We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
bigrigs71
Wraysbury, United Kingdom

Nice hotel but transport requires as far from anything

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Feb 2024via mobile
This is a nice hotel but way on the outskirts of town, so the first thing I’d say if you stay here is you need either a car or a motorbike. On first impressions this is a lovely, large hotel and it was extremely quiet despite the staff saying they were full. Reception informed us that it was a free mini bar, which was music to my ears, but soon discovered by mini bar they meant a Coke and an orange juice! The room was large and very pleasant to stay in. The breakfast was adequate. We were late arriving and thought that we could walk to a restaurant, however, after walking for a mile all we found was a 7 Eleven so returned back to the hotel and had to eat in the restaurant, which is a house boat on the river. The food was nice but was very expensive for Thailand. The swimming pool was nice although looked like it could do with a good clean and scrub around the walls and one of the pool lights was hanging in the water. The pool bar was pretty non existent and only open between 4-7pm, although you wouldn’t even notice it was staffed. After all said it is a pleasant, quiet hotel but transport definitely required. It’s a 10-15 min ride into town and an hour and 20 minutes by bike to Erawan water falls and also to Hellfire Pass but don’t try and do them on the same day.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Transport required so you will need a motorbike of a car. We rented from OK bike rental who were...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager Dheva Mantra, General Manager at Dheva Mantra Resort, responded to this review
Responded 9 Mar 2024
Dear Bigrigs71,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort. We greatly appreciate your good comments about our rooms, atmosphere, and swimming pool. Our resort is placed in a quiet area of the Kwai River and 3 km. to the city area. Most of our guests come to our resort by their own transportation or come with their travel agency vehicles. If our guests do not have their own cars, most of them rent a car to Kanchanaburi or do the rental vehicles at the downtown before reach to our resort. Or, the take a taxi from the bus station in downtown to the resort. Then they use our limousine to travel around the province. Our hotel provides the hotel limousine in the standard price of transportation compared with hotel transportation fees in Kanchanaburi.

Anyway, we truly look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards,
The Management
Dheva Mantra Resort, Kanchanaburi

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$179
  • Expedia.com
    AU$169
  • Vio.com
    AU$149
  • Hotels.com
    AU$170
1.8 km from Dheva Mantra Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$65
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$63
  • Agoda.com
    AU$59
  • Expedia.com
    AU$74
3.2 km from Dheva Mantra Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$44
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$41
  • Agoda.com
    AU$38
  • Trip.com
    AU$60
2.3 km from Dheva Mantra Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The hut river view 1,200 include breakfast.
AU$47
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    AU$24
  • Agoda.com
    AU$22
  • Hotels.com
    AU$41
2.3 km from Dheva Mantra Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$80
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    AU$60
  • Trip.com
    AU$56
  • Hotels.com
    AU$71
2.6 km from Dheva Mantra Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$63
Fully refundable
  • StayForLong
    AU$69
  • Trip.com
    AU$58
  • Priceline
    AU$62
28.0 km from Dheva Mantra Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$28
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$26
  • Trip.com
    AU$29
  • Agoda.com
    AU$29
6.5 km from Dheva Mantra Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$118
  • Expedia.com
    AU$133
  • Hotels.com
    AU$134
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Dheva Mantra Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$37
  • Expedia.com
    AU$35
  • Hotels.com
    AU$34
  • Agoda.com
    AU$35
4.1 km from Dheva Mantra Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$72
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$70
  • Agoda.com
    AU$65
  • Trip.com
    AU$70
50.4 km from Dheva Mantra Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
268
177
79
18
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
268
177
79
18
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice barge colonial style hotel the river floating restaurant star resort main town thai dishes the ground floor great pool great resort spa thailand rabbits mosquitoes tranquil
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2024

This could have been the best hotel complex we have ever stayed at in all our years of travelling. Superb Rooms, with large double balconies, massive in size. 8 foot wide bed. Superb bathroom. Excellent Public Spaces, and swimming pool, high quality finish throughout. Unfortunately the lovely lounge area didn't have a bar, and the hotel is definitely missing a trick in not providing a river taxi to the kwai bridge area, because its location was one of the main disappointments. I think that with a river taxi, their occupation rate (which seemed surprisingly poor) would be magnified several times

Room tip: see main review
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barrysview
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager Dheva Mantra, General Manager at Dheva Mantra Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2024

Dear Barrysview,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort. We greatly appreciate your comments and the management take serious action in order to improve.

We truly look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
The Management
Dheva Mantra Resort, Kanchanaburi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2024 via mobile

It was really nice and clean. Great environment and impressive grounds. Staff were wonderful, warming and polite. Especially the lady in the egg station.

Two negatives

Matthews’s too hard and f&v service slow, pool bar closed and we had to go searching for drinks

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank alexhW5066SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Praphat Sirirat, Other at Dheva Mantra Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2024

Dear alexhW5066SK,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience at our hotel. We're delighted to hear that you had a great time, and we appreciate your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay during your next visit.

Best regards,
The Management
Dheva Mantra Resort, Kanchanaburi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2023 via mobile

This is listed as a luxury hotel resort.
When we arrived looking forward to getting in the pool having spend a hot day at hellfire pass, we were told the pool we were looking forward to using was out of order, as of this morning.
As anyone can see this pool is a very prominent aspect of their adverting and pictures.
Disappointed, we asked for a reduction on our bookings and we're abruptly ask if we wanted to cancel the booking, with them knowing we would then have nowhere to stay.
Absolute refusal to take any responsibility or consider the fact that we would not have booked this place without a pool.
We were told on arrival the pool had stopped working that morning, it became clear that was not the case.
This place may have been 5* before but it’s looking tired and grubby, and the reception staff have no concept of contrition for out lack of one of the main features the pool!

Room tip: Have back up pool pump and spares, don’t threaten customers with sleeping rough, offer reasonable reduction where main facilities don’t work
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ashleymanfred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2023

This hotel is a bit dated but very clean and comfortable. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Hotel is a good 15 minutes from the town of Kanchiburi.
Would recommend it as we did not see any other hotels of this standard.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank PandCWmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2023

Definitely seen better days as a 5star. Probably closer to a 3 star. Worst breakfast I have seen in a 5star. limited choice. Also only instant coffee used-awful. Local food selections looked badly cooked and unappetizing. Western selections were sparse and equally poor.
Rooms well used and not very clean. Just old everywhere. Seats stained, gecko poop on the wall. Cobwebs,dust and dead bugs.
Shower had only slightly warm water and poor pressure.
Bed was hard as bricks.
General corridors were dirty and stained.
We were unable to use the pool as it was full of green algae.
Do not bother to stay here till they have renovated the place. Better options elsewhere

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews