We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
112
222
88
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
222
88
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here g adventures team kilimanjaro place to stay on site restaurant cold beer public areas rooms are clean maasai market clock tower kili climb busy city plenty of hot water pre and post quiet place couple of nights nice pool
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after our safari and had tried to have 2 nights, but due to some email confusion (not the guesthouse's fault) we ended up with just one. It was too bad, because we found the rooms clean and spacious, the shower to be hot (after having it explained to us how to get the hot water going), and the common areas to be well maintained and relaxing. Everything you need after some days out in the bush.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here twice - one night before our Safari and one night after our Safari. Rooms are spacious and clean, showers are hot, beds are comfortable and the atmosphere is friendly and safe. The location is central and we enjoyed staying there. Recommended as a good value for money base for Safaris from Arusha, e.g. to Ngorongoro and Serengeti.

Only downside: Food at the restaurant is not recommended, it's overpriced and not very good.

The staff was very friendly and also helped us with getting tickets for a shuttle bus to Nairobi, Kenya.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We used the company Focus in Africa for both our Kilimanjaro climb and our 3 day safari. This was the homebase they used to house their clients. The place is not too big and not too small and with breakfast included it was a good place to meet others doing the same thing as you. The rooms vary because they are currently remodeling and we had 3 different rooms throughout our stay. The restaurant offers good food at reasonable prices and the staff is really nice and helpful. It can get pretty noisy with other groups getting up early to leave for their treks and dogs tend to bark a lot throughout the night. The hot water runs out at about 15 minutes so consider your roommate when using the shower.

Room Tip: If there are two of you, ask for either A3 or A4. They are newly remodeled and very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbgirl-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Clean rooms. We ran out of water (hot and cold) every day. Breakfast included. Free internet with 2 computers available for use. Tiny pool and bar for hanging out.

In a safer area of Arusha but still close to main road. Good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This place is pretty good for a short stay in Arusha. Rooms are fairly basic, but nothing offensive about them. Perhaps a little noisy at night but not a deal breaker. We were so tired from travelling we slept fine anyway. There's a little pool, which is nice. Few loungers if you want to catch some sun. But probably you are there before or after a safari or trek. We stayed before our safari and after. The meals are excellent and a reasonable price. Waiting staff very helpful and efficient. The location isn't right in town, but you can walk in daytime within ten minutes and a cab ride is cheap. Being out of town is actually a good thing, more peaceful in what is a hustle and bustle kind of place. If you have booked a safari with Roy Safaris it is also a great location because they are literally just down the street, under a minute by car. The only negative I can say is that one of the receptionists over charged us when booking a taxi. It should have been about $4 she quoted $10. We knew she was up to no good, but it is hard to challenge. Luckily her boss appeared and took over, so we got the $4 fare. I guess she was planning to pay the cab driver and keep the rest, who knows. I understand though, they see people from developed countries throwing $ around like nobody's business. Some of them are lucky to be making $150 a year. Tip these guys where you can and where it is deserved - even if you are on a budget, you are not on their budget, so don't be tight.
Good place. book it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intheknow30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews