We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Aow Leuk II

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Surat Thani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aow Leuk II
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This place is just Beautiful, so relaxing. I love how it was just back to basics. I have been back twice now and only stayed in the bungalows on the cliff side. They have great views and just simple. If you want fancy pants resort and your precious, maybe not the place for you. People are friendly and layed back. Food in the restaurant was delicious and a huge variety. This was one of my best experiences from travelling all over the world.
Tony from Sydney.

Room Tip: Go for the Bungalows high on the hill and the higher the better Ive stayed in 4 and 5 which are grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sydtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

The owners were very lovely people and very accommodating, We found the food very good in the restaurant and the bay was very good for snorkeling, although it is difficult to find shade on the beach. The bungalows were overpriced for what you got and needed some TLC. No ac, mini-fridge,soap, etc. The bungalows at the Aow Leuk 1 looked much newer and nicer. Overall enjoyed the snorkeling experience and the staff. Also very good wifi here. Very isolated area, no nightlife but very peaceful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisandaleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Do not stay here. First of all the man told us he would collect us from the ferry port but never arrived. We waited for over an hour before deciding to pay for a taxi. He gave us a half-hearted apology when we eventually arrived and had no excuse why he did not come. We stayed three nights and they did not even come to tidy the room/change the towels etc.
The food in the restaurant is terrible. An Italian family found worms in their sandwiches and then I caught worms from eating what was I imagine was poorly cooked meat. I am still feeling the effects of their very poor hygeine one month later.
The beach is wonderful with good snorkeling but I would recommend visiting just for the day - this place was disappointing in every way imaginable - especially for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

i went to the hotel ao leuk II with my partner for few days of relax in koh tao, and i was so positively surprised from the place where i ended up!
ao leuk is in a very small and quiet beach, where there are only two hotels, for no more than 60 people, i guess.. it is definitely a place for place for couples: if you are a group of friends or family, do not go there! but if you are a couple, this is the best place in koh tao. the beach is wonderful, and the hotel is great! the room, the balcony, the view.. and also the restaurant was notable: from breakfast to dinner, they always a perfect list, good variety of food, and everything so delicious! but the location of the room, and of the restaurant is, at the end, the best thing of this place..
the only problem we had is that you have to rent a scooter if you want to be indepent and move around: the beach is quite isolated, and you cannot go by walking anywhere. the road is not the best, but my partner is the most prudent guy i have ever met, and we didn't have any problem!
rethinking to this paradise is making me so jelous of the future clients of this hotel! if i had the opportunity, i would immediately go back!
it should be clear that it is not the cheapest place in koh tao. of course you will find a lot of other cheaper places that are still really valid, clean, relaxing, and beautiful. but ao leuk II has definitely the better quality-price ratio! you will never never regret for having chose this hotel! and then, at the end, even if it is not the cheapest place, the prices are really not high, comparing with european standard (50 euros per night for the room). when i arrived, i thought i wasn't sure if i would be able to afford a place like that one, except in thailand! for this reason, i would also suggest to not take the standard room, but a room with a good view and a nice balcony (you can chose between 5 or 6 rooms): you will spend 500 bath more per day maybe, but they are well-spent!

i wish you to everyone to enjoy the staying there!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed at this resort in July of 2010 and wish we could have stayed for weeks. When we checked in we were greeted with a fresh coconut to drink and we were led to our beautiful bungalow. The room was very clean, with a modern open air bathroom and shower. The view was incredible! The entire wall facing the sea was a sliding glass door so the view was totally unobstructed. As you walk through the door to the deck, you had a private hammock and table and chairs to eat and drink in private if you desired as you enjoyed the view of the bay.

The restaurant was delicious and the staff and service was great as well. They always had on great music and it was a fun place to hang out. They also let you borrow snorkel gear to take down to the water for the day. The water was really clear, the coral was great and the fish were everywhere. Occasionally the bay got crowded with dive boats, but they were never in the way.

We would highly recommend this resort and the rooms were very affordable for what you got. The only downfall was that most taxis did not want to take you there because the roads were pretty basic, and sometimes not much of a road at all. However, this is all part of the adventure and fun of staying there, so don't let that deter you!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erikboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surat Thani hotels
0 km away
Khaosok Island Resort
Khaosok Island Resort
#2 of 52 in Surat Thani
25 reviews
0 km away
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
#28 of 52 in Surat Thani
247 reviews
0 km away
My Place @Surat Hotel
My Place @Surat Hotel
#1 of 90 in Surat Thani
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
S Tara Grand Hotel
S Tara Grand Hotel
#1 of 52 in Surat Thani
90 reviews
0 km away
Grand Thara Hotel
Grand Thara Hotel
#25 of 52 in Surat Thani
29 reviews
0 km away
The Cliff & River Jungle Resort
The Cliff & River Jungle Resort
#5 of 113 in Surat Thani
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aow Leuk II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aow Leuk II

Address: 34/4 Moo 3 Box 36 | Koh Tao, Surat Thani 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Surat Thani
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Aow Leuk II Thailand/Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing