We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average dining” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viking Steak House

Viking Steak House
Ranked #206 of 271 Restaurants in Khao Lak
Price range: USD 6 - USD 8
Cuisines: European, Asian, Swedish, Scandinavian, Steakhouse, International, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very average dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Meal was rushed and expensive, don't visit this restaurant if you want a leisurely meal

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pricilla054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    80
    82
    43
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Expensive and unfriendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The food is good. Not excellent, quite bland, but good. The pizza's are great. The owner, Ria, is charming, friendly and helpful. BUT the food is way over-priced and the rest of the staff is unfriendly and rude. Food is often served cold, it's normal to wait 20-25 minutes to place an order.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank caribemarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A bit expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Our tour guide suggested that this was the best steak house in khao lak and I wouldn't be surprised. The steaks were perfect. It was quite expensive for Thailand but absolutely worth it

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laineypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We thought the service was good but the food, while nice, was comparably expensive (as all European food tends to be in this area)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank FionaSmith100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaevinge, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive chateaubriand”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We got chateaubriand because we wanted to celebrate our 10 year aniversary.
Also we bought a bottle of wine.....
The wine was good, but the beef wasent prepared by the table, the meet was stacked on a pile of sliced potatoes so i looked like there was more than the 5-8 slices.
Some of the meat was almost raw (we did order medium).
We should have choosen something else to eat....

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank LarsForssling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandraJ1983, Owner at Viking Steak House, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Lars,
We are sorry, that our Chateau Briand did not live up to your expectations and hope that you had a good aniversary afterall.
Chateau Briand is one of our customers all time favourite dish.
There is 200 gr of tenderloin per person (400 grams on the dish) and we serve it, as according to the menu, with garlic sauteed potatoes. However, you are always welcome to chose between our other 7 choices of potatoes as well as increasing the amount of meat.
At our restaurant we do all our cooking in the kitchen and not at the individual tables. This is both for safety and hygienic reasons.
The owners are working in the restaurant every night 7 nights a week in order to make sure that all customers are happy and should you have any concerns, please do not hesitate to tell us and we will be at your assistance.
We hope to see you back at Viking Steak House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viking Steak House also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Viking Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing