We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Thai Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thai Garden Inn
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
171 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

It's not a five star hotel but at the tariff offered, it is excellent value for money. Our cabin was clean, air-conditioned and even had a mini-bar. Drink prices at the bar were so reasonable, it wasn't worth going down the road for a drink. And breakfast was just as good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed not only the rooms but also the food and drinks with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    141
    46
    11
    6
See reviews for
115
123
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 weeks during the flooding in Bangkok and it was a fantastic experience. The location was exactly what we were looking for - a rural area but only a few minutes from tourist attractions and the main road with lots of restaurants and nightlife. The bungalow was clean and came with a mini-fridge and the air con worked great. There's a nice pool and a restaurant with satellite tv and great food. Best of all the owners and staff were really pleasant and helpful the whole time, in fact I can't say enough about how helpful and kind they are. This is a great place to use as a base for visiting the other tourist attractions in the area. There's day trips you can take to parks, museums, and waterfalls and 2-3 days trips to other places like Sangkhlaburi. Definitely will recommend to friends and will stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We saw a review on trip advisor and decided to give this place a try.

We emailed them and we were pleasantly surprised with how quick they responded our emails. We made enquiries after enquiries about their bungalow and what Kburi has to offer in general. Judy, the owner was extremely patient and helpful. We even enquired about the day tour, and she gave us suggestions and worked out different itineraries for us to consider. All these were done prior to us booking the place! She even suggested the mode of transportation going from airport to Kburi.

We opted for the “airport to hotel pickup”. We did not want the hassle of taking the bus to BKK, then to Kburi and then to the hotel. It was a good decision as it saved us time.

On arrival, we were greeted by Judy and the Inn manager. We had lunch (which was delicious) before checking in to our newly refurbished bungalow unit.

The bungalow – was basic, clean and functional.

What we liked about the place

1) Clean and comfortable room
2) Quiet and serene environment, away from the bars and eateries, yet 15 minutes stroll away from the “action”. When we were too lazy to walk, the tuktuk is easily available.
3) Extremely friendly owner and staff (nothing is too much trouble)
4) Quick internet access – our son just loved it!
5) The free pool table, with TV in the dining area (to catch up on what is happening with the flood situation in Thailand then)
6) Nice and well kept garden. We had our “take away” pizza there!
7) A decent swimming pool to chill off after a hot day in Kburi.

We booked this place for 2 nights but extended an additional night. The longer we stayed, the more we liked the place. We wanted to stay for the 4th night but decided we had to move on to Pattaya (before the flood situation deteriorates further in BKK).

Overall, we loved this place and we will be back! Judy (and John) even offered to drive the 3 of us to Koh Samui if we so wishes. They had to go there to take care of some business. We thought we would take a chance and drive pass BKK to Pattaya.

In conclusion – a very relaxing place to stay, really friendly and helpful owner and great value for our money.

PS : There is an Italian (styled with swiss owner) restaurant selling nice (and cheap) pizza. I think the name is Belle.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisKLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Thank you for your review. We certainly look forward to seeing you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

A small group of us stayed here 3 days/ 2 nights and had a great time. The air-conditioned chalets were clean and comfortable, and set around a charming garden. The mosquito netting on the windows kept out the mosquitoes and lizards from my chalet, and although I heard frogs at night, I didn't see any!

We were pleasantly surprised to find that the restaurant served authentic Chinese Malaysian food. We feasted on chicken & cashew nuts, sweet & sour pork, spare ribs, spicy shellfish and fried fish, just to name a few, washed down with mai tai, We later discovered that the delicious, home-cooked style was the result of the efforts of the Malaysian owner's mother in training the chef!

John and Judy, the husband and wife team who run the place, are very friendly and efficient. Within a few minutes of tentatively asking for a spare pillow, a pail and detergent, the items were promptly despatched to our chalet.

Our stay was much too short, but we managed to go on a full day tour of Erawan waterfalls (the "fish spa" is truly an experience), Hellfire Pass (interesting and scenic) and Death Railway, and concluded with a short, nostalgic, non-air con train ride with wooden seats back to the Bridge over River Kwai. Nearby is a jewellery market -- a must for the ladies! Unfortunately, we didn't have enough time for shopping.

Overall, this resort is very conveniently located as it is just a short walk away from the river. And with an adequate breakfast provided, it is really value for money. We hope to come back again next year, go on a river trip, visit the elephants, and of course, go shopping!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LightSleeper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We went as a group of friends and stayed there for 3 days. The owner of the inn provided a van which transported us all the way from the Marriot Bangkok to Kan chanaburi.The 2 hour journey was surprisingly pleasant and we arrived there fresh and ready for a nice massage also pre arranged by the very helpful owner of Thai Garden Inn.

The wooden hut we stayed in was clean,beds were made daily and the mattress was nice and firm.There was also airconditioning and the showers had hot and cold water.The windows also had mosquito repellent blinds and in the night we were serenaded by croaking frogs ,crickets and the occasional time challenged rooster!

The next day,we went on a pre arranged tour also helpfully organised through the owner of the Inn ,after discussing our preferences.

I have to say that we were very well taken care of during the whole of our stay ,no request was too small,and we were even provided with a Taxi to the nearby Tesco to get a swim suit and I will definitely recommend anyone who wishes to have a laid back holiday in Thailand surrounded by nature to this little Inn next to the River Kwai

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Min158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
1.7 km away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
964 reviews
1.7 km away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
0.9 km away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
312 reviews
0.9 km away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
217 reviews
6.5 km away
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
#3 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Garden Inn

Property: Thai Garden Inn
Address: 74 / 11 Moo 4 | Tamakham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price range (per night): $42 - $74
Hotel Class:3 star — Thai Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thai Garden Inn is nestled in the heart of the Kanchanaburi countryside. We have 11 individual, well appointed Thai-style bungalows overlooking either our gardens or our pool. We have another 3 individual family bungalows overlooking our swimming pool. All bungalows have en-suite bathrooms including hot shower, western toilet and free WiFi. In addition there is also a fully stocked mini-bar. We have a choice of air con or fan for our standard bungalows. Our family bungalows are fully air conditioned only. We also have 2 bedroom house, fully equipped with TV, western kitchen, spa tub in the master bedroom bathroom and private parking. At the heart of our resort is the swimming pool and sunbathing area. Perfect place to escape the sun for a while, then cool off and relax on one of our shaded recliners. Our games include free pool table and darts. For those who wish to read, we have a small library of books for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thai Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai Garden Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing