We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Judy B

A mixed bag

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Feb 2024via mobile
As previous reviews state, this hotel is very run down. It is kept clean but the infrastructure, decoration etc. is very shabby. The reception staff were not as welcoming as we usually experience in Thailand and the breakfast was poor. However, the reason I gave it 3 stars is that we had a peaceful nights sleep and for the position. Perfect location for a short walk to the bridge then over it to the little town on the other side of the river. I wouldn’t recommend eating in the hotel’s restaurant as very soulless but there are plenty of lovely places within walking distance.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Reviews (870)
Filter reviews
870 results
Traveller rating
215
337
206
73
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
215
337
206
73
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews famous bridge across the bridge large balcony thai food pools river taxis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 870 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2024

This resort hotel has huge possibilities but it simply too run down. The grounds are potentially fabulous, but pathways are uneven, algae are growing in some unused pond areas and the lack of upkeep was evident everywhere. The room was very large with a beautiful view, but the bathroom was in serious need of updating. Breakfast was average. We stayed as part of a tour and this hotel did not live up to our other experiences in Thailand.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DianefromWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2024

The resort is beautiful however some areas are undergoing renovations including the gym (which was one of my criteria for booking hotels on our trip) & apparently some of the rooms including our first room lacked an in room safe.
There was a safety deposit box at the main reception desk however it was inconvenient. I did talk to the check in staff about it they were able
To switch our room for us & nicely “upgraded” us to a River front room.
The rooms including the bathroom were a good size. Minimal toiletries in the bathroom
Bed was more firm than we are accustomed to but not uncomfortable. Pillows were adequate.
There were two pools one for lane swim which people living in the community can use with a membership & a beautiful second pool in the middle of the property.
The hotel is located on a less frequented side of the River Kwai altho in walking distance of the bridge & neighboring town of Kanchanaburi. We walked it daily during our stay choosing not to pay for taxis.
Breakfast was a disappointment, choices were very limited. Fried eggs were cooked & left to the side of the grill area altho you could ask for fresh. We had one dinner at the hotel food was again mediocre & was barely warm when we got it.
I don’t think they’ve fully recovered from the pandemic. I think there was a billiards table but I didn’t bother seeing it.
It looked like several areas that may have been quite lively in better days were unused during our stay.
There are several other hotels on the opposite side of the bridge in Kanchanaburi that I would look into if we were to return.

Room tip: Location is out of the way unless you have transportation are willing to walk or pay for taxis
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2024

Arrival on the last week of January for Friends Reunion in Kanchanaburi, our 4 families choose Felix River Kwai as our choice of accommodation. I recalled that this hotel used to be called 'Sheraton River Kwai' backed in 1990s. However, they are no longer with the Sheraton franchise for decades. Still, the hotel hold the charm of once were Five Stars hotel very well.

Our group got the room on D Building which is adjunct to the reception. The hotel has very beautiful garden, nice swimming pool, wide and open lobby and reception areas. The service is good. Polite concierge, nice reception staffs, and the hotel tried to keep their hotel at the best condition as possible. The hotel itself give you the idea of what Luxury Resort should look like in 1990s.

We got the room on D Block which is adjunct to the main Reception building. We asked for Deluxe Room with Balcony overlooking the River. We got everything that we asked for as the reception designated room D209 to us. The room has bigger balcony than most room on the same floor. I learned later that D Block rooms with 1 or 9 at the end of each floor got larger Balcony (as my friend got room ending with 1 and also got the same size balcony as mine one). The room is over 40m2 which is very large for standard room. The floor is polished wooden floor in an excellent condition. The bathroom is large with older fashioned bathtub. The room is old fashioned but very well maintained. Overall, it showed the quality of what the 90s Luxury 5 stars hotel should look like. Large, spacious, beautiful swimming pool, well decorated, big and beautiful landscape garden, large convention center with many meeting rooms, clean and tidy room, and large balcony.

I walked around the hotel compound and love large trees with beautiful garden, and nice breeze along the walkway by Riverside. At the end of riverside walkway, there is a pier that you can see the legendary Bridge over River Kwai clearly.

After all positive aspects, I also having similar comments from members those review before me. Despite all positive points, It is undeniable that this hotel is very old and some part that really show its' age. For example, the paint around the hotel are coming out, the wooden decoration on some roof areas are rusts. the open air car park is good but in 21st Century, EV chargers may be a good idea for customers with EV cars. It is undeniable that many facilities in this hotel may not be very well maintain. For example, the air conditioning in the lobby areas. The hotel used the portable air conditioning as a quick way to fix their problem. The lobby is very large covering 2 floors. So, it is very clear that the area on the ground floor has been very dark and not well maintain in comparison to the lobby on the 2nd floor (by reception). Also not all restaurants are open. While walking to our room, we can see that the large area that closed supposed to be either convention area or Chinese restaurant (due to decoration). It ended up that the whole hotel has only one opening restaurant on the ground floor.

We dine at restaurant twice. For Dinner, we have a la carte menus. For dinner, we have selection of Thai meal such as Tom Kha Chicken, Tom Yum Soup, Stir-fried mixed vegetable, Pineapple Fried Rice, Thai Prawn Omelet, Jungle Curry, Cashew nut chicken, etc. Also, we ordered Beer and Wine. The price for beverages are relatively good. It is not overly expensive. But the selections are limited. Thai dishes such as Jungle Curry is very spicy but it is nice for Thai guests. Other meals are good BUT not outstanding. It is a good restaurant for modern First Class hotel but may need better decorations or presentations. For Breakfast, I have similar comment as other members. The meal has limited selection. Bread and cake sections are limited. No cracker or cheese selections, Jams are mostly supermarket grade jams (For Modern Luxury hotels always use Homemade). The cooking stations are good idea. But the selections are limited. I love the Thai Tea and Thai Coffee section. The Egg selections are limited. They offered only Fried Egg, Scramble Egg, and Omelet. The boiled egg only available at Congee station (need to have them with congee). The Congee need to work on their rice (it need to be crushed to the soup level but at this hotel the grain still visible). The buffet line are very limited. If you are looking at European selections, you have French Toast, Baked Bean, Bacon, Fried Egg, and Sausages. The sausages are tasteless and I need to put excessive amount of Ketchup for that. The Thai meal consist of Steam Rice, Fried Rice, Fried Noodles with small selection of other meals. Drink session consist of Water, Orange Juice, and Pineapple Juice. The problem is that the juices are not freshly squeeze. The Orange Juice is likely to be boxed Sunquist drink. Generally, the hotel is likely to used the same standard from their time with Sheraton. The standard is clearly a Luxury Hotels from 90s era with the same selection and used of raw materials. So, the current hotel positioning as a First Class hotel; it is meeting First Class hotel expectation. But with all the potential they have, I believe that it can push itself back to 5 stars hotel again.

Overall, Felix River Kwai is a good First Class hotel with Large room of 5 stars hotel size. The hotel has excellent view of the river and beautiful garden. But the part that relatively ages and need renovation may need to be address by the hotel in the future. But generally speaking, this is one of the international standard First Class hotel in a small mountain city of Kanchanaburi.

Room tip: Choosing Room on 2nd and 3rd Floor at the end of the building (Room XX1 or XX9) will get you an additional balcony space.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chakrit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2023

We stayed in a lot of places during our time in Thailand and several needed upkeep, but this one was just dirty. One of our tour members found ants in her bed, we encountered dirty glasses at the breakfast bar and the bathrooms were icky. Breakfast and restaurant were of poor quality. Agreed with other reviews it is not convenient to town. The staff was nice.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Miss-K-CO-1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2023

The resort itself is very large but rather run down in parts especially the gym area and sauna rooms. It needs a bit of a makeover and some maintenance. This used to be the number one resort in Kanchanaburi but age has taken its toll. however, the staff are quite friendly and helpful especially the cleaners and the price point is pretty good. the resort is a little way from the town area and is a 100 baht grab ride. A good tip is to sit on one of the tables by the river and enjoy a glass of wine; it's very peaceful

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paul_t_singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews