We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Thai smile over here”
Review of Chan Cha Lay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chan Cha Lay
Ranked #10 of 303 Krabi Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tilburg, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No Thai smile over here”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We were ready to check in at this place but the lady behind the counter (think it was the manager) made us decide not to stay here at all. She was just being rude and she absolutely didn't understand what an impact her behaviour had. When I told her I found her reaction to my simple questions a bitt strange she replied to me that she had plenty of guests and sometimes a waitinglist. Not exactly the way I want to be treated in this situation. I think good reviews can sometimes create that kind off behaviour. Thank god Krabi is full of good hostels so look around.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    124
    30
    9
    20
See reviews for
27
191
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed for two nights at Chan Cha Lay. The people are friendly and can organize tours for you. The rooms are immaculately clean and the bathrooms were cleaned regularly. Good location, close to the night market with great street vendor food, yum! Check out Are You? Bar just down the road, the owner Pik is awesome!

Room Tip: The shared bathroom rooms are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We spent 2 nights in the private bath room (450baht) and another 2 nights in share bath room(250 baht) with fan. The room with private bath room is great. Clean, nice and good location. As a summary:
Service: Good, I would say consider a normal service.
Value: Definitely worth what you paid.
Room: Very nice. You might hear a bit noise at night due to the pub behind. Too bad, the wifi signal is too weak to reach the room at the back. Extending the wifi signal to the back should be highly considered. Only cold shower,but is fine during hot day. Water pressure is very strong, great! No TV which I seldom use it. Bed is standard which is hard for western people but for Asian hard bed is good (at least good for bone).
Location: good location. Just a minute of walk to reach the river side where you can find the cheapest food around Krabi town at night.

Overall, I would certainly recommended it.

Room Tip: Private bath room, room no 5, you might be able to get a weak signal on your bed in day time (when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heilongxiaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We got a fan room, en-suite for 450Thb and it was a very nice room. Everthing clean, well looked after & nicely decorated. Helpful staff who are not pushy when giving information. Good location and the garden room we had was well back from the street with no traffic noise.

Room Tip: The ensuite courtyard rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fractalcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We cannot recommend this place in Krabi as the owners were very unfriendly and unreliable. We made a reservation via phone for one night and also mentioned that we will arrive later in the evening. But when we arrived the owner said we never called and they are already full for this night. Then she started screaming aggressively on us and said we have to leave.

We thought this was a good place but if you can't rely on the owner herself we would not recommend to stay here. There are also other people on trip advisor reporting the same problem so be very careful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich_zh_no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
9.9 km away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,452 reviews
0.8 km away
Dee Andaman Hotel
Dee Andaman Hotel
#1 of 18 in Pak Nam
359 reviews
0.3 km away
Hop Inn Krabi
Hop Inn Krabi
#42 of 182 in Krabi Town
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pak-Up Hostel
Pak-Up Hostel
#3 of 317 in Krabi Town
886 reviews
0.5 km away
Apo Hotel
Apo Hotel
#1 of 27 in Pak Nam
147 reviews
0.2 km away
K.L. Boutique Hotel
K.L. Boutique Hotel
#10 of 317 in Krabi Town
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chan Cha Lay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan Cha Lay

Property: Chan Cha Lay
Address: 55 Utarakit Road | Maung, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Krabi Town
Price range (per night): $13 - $23
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chan Cha Lay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Chan Cha Lay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chan Cha Lay Hotel Krabi Town
Chan Cha Lay Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing