We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended. Choose the Outpost Lodge across the street”

Pamoja Expedition Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pamoja Expedition Lodge
Ranked #87 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The room is very similar to that of Outpost Lodge, and both have nice gardens, and wifi in the dining area.
Unlike Outpost, it does not provide shampoo/shower gel etc.

But that is not what bothers me.

One of the staff there is not very professional. Anything that does not come with a price tag, he just overcharge it.
I had a simple meal there, so-called special of the day (not on the menu, no price-tag), and he later asked for $12. (very over-priced for a plate of fried rice)
I asked him if they have postcards, and he only came back with a bunch of postcards and asked for $4 per postcard. Of course I turned it down. It only cost from 500shilling ~ $1 per postcard anywhere in Arusha. BTW, 700 shilling stamp for postcard going international.
It was very unpleasant experience and very unprofessional.

I went on to stay in the Outpost Lodge across from the street instead for the rest of the trip. The staffs in Outpost are weigh more professional and honest.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona_Cheng9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

I frequently travel to Arusha, Tanzania. One of the places I like to stay is the Pamoja Lodge. It's a great location, a quiet, tree lined street close to the central clock tower. The service is excellent, they will go the extra mile to help their guest. The rooms are clean, although a bit beat up, the place is definitely on the budget side. There is a decent hot shower and an ok breakfast. As a solo woman traveler, I always feel safe here. It's a good value for what you pay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

My initial rating was average, but after being swindled during dinner and then returning from my kili climb to the Outpost Lodge, right across the street and in a similar price range, I realized how much more I could get for my money - thus the poor rating. Both had clean pools and complimentary breakfast as well as free wi-fi.

Pros: Netting provided for the beds were great. Clean towels & sheets. Offer a safe for valuables when you leave your room (just a tool-box locked in the office but they give a receipt for the items you leave.) Rooms a good size and all necessary amenities are available. The BEST thing about this place was the laptop they leave on a table for guest use - free of charge! Breakfast is also included and is decent.

Cons: Shower gets entire bathroom wet as there is no curtain and no mat is provided for the floor. Walls in the room could use a cleaning (see photo attached.) Would prefer curtains in bathroom that covered the whole window & a clothes hook in the bathroom would be nice, otherwise the close go in the sink or on the toilet during your shower.

My biggest issue with this place was the horrible service for dinner/lunch. First night had a hamburger (it was microwaved and was still cold in the middle.) Second night opted for a side of french fries. The "waiter," who looked like he hated his job, charged me for the full hamburger and fries. I argued him down to the price for the chicken sandwich & fries ($1 less) even though all I had was a side of fries. Orders also came out completely wrong & they didn't care. They provide coffee all day but if you ask for milk or cream they just say they don't have any (but it miraculously appears at breakfast every morning.) Avoid purchasing food there at all costs - if you still stay here I would at least recommend going across the street to the Outpost for dinners or lunches. The rooms here aren't too bad but the meals and service are horrid!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alimariew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Pamoja Lodge is a decent, affordable place in Arusha, but not luxurious or welcoming by any stretch. The rooms are utilitarian and the "compound" feel is not very attractive.
The staff is very laid back - to the point that you're not sure who is working there and who is simply hanging out watching soccer on the always-on television, as european backpackers chain-smoke their evenings away (How do Europeans smoke so much yet have better life expectancy than the US...?).

Anyway, we stayed here and at the Outpost across the street. Outpost had much better rooms, more friendly staff, more safe feeling, and nicer breakfast and design. Unless you really need to save that extra $9 per night, stay at the Outpost. If Outpost is booked or you're really on a budget, Pamoja is fine. It's Arusha after all. You're not there for luxury.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back wing near the pool. The front wing will have you up all night listeni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SearchingUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

+ Good value. Its a good budget alternative.
+ Very friendly, good service
+ Pool and free WiFi

- Some holes in the mosquito net but on a trip to Africa it make sense to bring your own.
- Very good soup but except that meny isnt very good. Breakfast is OK-
- you can easily hear your people outside your room as there is only mosquito net covering top part of the wall.

Me and my girlfriend stayed here one night only. Was walking distance into town. Hotel has a nice area and pool. Room felt clean and was big. Bed was nice but when people walk by you can easily here this. However, we only stayed one night and then went to safari for 7 full days but it was no problem to leave our bags here. We are now here another night, and bags was still here and no cost at all. Gave them tip and seems like they are not used to it, was very happy and its nice to see.

About breakfast in dark room, yes its not too bright, but if u dont like it, you can eat outside or even take it to your room. you have some furniture outside the room and its a nice spot to eat as well.

All in all im very happy with this place considering the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudda_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.6 km away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
629 reviews
16.5 km away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
510 reviews
6 km away
Christina House
Christina House
#7 of 140 in Arusha
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 45 in Arusha
107 reviews
3.1 km away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
471 reviews
2 km away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pamoja Expedition Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pamoja Expedition Lodge

Address: Old Moshi Road | P.O. Box 11937, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $50 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamoja Expeditions Lodge Is Considered A Home Away From Home Where Comfort Warmth And Sheer Hospitality Apply ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing