We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marieke K

Run down place, but not all bad

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Feb 2023via mobile
I made a mistake and booked the River Kwai Hotel instead of the Glory River Kwai one. We eventually arrived at the hotel I booked and just to be clear, it has nothing to do with the river. It's not even near. Sandwiched in between a club and a rather suspicious massage parlour 😁
Anyway, the rooms are large, but rather old. The bed was okay, the pillows really comfortable. Curtains had to be fastened with a paperclip, hooks were missing. Air-conditioning worked very well, not blowing on your face and the temperature was well adjustable.
But.... The bathroom!!!! That was really, really awful. Mould everywhere, yellow bathtub that used to be white, corroded taps, a shower curtain hanging in the bath taht had seen cleaner days. Stains of leakages all over the ceiling. In our friend's room the person above took a shower and all the water came splashing down in her bath. I even took pictures so you can see I'm not exaggerating.
Breakfast was okay, egg station and toast, instant coffee or tea.
The pool is nice.
Date of stay: February 2023
Room Tip: Parking on the premises, with guards.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$66
Fully refundable
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    AU$59
  • Expedia.com
    AU$76
1.8 km from River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$180
  • Expedia.com
    AU$170
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$170
  • Vio.com
3.6 km from River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$29
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$29
  • StayForLong
  • Trip.com
1.5 km from River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$45
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$38
  • Trip.com
2.9 km from River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$37
  • Agoda.com
    AU$34
  • Expedia.com
    AU$35
  • Trip.com
0.9 km from River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The hut river view 1,200 include breakfast.
AU$48
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
    AU$22
  • StayForLong
2.8 km from River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$119
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$133
  • Hotels.com
    AU$135
1.4 km from River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$65
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$60
  • StayForLong
    AU$69
32.6 km from River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$72
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$66
  • Trip.com
55.3 km from River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    AU$60
  • Expedia.com
    AU$80
2.4 km from River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
20
102
109
49
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
20
102
109
49
38
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2023

My room has two single beds that may not be comfortable for someone like me; however, the food and beverage in this hotel are very delicious and suitable for everyone, especially breakfast such as omelets and porridge.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 2540supamitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2022

Nice friendly hotel. Good value and nice and quiet. A little far out in regards for location. We hired a motorbike so not a problem for us. I would recommend this hotel and stay there again. Breakfast was good especially the local dishes.

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank reset58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2022 via mobile

Very old and out of date. No facilities apart from breakfast. We arrived and saw the beautiful reception area and it went down hill from there. Asked for another room as first was filthy, second not much better but shower was cleaner. Pool area disgusting, no bar or snack area, no coffee shop, as advertised, no restaurant as advertised, no spar as advertised No hot water in evening for a shower, tried calling reception but none of the house phones work . Engineer said leave the water to run , 1 hour later we had warm water. This is a joke of a hotel, if your going to reopen after Covid. Then open fully as advertised. We unfortunately prepaid for five nights so put up with it but book at your peril, it's not a cheap hotel and I have stayed in cheaper but far far better hotels. There are better hotels in the area for less money . I have looked for positives but can't find any.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank andyw081064
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2022 via mobile

Place is very run down. Needs urgent renovation in all aspects.
Breakfast was absolutely terrible.
I unfortunately booked 2 nights and fled to another hotel.
I have stayed in cheaper guest houses much cheaper and better than here.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kali20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

This hotel is very old, at least 20 years, and the rooms show their age. Big CRT TV in room, awful bathrooms with stained bath and mirrors, dated decor, acoustics in the hall ways mean you can hear every fart and bump the other guests make through the night.

Spent a sleepless night listening to the Mini bar fridge compressor buzzing away, and then next door room trying to close their door, which for some reason had chosen 5am to no longer work. Noisy hotel staff assisted, but this seemed to make the situation worse, and the noise more.

Breakfast was ok. Breads were good and the omelet very tasty.

Avoid this hotel unless you have no other option, and then if it is the only room in town, go to Robinsons and buy a tent.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank anthonybY9467LZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews