We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
USD 93
View deal
Expedia.com
USD 124
View deal
Agoda.com
USD 84
View deal
Hotels.comUSD 124
PricelineUSD 105
eDreamsUSD 93
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,240)
Filter reviews
3,240 results
Traveller rating
2,014
930
196
58
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,014
930
196
58
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floating market family room pool access family resort beach side sandals gym aqua pools khao thailand cocktails wing sunbeds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 3,240 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2019

We spent 2 weeks late August in Khao Lak, staying at The Sands. The hotel is amazing and the staff were so pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. Nothing was ever too much for them and they would do everything to make you happy and make your stay more enjoyable. Rooms were spacious, and comfortable. The food was good, with something for everyone. We stayed on a half board basis, which worked well for us. The main strip with shops, bars, and restaurants is just outside the hotel, which proved very handy. The facilities at the hotel are very new and well kept, including the gym and games room. The only thing lacking was the entertainment. The Sands have some excellent singers in the evening, as well as a fire show, but it was not well organised. It would be an idea to have some chairs and a stage to enable them to perform, as well as informing guests when they are going to be performing. Most people would be eating and not paying much attention when they were on, which is a shame as they were all very good. Apart from this, I would definitely recommend staying at The Sands, and booking some of the amazing tours on offer in Thailand.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadrianaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Resident Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2019

Dear Khun MadrianaJ,

Sawasdee Kha !!

We would like to thank you for having chosen The Sands Khaolak by Katathani Collection of Resort as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Khaolak and for taking the time to share your value feedback with us.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guests satisfaction is our primary concerns especially your entertainment feedback. We are all appreciated and well active shortly.

We all look forward to welcoming you at The Sands Khaolak again in the near future


With Best Regards,

Nareumol, P.Ms.
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2019

A large resort, right on the beach and just off of the main road. Staff are fantastic. We have previously stayed, two years ago and it is great to walk into a place and staff remember you. Good gym and leisure room, another quiet room for adults.
A huge kids pool with slides etc. A large "quiet" pool for adults. A large bar pool. Shops on the main road cater for all needs. rooms are good. has everything one would need for a good and enjoyable time. will be back again. Various activities are or can be arranged, Tennis, walks, etc
Trouble walking? no worries, the staff run you up to the main road in the golf cart, several hundred yards.

Room tip: all rooms would be good,
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank oldie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Resident Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2019

Dear Khun oldie_9,

Sawasdee Kha :-)


We would like to thank you for having chosen The Sands Khaolak by Katathani Collection of Resort as your accommodation choice again for your recent stay in Khaolak and for taking the time to share your excelent feedback with us.

Indeed our staff are feeling rewarded with your compliments and this encourages them to go the extra mile of service.

We are looking forward to your return here in Khaolak and we would be very grateful to hear from you and assist you for information. Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

With Best Regards,


Nareumol, P.Ms.

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2019 via mobile

From our last visit 16 months ago we thought we'd drop by once again.
This time we extended our stay to a full week - not disappointed!
Was supposed to be the rainy season but had less than 2 hours of any kind of rain for the whole time.
Bedding for was an issue early in the piece but this eventually was sorted out via Taychita & Longjin (customer service managers) - thank you!
The ball started rolling for the fix as Taychita was asking customers how their stay was going. Excellent timing as I hopped into conversation about bedding.
Last time here we only realised at the end of our stay that we could request a different matress but was prepared this time.
First an extra topper was place on the single matress but this was simply too lumpy. It was only after we walked back from the beach front 1 morning I saw 1 of the rooms open that wasn't being used so I quickly checked out the type of matress used there. See attached pics for the matress with a proper sown in pillow top.
I'm not a light guy & I need all the comfort I can get. Home is a flexible base with a spring matress & pillow top so as you can see I was struggling to get a good night's sleep early on.
Be sure to ask assistance if a comfy bed is what you need.
We love staying at the Sands for the genuine respectful staff, the sunsets, happy hours, dining (although the beach side Talay restaurant wasn't available due to some maintenance this time - totally understand).
This is a beautiful place to dine on the large deck watching the sun go down. Oh well, next time.
Nalinya Spa was the place to be for a 90 minute massage... totally worth it!
Nichara & Arunrat know their stuff!
House keeping was excellent by Methinee & Avee.
Natsuda & Thip on the front counter - great job!
To all the grounds staff who keep everything neat clean & tidy also deserve a mention
This is part of Khao Lak is probably tidier than other parts & is easy walking distance from a host of shops & eating areas outside of the resort if you like more choice.
Mind you, the Melon shop on site is well priced should need a snack or 3..
I would have like to recognize more staff for their great work but found it a little difficult as a lot of the names on tags were hard to remember.
A part from taking photos of them as proof (would be an awkward thing socially to do - could even cause embarrassment). Suggest staff have shorter Nick names like The Hard Rock, The Mandarava, etc. use. Much easier for others to recognize & remember.
Anyway, there's many more good things I could talk about but I better leave until our next visit - see you then The Sands team!! ✔️

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank davidjenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Resident Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2019

Dear Khun davidjenke,

Sawasdee Kha :-)


We would like to thank you for having chosen The Sands Khaolak by Katathani Collection of Resort as your accommodation choice again for your recent stay in Khaolak and for taking the time to share your value feedback with us.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that your considering to stay with us again in the future.

Indeed our staff are feeling rewarded with your compliments and this encourages them to go the extra mile of service.

We are looking forward to your return here in Khaolak and we would be very grateful to hear from you and assist you for information. Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

With Best Regards,


Nareumol, P.Ms.

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2019 via mobile

The sands khao lak was a wonderful family retreat that is suitable for bigger families such as mine. I would recommend for anyone that is looking for a wonderful luxurious stay for less!! The service was wonderful and there are markets and other tourists attractions not far from the resort.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank viktoriaschlegel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Resident Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2019

Dear Khun viktoriaschlegel9 ,

Sawasdee Kha :-)

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us, especially our offered activities. All of us here at The Sands by Katathani Collection of resort wish you a nice time back home and we are looking forward to see you again in your next holidays!


With Best Regards,


Nareumol, P.Ms.
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2019

From the moment we all walked into The Sands we were warmly greeted by the friendliest of staff. Check in was seamless. A must is a pool access room. The weather is hot, to slip into your pool at any time is a luxury. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very generous in size.
Our main reason to choose The Sands was the many activities for kids. The many many pools, water slides, Lazy River and activities centre was terrific.
By far the best pool was the Infinity Pool. The view out into the ocean was so peaceful. There were some days where we were the only guests in the pool for the whole day.
The breakfast buffet was something to savour. Catering for kids with their own breakfast buffet was terrific, the self serve pancake machine certainly was a hit. Something to keep an eye out for is the daily rotation section. Every day a different authentic Thai dish would be made. Most certainly my favourite was the banana roti.
A few times on our stay, we were warmly greeted by Chita (Customer Service Manager). Her staff are a credit to The Sands, always so polite and generous. A very special mention to Mr Green in the Water Park. You were so very genuine with the care of the children and made their day by being involved in their activities.
I would only provide one area for Management to consider. The positioning of the smoking area at the Floating Market should be looked at. The area is right next to where children feed the fish and across from diners trying to enjoy their meals.

Date of stay: September 2019
2  Thank Riderpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Resident Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Dear Khun Riderpro,

Sawasdee Kha :-)

We would like to thank you for having chosen The Sands Khaolak by Katathani Collection of Resort as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Khaolak.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. Indeed our staff are feeling rewarded with your compliments and this encourages them to go the extra mile of service.

We are looking forward to your return here in Khaolak and we would be very grateful to hear from you and assist you for information. Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.


With best regards,


Nareumol, P. Mrs.

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews