We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oriental Kwai - picture perfect resort with outstanding quality of service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanchanaburi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oriental Kwai Resort
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This beautiful resort was everything that has been written and more. The cabins were tastefully decorated and welcoming, clean, with a veranda to relax and soak in the beauty of the gardens and picture perfect landscaping. Our cabin No. 7 - had our own long walkway and fish filled pond, so lovely to sit and bask in the exotic surroundings. The owners Evelyn and her husband were more like friends than managers/owners of the resort, their children happily playing and Evelyn always ready with a smile and friendly chat. Our only regret is that we did not have more time to spend and hopefully will return one day to this little piece of paradise beside the Kwai river. The only suggestion, not complaint, is that the entrance sign be more easily seen or larger, as this is a place that you don't want to waste a minute of not arriving as soon as you can.

Room Tip: Most of the cabins are situated in lovely secluded spots from one another, I loved our cabin No, 7 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 368 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Fantastic little family run hotel!
Super friendly owner/managers and staff with real attention to detail.
Cottages were lovely - clean and quaint.
Food was amazing and always fresh.
highly recommend it for anyone wanting to do something a bit different in thailand

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xpatUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. Although it took us a long time to get there (3 hrs on the train and 3.5 hrs to get back on a mini-van), we are glad we did it. The cottage was very comfortable and having the restaurant right at the hotel was very convenient. The best part was renting a motorbike to drive around the neighborhood - the hotel has those to rent for an affordable price. And the owners were very gracious and helpful.

I think I misread the reviews and did not realize that many families visit the place - so it can get a bit noisy with all the kids playing in the pool. There is also construction going on over the wall, and a wat located across the river, which blasts music on a loudspeaker at 7:00 AM. So the tranquil moments were not that abundant for me, but it is probably very dependent on the time of the year and visitors.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

As noted elsewhere this is a very well run resort (a young Dutch/Thai couple) in a lovely setting by the river Kwai. Our chalet had everything we needed and most importantly a very comfortable bed. Sleep quality was perfect and we particularly enjoyed the dawn chorus in this paradise.... if only the jungle were a little cooler in the afternoon! We highly recommend the restaurant where we enjoyed 3 good dinners plus all our fine and varied breakfasts. We particularly appreciated the large DVD and book library.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

A very special introduction on our first trip to Thailand. We loved the Oriental Kwai Resort. The location, accommodations, food and staff were all Five Star. Located on the River Kwai, the separate cottages with river and garden views were breathtaking. The food, OH THE FOOD! The restaurant was situated on a veranda overlooking the River Kwai - the best food we had in Thailand - the wine was good too. Evelien and her staff looked after us sooooo well. Stay a few days in Paradise while in Thailand at the Oriental River Kwai. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Don't believe there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PK332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
9.8 km away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,052 reviews
8.7 km away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
345 reviews
13.5 km away
X2 River Kwai Resort
X2 River Kwai Resort
#6 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
10.6 km away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
168 reviews
11.3 km away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Kwai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Kwai Resort

Address: 194/5 Moo 1 | Ladya Subdistrict, Kanchanaburi 71190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $63 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and peaceful resort at the famous River Kwai, centrally located at only 15 min. drive from Kanchanaburi downtown and on the way to sights as Erawan waterfalls, Elephants world & Hellfire pass. The 12 cottages are spread throughout a teak forest and beautiful tropical garden. The cottages have all facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible and are designed in a warm Thai style. The resort has a cozy restaurant on site that overlooks the River Kwai and in the garden you'll find a lovely swimming pool. Tour, local taxi and transfer service available. Massage facility available at Jay's Spa and free fitness room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oriental Kwai Hotel Kanchanaburi
Hotel Oriental Kwai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing