We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxury but good location, clean, modern and friendly”
Review of Amata Patong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amata Patong
Ranked #91 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not luxury but good location, clean, modern and friendly”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The Amata Grand is located a short walk from Bangla Road and the Patong Beach - far enough away so that it's not too noisy and busy but close enough to be able to walk to many places. The hotel is not a 5 star resort but facilities are adequate, new and clean.

We were located in a non-view room (that is, our juliet balcony was overlooking the hotel next door) with two large single beds, tv and bathroom. The beds are quite firm (which apparently is quite common in Thailand) but reasonably comfortable. The air conditioning is quite loud but you get used to the constant hum. The bathroom is fairly large and houses a toilet, shower and sink. The shower does not have a bund so you must shower carefully so that you don't completely flood the bathroom. It seems to be an interior design oversight - they clearly were going for aesthetics over practicality. Overall the rooms are modern, fairly spacious and clean. Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel.

There are 2 pools - one located at ground level and another on the roof. There is no shade available so don't forget your sunscreen. The pools do not have a swim up bar (as advertised by Ezystay) but are new, large and quite nice - the roof top pool is an infinity style and has a great view of Patong.

Buffet breakfast was included in the price, however, it was nothing too exciting. Word of note to the caffeine addicts - look elsewhere - the coffee is atrocious (Surprisingly the Coffee Club is a pretty good option - just down the road at JungCeylon).

The staff were absolutely lovely. Their English is pretty good and they are very helpful. Unfortunately for them we had some unlucky experiences, nevertheless, they were quick to sort out the issues and always did so with a smile. I added an extra star to this rating due to the staff friendliness, performance and response!

At the end of the day the Amata Grand Hotel was pretty good - if you're looking for luxury, look elsewhere but if you want location, value, cleanliness and friendliness then the Amata might be suitable for you.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the driveway/pool have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    312
    172
    50
    64
See reviews for
109
238
113
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at the Amata Resort for 8 days. When we arrived we were allocated a smaller room but they changed us to a larger room at no extra cost after we requested this. We could not have asked for better service and it is very good value. All the staff were so friendly and helpful and most spoke passable English. If you want to stay in Patong, I recommend this hotel. The downside is it is on a very busy street and the restaurant is not very good. If you want a quieter stay, Karon or Kata Beach would be better. However, it is only a 5 minute walk to Jungceylon which is a large, air-conditioned shopping centre with lots of good restaurants at the back and a 5 minute walk to the beach where there are some great restaurants where you can watch the sunset over the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room on the 7th or 8th floor with a balcony and a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MargaretMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed in newer section of the hotel. Our first room had no balcony, no hair dryer and no tea and coffee facilities (as advertised) and the toilet was blocked. The bed felt like we were sleeping on a dining table, very hard. The shower head faced the toilet and wet not only the toilet but the entire bathroom floor. We were then moved to a room with a balcony. The bed was still hard even after a mattress topper was placed on top of it. A shower curtain was placed around the shower to stop the toilet from getting wet however the bathroom floor still flooded. After repeatidly requesting for a hair dryer and tea and coffee facilities in the room and being advised that it would be arriving soon, it was still not received. Only positive is that the hotel is in walking distance to the shopping centre

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patong hotels

Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Amata Resort Patong for 7 nights in a poolview room on the second floor. I was very impressed with this 3.5 star hotel - better than some 4-4.5 star hotle Ive stayed in! The room was very large and had a balcony overlooking the inviting ground floor pool. Two very comfortable chairs and a small table made this a pleasant place to sit, cocktail in hand watching the world go by. The room itself was more than adequate with a huge king size bed. The bathroom consisted of a rainshower, handbasin and toilet. However, there was no shower screen or curtain which proved to be a little challenging with flooding of the bathroom every time I had a shower. The room itself was spotlessly clean and had plenty of storage space and an inroom safe. My package included breakfast which was basic but the egg chef would cook your eggs however you wanted - omelettes were was delicious!

The thing which impressed me most about this hotel was the staff. The friendliest staff I have ever expereinced in Asia, always smiling and readily available to ensure every request asked of them was fulfilled with the utmost of courtesy and service. 5 star service, 5 star location. I would stay here again most definitely. Tip: Dont stay in the twin share rooms and make sure you spend an afternoon sipping cocktails around the rooftop pool taking in the view.

Room Tip: Level 2 and above overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Margina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We also booked through Groupon for Baan Yuree resort and got moved to Amata. At first we were wary- we hadn’t heard many good reviews and we worried about the close proximity to all the hustle and bustle of Patong. But as soon as we arrived we were welcomed with smiles and assurances that our stay would be made as comfortable as possible. The rooms were clean and nice looking- the only downfall being the inevitable flooded bathroom after showering due to no shower screen. The pools were lovely and not crowded, and the rooftop pool especially was a perfect retreat with beach and mountain views. The closeness to town turned out to be very handy- later in our stay we travelled out to Baan Yuree and were grateful that everything was in walking distance for us. As soon as we were withing the walls of the hotel, all outside noise was cut out and we were able to enjoy the peace and quiet whenever we wanted. The staff were lovely, Bonnie at tourist information was especially helpful, advising us on where to go and organising lifts and tickets without hassles. The included buffet breakfast was nothing spectacular but always fresh and was a perfect basic start to each day. About halfway through our stay, while enjoying the free scuba diving lesson we had included in our trip, a siren rang out through the streets alerting us about the tsunami warning following an earthquake at sea. We ended up having to stay on the roof for about 4 hours until the threat had passed, but in the meantime were blown away by the continuous hospitality of the staff. The kitchen staff stayed in the kitchen on the ground floor, cooking for the many people sitting on the roof. One staff member in particular was bouncing around singing, dancing, using cardboard to shade and fan guests, our happiness and comfort were his number one priority, even in the middle of a tsunami warning and earthquake. All in all we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel, and would stay here again if returning to Patong.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 km away
The Viridian Resort
The Viridian Resort
#101 of 322 in Patong
319 reviews
0.4 km away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.2 km away
Sleep With Me Hotel
Sleep With Me Hotel
#37 of 322 in Patong
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#47 of 322 in Patong
318 reviews
0.6 km away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#36 of 322 in Patong
374 reviews
0.7 km away
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
#64 of 322 in Patong
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Patong

Property: Amata Patong
Address: 189/29 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amata Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
Price range (per night): $34 - $175
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amata Patong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Amata Patong Resort Stay at Amata Patong to enjoy modern comforts and the convenience of being in the heart of Patong, just five minute's walk from the world-famous walking streets of Bangla and only a short walk from Patong Beach on the west coast of Phuket in Southern Thailand. Amata Patong is an affordable accommodation option offering full-board, half-board and self-catering options in the centre of Patong, all serviced with Amata Patong's homely hospitality. Whether you are holidaying alone or with friends and family, Amata Patong offers excellent value for money with a variety of rooms to suit different budgets. Accommodation at Amata Patong offers options for single travelers with excellent facilities for traveling executives with city-view and pool-view rooms as well as partial sea views. We also have excellent options for honeymoon couples as well as a few complimentary romantic extras. You never have to go far to enjoy the excellent facilities in and around Amata Patong, including a large swimming pool and pool bar in the courtyard plus a rooftop pool and bar with a view across Patong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Amata Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Hotel Patong
Amata Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing