We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
221
36
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
221
36
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arusha town kilimanjaro airport joyce ray lodge mama
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

A lovely, quiet place to stay while around Arusha. Joyce, the owner, is a wonderful host and chef. The round cottages have comfortable beds, lovely bathrooms ( although they are only separated from the bedroom by a rock wall that doesn't go to the ceiling in case you are looking for total privacy) and reliable hot water, which isn't always the case in Tanzania. The food is all prepared fresh. Highly recommended for a meal or a stay.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sue978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce K, Manager at Songota Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2020

Thanks for your comment we really I appreciate for choosing Songota Falls Lodge, Karibu Tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

I came here with friends for a lovely lunch. This is a lodge located on a hill overlooking a lush valley. There are several round cottages with en suite bathroom. This review is only about the food as we did not stay here. While the road to get here is difficult it is worth it for the peace and beauty of the location.
Lunch was delicious and used a variety of fresh, local vegetables. We started with an avocado salad and next was pumpkin rosemary soup, so unusual and delightful. I don't eat meat but my friends had chicken in a sauce which pleased. The vegetable dish we shared was cooked just right, tender and flavorful, to go with the chapati. The last course was pineapple fritter with a warm custard sauce. All this is eaten in the open air, though there is a roof, and the beautiful scenery unfolds before one.
The price for all this was amazingly reasonable.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank schwartzapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce K, Manager at Songota Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2020

Thanks for your comment we really I appreciate for choosing Songota Falls Lodge, Karibu Tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We stayed for 2 nights at Songota Falls Lodge. Although arriving late (9 p.m.) at Kilimanjaro Airport, Joyce arranged an airport pick-up (50 USD) ánd soup with bread for us (banana soup!). The bungalow was lovely, large double bed, good shower and plenty of space. Joyce helped us with everything and made us feel comfortable. The lodge is a short drive from Arusha in the hills (quiet area), safari companies will pick you up from there. A great start of our holiday in Tanzania!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JensC725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce K, General Manager at Songota Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2020

Thanks for your comment we really I appreciate for choosing Songota Falls Lodge, Karibu Tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We have gone here when we needed a little breathing room and quiet space. The lodges are quiet and clean, traditional Maasai style with modern touches. Joyce is welcoming and the meals are tasty. We will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce K, Manager at Songota Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2020

Thanks for your comment we really I appreciate for choosing Songota Falls Lodge, Karibu Tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Joyce could not do enough for us, a wonderful place to start and finish our Tanzanian adventures. Very quiet and the lodges are sweetly decorated and have good bathrooms. Access to Songota is via a currently unfinished road which is super bumpy so be prepared for an exciting ride! Well worth it though, the place is lovely, welcoming and kind staff and wonderful food (particularly the banana soup!). I would be very happy to return to Songota in the future.

Date of stay: August 2015
Thank T3862VMclairel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce K, Owner at Songota Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2020

Thanks for your comment we really I appreciate for choosing Songota Falls Lodge, Karibu Tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews