We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 40
View deal
Hotels.com
USD 40
View deal
Agoda.com
USD 28
View deal
TravelocityUSD 40
Orbitz.comUSD 40
CheapTicketsUSD 40
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
48
112
45
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
112
45
12
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Very quiet and relaxing hotel.
Great rooms and well maintained garden. Beautiful lobby area.
Good food for dinner and breakfast.
Friendly staff but unexperienced and doesn't speak even basic English which can be quite annoying especially when even reception staff can't understand what you want.

Overally very nice and pleasant place.

Date of stay: January 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SlavD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2009

our guide told us this was a new hotel and to expect some small problems as all the staff were inexperienced. This is certainly what we found. Very seldom were there staff at the reception desk and the dining room staff had no idea how to deal with the public. The food selection for dinner and breakfast was good and diverse but simple things were forgotten each day such as butter and sugar.
The rooms were nice and well looked after but ours had a problem with the hot water, it did'nt exist and no-one was interested in fixing the problem. A cold shower in cold season is not much fun.

Date of stay: January 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stillatit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We didn't enjoy our stay at Teak Garden - and at the end of our stay we were surprised that so many people gave this place good reviews! We must say the rooms and the setting are pretty - but that is where the good things about this place end. Our first nasty surprise was the noisy rooms. Most standard rooms are connected to the neighbouring room with a thin wooden door - so you end up hearing everything what is going on next doors. And do you really want to hear a screaming child voice and TV noise at 12am when you have to get up at 7am to go on a tour? The whole place is so badly insulated that you can hear noises from other rooms as well. Somehow we didn't expect to be sleeping with earplugs when we are staying in the resort in the middle of nowhere. Breakfast catered only for asian palate - so if you don't fancy noodles and rice for breakfast toast and some fruit was your only choice. The resort is about 10km away from the town centre - but they said there are no taxis and we were taken instead to the highway to catch a bus(!) - it was allright for the daylight but I wouldn't want to be doing this at night! The pillows were extremely high and uncomfortable - I asked for the smaller pillows and was assured that we get new pillows. Nothing happened. We complained again and finally were given comfortable pillows. All those things made sure that we were happy to leave this place behind.

Date of stay: December 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MickeySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2008

We loved this hotel. Probably the most luxury you could find for the area in Chiang Rai. Not to far to the night market either. Good food abounds at the morning breakfast buffet. The day we went we had a chance to eat lunch in the restaurant - yummy! The staff was most accomadating and went out of your way to serve you with a smile!

Date of stay: January 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank samsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2007

A group of us stayed at the Teak Garden in July 2006 and we also got a group discount for our rooms.
Hotel: The atmosphere is very asian, very beautiful. In fact the Prime Minister of Thailand has stayed in this place. It is one of the best hotels in Chiang Rai. Also note, DO NOT DRINK the water from the faucet as it is contaminated. The hotel provides 2 water bottles each day. I would recommend buying bottled water on the street.

Rooms: Really clean. They had maid service every day in the morning. There was some bugs (mosquitos and knats due to the humidity) and some geckos. For the most part we just keep our bathroom doors closed to keep the knats from coming into the rooms.

Service: The Thai people are very polite and nice. They will never show their frustration or get agitated with helping you with any of your needs. But with that note, be respectful as well. I think I locked myself out a few times one of the trips and I think by the third time, they were getting a little agitated but masking it relatively well.

Food: Continental breakfast is very bland. Do not expect Thai American Food to taste exactly like the American breakfast food in the U.S. Obviously it's going to taste a little different. The lunches and dinners are really really cheap. you can order a steak for less thatn $5USD. I would recommend going out to the local thai places to get cheaper food.

Local Food: I would say that on average you can get a good meal for less than $3USD depending on where you go. If you are paying $5-10USD, you are probably getting ripped off. There is a local university that has quite a few marketplaces to which you get fresh food and fruit. The pineapples and the dragoneyes (long ahn, part of the lychee family) are really good. If you are really adventurous, try the purple fruit (looks like a plum with a little green cap, or the dragon fruit, a pink fruit with white flesh and little seeds inside). If you don't like thai food, here are a few things you may like : Corn (they sell for 15 baht (38cents), or waffles 15 baht as well or roti (crepes). All three are vendors. Of course you have to be careful when you eat from the vendors. Also, I go to the 7-11 to grab an ice cream or a bag of asian chips.

Shopping: the NIGHT MARKET. starts at 6:30pm to 11pm. different stands. bargain, bargain, bargain. Use a calculator to bargain if you dont know how to bargin in Thai. and Boots pharmacy (UK lotion, shampoo store). Note to self: try not to bring big bills to the market because 1) they may not have change 2) you may unwittingly make yourself a target. the average day's worth of wages is $5USD. So if you're pulling out a 1,000 baht ($25USD) you are potentially opening yourself up to
less bargaining power and possible petty theft.

Massage: the best Thai massage place is right next to the night market. Close to the Swanson's ice cream shop (perpendicular to that main road). they charge $5USD for 2 hour massage. this is family oriented and not a shady massage parlors. Please note that shady massage parlors tend to have tinted windows.

Transportation: TukTuk-be careful. bargain for the price. a few dollars depending on number of people. Also, it's dangerous because you can fall out of them when they are driving so fast. also, alot of these tuktuks are old and the gas is pumping into your face as you are driving. Cabs are okay too but there are less driving laws and the cab drivers drive FAST. If you are going with a group of people i would recommend renting a van which is way cheaper. $25-30 dollars a day plus filling up their gas. May vary due to rising gas prices.

Tour Attractions:
The Queen Mother's garden. Stunning and beautiful.
The golden triangle-three countries, Thailand, Mynmar and Laos. The golden buddha is also there. All 3 countries contributed to this.
Mae Sai, cheaper goods in that little town 30 mins outside of Chiang Rai, bordering Burma.
Mae Sai mountain. Beautiful mountains but bumpy ride. If you get carsick easily, beware.
Elephant Island. You have take a boat to get to this island (1 hour boat ride to this little island to which you can ride elephants around the village trail for about $20USD per person). Beware of when you are on the boat that you dont fall into the water or get splashed in the eye or the mouth. Local story tells that a thai rock star crashed his car into the river. He not only injured himself but his brain became badly infected by the bacteria in the river. no joke.
Also, you want to buy good cheap green tea, buy it at the Chiang Rai Airport because it's guaranteed that the tea is authentic there vs in the night market which sometimes mixes the tea leaves with regular leaves.

Date of stay: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank katallasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews