We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
nikkiedgar88
Thep Nakhon, Thailand

Beautiful Location, Decent Room

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Sept 2018
Four of us stayed in two bungalows in August. This was a last minute booking, as the first one that we went to was atrocious. The staff were very friendly. We explored and went to the raft on the River Kwai, where we met a Thai family and were offered food and drink. We love Thai people! Eventually we went to relax in our room. The only negative thing we would note is that there is no indoor shower. With mosquitoes and privacy, we would have much preferred an indoor shower. It is "private" and there is a large bathrub with a shower had attachment inside. We swam in the pool, had dinner at the restaurant, and played some table tennis. The food at the restaurant was okay. The hotel staff drove us to the entrance on their golf cart the next morning and we took the city bus to Erawan. It was timely and really cheap. We had smoothies across the street at one of the Muslim restaurants while we waited. When we returned, we had dinner at the same restaurant where we'd had smoothies. We had lamb kebabs and rotis. This was some of the best food that we have had in Thailand in the 6. months we've lived here. It was incredible!!! We would recommend this resort for budget travellers, but recommend that you rent a motorbike in Kanchanaburi first so that you're not limited in what you can explore while you're staying in this beautiful area.
Date of stay: August 2018
Room Tip: amazing views, nice pool, property on the river.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$169
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$169
1.2 km from Riverkwai Park & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$75
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Riverkwai Park & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$127
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.2 km from Riverkwai Park & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$36
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$36
4.0 km from Riverkwai Park & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$210
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$210
69.7 km from Riverkwai Park & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$28
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.2 km from Riverkwai Park & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$133
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Riverkwai Park & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The hut river view 1,200 include breakfast.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$47
  • eDreams
2.0 km from Riverkwai Park & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$78
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Riverkwai Park & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$64
  • Priceline
27.9 km from Riverkwai Park & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
5
14
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5
14
5
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Bungalow on the lake ave very comfortable , and lotus flowers give to the outdoor a
wonderful smell !
Staff is friendly , not a lot of english but enough to understand
Bus to erawan falls and kanchanburi city stop just in front if you want
Resort is very big and you will find free bikes at reception to go at your bungalow
We loved our stay
a very good choice if you want to stay a day around erawan national park.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gillou29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Very nice calm place in the middle of nature, close to National Park. Great for relaxation. Services in the resort are good, rooms are clean, but don’t expect anything luxury, wifi only in the central building. Staff is helpful and we really enjoyed our time in Riverkwai Park & Resort.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Evu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Were supposed to stay for 2 nights, ended up leaving after one.
Got there at 8.00pm, restaurant was already closed, nothing to eat/drink (couldnt by a bottle of water) in the area. No one spoke english and they couldnt help us prep our visit to the Erawan Falls (payed a taxi altough they are buses every our). Didnt get the right room, even after complaining they didnt seem to care. Room was really dirty (hairs all over the floor, mold on the shower curtain,...). Beds arent comfy at all. Very very old. Far from everything and quite expensive to get to. 20km from the waterfalls. When we showed up the next day with our key they didnt care at all, didnt even ask why we left earlier. No wifi anywhere, even in the reception. Swimming pool is very old and could use some freshening up. Breakfast was gross! 1000 bahts is way too expensive for that!
Pros: nice park by the mountains

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adeline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2017

On a car tour around the province stayed one night and I was well pleased. Bungalow style room with plenty of natural daylight. Comfortable bed and good air con. Nice big bathroom with good hot water.
TV fridge etc., but no hair dryer not even after requesting one.
The bungalow is surrounded by lush green nature.
There is a ample size swimming pool though in need of more care.
The place is quaint and old style.
In urgent need of upgrade-especially the rooms- but seems to be suffering from lack of guests.
Could not have dinner there as staff had gone home (we were told) due to lack of customers.
Found a place to eat outside.
The American style breakfast in the morning included in the price was decent and a charming server.
We booked 2 bungalows, at 1200 baht per bungalow.
I certainly had a restful sleep!
For the ambience and tranquility I can happily recommend this resort.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rbrb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2017

we stayed two nights at the riverkwai park and resort, because it is located close to the erawan national park, which was the reason to visit this province. the area of the resort is very wide and at the reception are bikes available for the guests...but it seems that we were the only ones. a friendly thai lady from the staff ...she spoke nearly no english...brought us to our booked lakeview bungalow. the house was guilt with natural stones from the near river kwai and was located directly beside a big lake in which a lot of big lotusplants growing, but the blooming season was over during the time we stayed there. the room itself was big, nce furnished with a big kingsize bed and moskito net. the panorama windows to the balcony offered a very nice view over the terrace and the lake. the balcony was big and comfortable wooden terracechairs were available. bathroom was big also...nice decorated with natural stones also...walk-in shower and nice bathroom furniture in european standard. all together a very nice place to stay for a few nights.
near the restaurant and the reception a big swimmingpool is located ...very nice surrounded from big trees and blooming bushes, but the condition is not realy good...a renovation and a ground cleaning would be very sensefull. also no guest was arround and when i tried to get in contact with the staff nearly no one spoke english. because the resort is far from a village we went to the restaurant in the evening...the first day we saw one more couple...the second evening we were alone.
the food was okay, but no highlight.
the breakfast, which was included, was also not very various...one egg...two taosts...butter...jam...a sussage...one cup of instant coffee paired with a small glass of instant juice.
further the mainbuilding which includes the resaurant and the reception and lobby and also the whole pool area need a renovation and cleaning very urgent. the bungalow we had was absolutely okay and we felt very comfortable there. this resort could be a very nice place...if everything is on the right condition.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank chocdikrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews