We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rickuk56
London, United Kingdom

Well located, quiet Ok place

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Mar 2019
Stayed in a wooden bungalow over the water with ensuite, good aircon and fridge with a large veranda. The bathroom is small and functional with sunken bath under shower.. Breakfast was a standard breakfast of eggs + At reasonable price.. All of the bar strip and restaurants are walking distance from SAMS. Overall reasonable place.
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$89
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Sam's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$74
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$74
0.8 km from Sam's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$133
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Sam's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$206
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
7.0 km from Sam's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$208
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hotel Website
2.1 km from Sam's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$31
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Sam's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$459
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
31.0 km from Sam's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$41
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
104.3 km from Sam's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Official Hotel
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$196
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Sam's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
The hut river view 1,200 include breakfast.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$40
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Sam's Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
14
43
34
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
14
43
34
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews budget guest house on stilts bridge cabin toilet riverfront insects
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Booked the superior bungalow for two nites. For the room rate, I think its a value for money in comparison to other Kwai river bank similarly located accomodations which I have stayed before.
Bungalow is located facing river at extreme end of property. AC ok, fridge, TV has english movie channel, WIFI a bit slow. Bathroom with bathtub & hotwater but very small which is within my expectation for an accomodation I considered as 1star as per pricing/location. Room is clean and has a 'private' verandah with table & chairs. No wardobe in room except for wooden wall hangers. I guess you need to request for room cleaning & towel changes personally as nobody came to clean our room.
We ask for an electric kettle & were give one. Had relaxing fun having instant coffee, reading books facing the river.
Bungalow reasonably quiet considering its made from wooden timber but we did hear the early morning music frm nearby excercise joint. Hence choose a bungalow closer to reception if that may bother you. Bicycle renting for B50/24hrs right next to property entrance. All amenities such as convenient store (small tesco), massage place, restaurants are nearby. About 2km north is the Bridge of river Kwai. Kanchana buri town/main bus station is about 5km southwards.
Receptionist is friendly. There are 3 cute small dogs in the property which are harmless. 1 dog liked to bark whenever we passed by though.
I will stay here again next time I m in Kanchanaburi.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank SrhKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a superior bungalow. It was quite pretty, and had a great view.

Let’s start with the good. The property is quite scenic, in a jungle rustic sort of way. The bungalows are cozy and have character I think.

The staff is great. So nice. They have a laundry service, but no dryer, so give them a full day to get it done.

They helped arrange tours to local attractions.

Breakfast in the lobby was good, and reasonable. Not outstanding, but good.

The best thing about the place is the location. You are right on the strip of bars, restaurants, tour guides and massage places. We were one of the only ones there. Business on the strip as a whole seemed pretty poor. Maybe it was low season.

Now the issues...

The first should have been obvious. When staying in a jungle bungalow five feet from the river, insects are an issue. The bungalow has a lovely porch, but we never sat there as the mosquitoes would eat you.

Pretty bad any problem in the bathroom.

And the biggest issue was the plumbing. The faucet and shower need some work.

I kind of have the impression overall that this is a place that has seen better days. It was nice enough and we had a good stay, and I would book again. If they fixed up the plumbing a bit, could go 5 Star.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 622dougc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night during Songkran and were the only people staying there.

There was no restaurant as expected and no tea/ coffee facilities offered, so any time we needed any food or drink we had to brave the festivities. These were amazing but not always convenient to be doused in chalk and water if you just need a coffee!

We only stayed 1 night. The place was pretty but very quiet and we weren't made to feel very welcome, though the actual bungalow was lovely.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sazzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We stayed at Sams house for 2 nights and booked the 2 biggest rooms (family rooms) one with a double and twin bed, and another with a double and single bed. Both rooms were very nice, clean and with good aircon and hot showers (you need good aircon in Kanchanaburi, it gets HOT there!) This place has a nice riverside location with some rooms looking directly out onto the river. All are connected by a metal walkway on stilts, its a very fun and unique place to stay! Very close to all the bars and restaurants, plus attractions like the Bridge on the river Kwai, and the Death railway museum. I will definitely stay here again when I next visit Kanchanaburi.

Room tip: Ask which rooms have a riverside view.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannyboyhtfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Conveniently located with lots of eating places and bars nearby. Friendly taxi lady at front on street. Helpful and friendly receptionist at Sams who spoke very good English. Banana pancakes for breakfast were yum! Room was fine but I would have liked a sheet on top of me not just one blanket. Shower warm not hot but I never wanted a hot shower anyway after a hot day! Local cats and dogs fighting and barking at night but not Sams fault. All in all a good stay.
Went to Erawan waterfalls independently (not with tour) much cheaper and could spend hours there swimming and enjoying the pools. Did the same going to Hellfire Pass so not rushed if you want to hike the trail. As long as you get back to Namtok station by 3.15 for last train back to Kanchanaburi

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank garnet1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews