair basic faults.

We will not return to this resort.

Date of stay: February 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2013

booked four nights here with my wife and friends all in our 40s ad 50s , and this turned out to be a great hotel even though it was a stones throw away from bangla road , but everything was great , the hotel made us very welcome when we arrived with the usual welcome drink , the rooms were excellent , very clean and comfortable with the usual bathroom bits and bobs , breakfast was excellent ,as for location nothing could have been better 3 minute walk to a great beach and 2-3 minute walk to bangla road and the jungceylon shopping centre , the hotel on the whole was very clean and it was like a quiet oasis and i could recommend this hotel to all ages and families .

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for 6 nights with 8 people.cant fault this place.great location,service good,nice rooms,good breakfast and friendly staff.the pool is big and beer and food is reasonably cheap by the pool.the tour desk operater is really helpful and has good prices on day trips.the massage parlour just down the road,near security gate,is really good they are very professional and the rooms are very nice.
Its a 5 min walk to the beach and 10mins to bangla road.
I will not hesitate staying here again next time in phuket.cheers

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattybeckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My first time staying here. Place looks exactly as those uploaded photos. One of the best resort in Phuket. Staffs are friendly esp this particular staff, a guy, since day one he has this warm positive atittude that made me n my friends feel so welcome there. Our room was upgraded from deluxe to suite room with no extra charges due to unseen circumstances of full deluxe rooms. Our room is big and balcony is humongous. Clean and well maintained. Toilet is heaven. hahahah. Swimming pool is quite big, toilets are all very clean. Breakfast was gooooood. The hotel areas are clean and big. 5 mins Shortcut to Patong beach. Location is also good, near to almost every shops/restaurants. 24hrs security guarding up the main entrance. Transport pick up from and to airport. Overall me and my buddies felt so satisfied, that it was diff to part ways on our last day here. Will def stay here again for our next Phuket trip. Money well spent!

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SyafiqR70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This hotel is not worth the $100 a night I paid for it. While the rooms are stylish and big, the view is non existent and they make you pay for everything: I broke a glass and was charged, I asked for ice in my drink and was charged and upon asking for a better view they offered me one...but wanted another $50 a night (half a months salary in Thailand) . I am sure the cleaning staff are still only getting $3 a day, so why this hotel is charging so much...for everything, I don't know.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gregh442
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews