We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
World Traveler
Vancouver, Washington

A good place to stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Mar 2020
This is a great hotel with a nice view of the river and away from the business of the downtown area. If you like peace and quiet and still just a 10-minute walk from town, this is the place to stay. The swimming pool is very clean and they have wood platforms along the river for relaxing, having tea/coffee/food, or sunbathing. Breakfast isn't the best but you are within a few minutes' walk from town and there are many restaurants/bars and street food of your choosing. While you are here make sure to visit the Death Rail Bridge, Jeath War Museum, and The Curve coffee shop.
Date of stay: March 2020
Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor or above
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$75
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from The Glory River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$73
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$73
0.5 km from The Glory River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$210
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotel Website
1.6 km from The Glory River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$201
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.5 km from The Glory River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$131
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from The Glory River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$35
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from The Glory River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$31
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
3.6 km from The Glory River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$196
  • Priceline
1.6 km from The Glory River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The hut river view 1,200 include breakfast.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$39
  • Priceline
0.8 km from The Glory River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$136
  • Hotels.com
30.6 km from The Glory River Kwai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
25
24
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
25
24
7
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2019

The hotel is nicely located at the river side on a quiet location but just a 5 minute walk from the main street with many restaurants and bars. They have a very nice pool overlooking the river. Rooms are clean and the breakfast service is wonderful (basic but good service and fresh). The reception has a very cozy and local atmosphere. The hotel has free use of bikes to bike around the town. Staff is very service oriented. The hotel doesn't have an elevator and 4-5 levels. So if you can't walk a lot of stairs, make sure you get a room on level 1 or 2.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Corneliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2019

Pros - Good location and rooms have a good view of the river. Very clean and modern. Can walk to decent restaurants. Good (large) breakfast, cooked to order. Not the cheapest option but the value is good compared to other hotels (more expensive or more dated - or both!) in the area.
Cons - If you want a tub, the rooms are on the fourth floor and there is no elevator.

Room tip: All rooms have a good river view, but no elevator so higher rooms are a walk up.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcmooreiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2019

Some of the reviews mentioned poor communication, lack of staff, bar/restaurant not open. So I tried to book via their website and had a question, emailed them no response. I then booked through Bookings.com but had a question about transportation, emailed them no response.

So the hotel may be as described by others but the lack of communication gave me no confidence so we've now cancelled two rooms and will book elsewhere.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Napat1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2019 via mobile

The Glory River Kwai Hotel was a wonderful place to spend a few days.
It is a small and very stylish hotel on the banks of the River Kwai, a beautiful location 5 mins from the main restaurants and attractions.
The staff speak some English and were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
They have free bikes for guests and
the complementary breakfast was also very good.
Highly recommended

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Lynt0nE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2019

I loved this hotel, everything about it! Cannot find anything bad to say. The staff - especially Am and Mon - were wonderful. So friendly, so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Even though their English is very basic we always got there in the end. They always made the extra effort. I also liked the position of the hotel, just out of town over the bridge, about a ten minute walk but in a much quieter area. My room was on the ground floor (which I preferred as there is no lift) with a great view over the river. The pool was lovely, also overlooking the river. There are a few restaurants nearby, only a few minutes walk. The only little thing - if there has to be one! - is that the mattress was quite hard, but that is of course a personal thing. What I also appreciated is that they picked me up from the railway station when I arrived because they 'had to be in town anyway' so that was very nice of them. A great place, would definitely return!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MartjeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews