We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ben Harkins
Bangkok, Thailand

Float all of your troubles away!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Apr 2024via mobile
We had a very nice 2-night stay at Royal River Kwai. Simple, elegant and charming resort right on the banks of the river and a few minutes drive into town.

Highly recommend the excellent restaurant on the river side for evening meals. Also, if you want to go really local, there is a great area for swimming in the river at Wat Si Upsalaram about 5 minutes away.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$170
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$170
5.0 km from Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$76
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
6.8 km from Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
AU$133
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$133
3.8 km from Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$36
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$36
7.8 km from Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$29
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
10.1 km from Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$137
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
7.2 km from Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
The hut river view 1,200 include breakfast.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$41
  • eDreams
5.8 km from Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$70
  • eDreams
6.2 km from Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$65
  • Priceline
24.2 km from Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$217
  • Priceline
65.8 km from Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
217
288
80
24
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
217
288
80
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews live singer great pool large swimming pool quiet hotel nice balcony thailand bank river relaxation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 617 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

Booked hotel for a few days when visiting River Kwai, hotel is a few kms outside Kanchanaburi and hotel provides a shuttle into town twice a day, it is difficult to get a GRAB taxi though. Rooms are massive and beds really comfortable although a little dated. Tea coffee and water provided. Breakfast which was included was fantastic.
Hotel is very peaceful and backs onto the River Kwai.
The pool is fantastic
Had evening meal twice , food was really good albeit more expensive than in the town
Great location though for visiting River Kwai bridge and museum

Room tip: Pre book taxis using booking.com or GRAB
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MellowmanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2024

Super hotel, really friendly staff, much better than 3 star, spa was great for massage and meals were fabulous and not expensive, wonderful riverside location with live music for dinner that blended in well. Very clean and delicious breakfast too

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2023

Location can be the only issue, if you don't have a car and don't want to depend on taxis. On the other hand, beeing a bit (9 kms?) away from the center, turns this place very quiet, ideal for relaxing.
The hotel has 4, i think, two storey buildings, surrounded by very nice gardens.
Great big and deep swimming pool.
Rooms are classic decorated, with iold style furniture.
Great matress.
Small but ok toilet, with walk in shower.
Small tv with only one international channel.
Great breakfast, with western and asian dishes and all the other usual things, like bread (many options), fruit, coffee, milk, tea, hot chocolate, ordered made eggs, juices, etc.
Nice and not so expensive restautant by the river.
Discret and very friendly staff.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JMPFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2023

We stayed here as part of a Titan tour group.
There are no lifts to upstairs rooms (only ground and first floor) and rooms are set out in separate blocks.
The bedroom area was fine, comfortable and enough room. No English on the TV, a shame as we like to keep abreast of news when away from home. Beds are spacious but the sheet on one could have been cleaner as there were a couple of marks probably from insects.
The bathroom was a little tired, the bath had seen better days and the shower was a little weak in terms of flow. Plumbing is narrow and so toilet paper must be put in a bin and not down the toilet.
The restaurant is outdoor although covered by a roof, mosquitoes were a bit of a pest around the whole site but not as bad as we expected them to be. Breakfast selection is good although there was no gluten free bread, there was other food for coeliacs though such as eggs, fruit and yogurt etc. Although we didn't have an evening meal there we heard that the restaurant was cheap and very good, just as well as there is really no-where else to go.
Outdoor areas are lovely. Nice pool area and superb bar seating area overlooking the river. The hotel is in a good location within easy reach by car of the Kwai bridge etc.
However, we did not appreciate the checking out procedure where you are not allowed to leave before the rooms have been checked to make sure nothing is missing, even the car park has a barrier pulled across for this. I realsie why they do this but surely like any other hotel such tiny losses must be included in the pricing structure.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2023

We stayed as part of a tour. The room was very nice and comfortable. We had a really nice dinner on the water at the hotel. The staff was excellent for both the hotel and the restaurant. We had taken a two hour train ride ending at the Kwai bridge prior to check in and the hotel was very relaxing.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sandtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews