We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,015)
Filter reviews
1,015 results
Traveller rating
599
322
66
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
599
322
66
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain wing beach bar towel station large fridge golden elephant everyday restaurant monitor lizards gala dinner scoopon voucher cocktail making half board close to town national park pool access room main pool within easy walking distance food and beverage manager
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 1,015 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Many resorts CLAIM to "be on the beach", but The Sensimar IS. Our excellent, large room with huge king sized bed, overlooks the beach, just 30 meters to the water, including sand beach. Beach restaurant even closer, as is the beach bar. Delightful, friendly, happy, "keen to please" staff everywhere and the food also more and better than anyone could normally expect.

This is our third trip to a resort in Khaolac, Thailand, but definitely the best we experienced

Room tip: Rooms 3731 - 3734 are over the Culinarium Restaurant about 30 meters from beach and water edge
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mhaseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, General Manager at TUI Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear mhaseler,

Warm greetings from TUI Sensimar Khaolak and thank you for your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope we will see you again in the not so distant future.

Warm Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Great base with very close local eatery's at the top of the entrance.
Super clean and spacious rooms.
Fantastic Staff that are ready to assist in any way they can, look for Cookie at her desk or near the taxi request area at the front door.
Pools, Gym and Spa very good.
We didnt take part with activities and entertainment so cant comment on these.

Room tip: Ask for a pool side room which get sun as most don't get the sun on the deck
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Micky-mouse-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, General Manager at TUI Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Micky-mouse-Jane,

Warm greetings from TUI Sensimar Khaolak and thank you for your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope we will see you again in the not so distant future.

Warm Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

My wife and I have just returned from 2 weeks at the Sensimar. During our stay I celebrated a 'BIG' birthday and we celebrated our wedding anniversary.On arriving back in our room on my birthday we were delighted to find 2 glasses of wine and cake accompanied by a card, on our anniversary we were delighted to find our bed decorated with red petals, towel swans and accompanied by a bottle of fizz and a cake. Both these gestures really made our holiday. We would like to thank your reception staff and our room maid for a lovely stay. If we had to pick out individual staff they would be Thip in the dining room and Ian who diligently implemented your towel on bed policy with a smile, cannot be an easy task. Thank you for a great stay

Room tip: Garden wing offers a great view
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, General Manager at TUI Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Alan M,

Warm greetings from TUI Sensimar Khaolak and thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and chose Sensimar for your special anniversaries.

We do hope we will see you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, hot and weary, we were greeted by lovely friendly reception staff. Our room was ready which was a bonus (as some weren’t) and it was located in a quiet block on level 4. The room was spotless and our cleaner was fabulous, fresh towels, water every day and tea and coffee replenished. Massive bed, really comfortable and a big fridge for our essentials like Singha beers and tonics.

We were staying on a half board basis but sometimes we had lunch at the hotel instead of dinner. The hotel food cannot be faulted, the choice and standard at breakfast, lunch and dinner is excellent. Thank you to the chefs. The staff work so hard as well, the waiters and waitresses are so friendly.

There are 5 Pool areas and the beach does get busy so we often went up to the pool on level 5 which was quite shady and never that busy. Lovely walks along the beach both ways and plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Happy Hour is limited as some people stated, mainly a few cocktails and beers but was lovely to sit at night relaxing after dinner looking out to sea.

All in all the staff here are a credit and make the hotel what it is, would highly recommend and thank you.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank P1402FQnicolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, General Manager at TUI Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Nicola M,

Warm greetings from TUI Sensimar Khaolak and than you for your wonderful review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

All your wonderful comments have been passed onto the staff - Thank you.

We hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We have just returned from a three week stay at this hotel and can only say that the experience was excellent!
From the moment we checked in and we're greeted by Kaapoo we felt at home and on being shown our excellent room we settled in. The standard of housekeeping was great, our room was spotless every day with clean linen and towels. The room itself had a very comfortable bed, a large refrigerator,kettle, tea/coffee supplies and plenty of coat hangers which make a welcome change.
The gardens and pool areas are kept scrupulously clean and well maintained, in fact cleaning goes on continuously through the day and probably into the night, the grounds are a credit to the gardening team.
We ate breakfast in the Beach Restaurant and having travelled quite a lot the choice was excellent, not only local foods but a full English could be obtained with all eggs and omelet's cooked to order, great pancakes,waffles and French toast available and several breads, jams and a good choice of fruit, it certainly set you up for a hard day sunbathing. We also ate in the restaurant three times, an a la carte meal which was great (brilliant Lamb Shanks!), once on the Gala Dinner, and once on the Sea Food night where I had probably the best Sea Bass I have ever tasted cooked fresh on the grill by the Chefs.
Any hotel is only as good as their staff and here they score top marks, friendly, polite, eager to please they had it all, many stood out but to name a few apart from Kaapoo above, little Aom, Aom with glasses, Tu, Fern,Jay and Mr James all helped to make our holiday that bit more enjoyable.
The beach bar was extremely nice to have lunch at or a drink at night but it suffered from a lack of tables, I noticed a small lawn area which achieves nothing next to the area, space could be increased by putting down a hard surface and I think this area would take up to eight tables increasing the capacity, profitability and customer satisfaction at minimum expense.
Now for my only criticism, the two 'happy hours' are not very good due to the limited menu available, no spirits are included or soft drinks, this is not the European concept of a 'happy hour' indeed some guests called it 'unhappy hour' due to the limited choice, I am sure Management could look at this and improve the situation.
Would I return? Of course I would, we had a great time and left leaving friends behind, I would recommend this hotel to anyone as those wanting a more lively time are only a short distance away from Khao Lak, thanks to everyone!

Room tip: Go high in mountain wing
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank JOHNL858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews