We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel if you like water on the bathroom floor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ishtar Hotel

Ishtar Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palmyra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ishtar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Palmyra
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average Hotel if you like water on the bathroom floor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

Stayed here when we were in Syria. I don't remember much of this place. I suppose that may be a good/bad thing depending on your perspective. It was just an average hotel. Its one of the closer hotels to the main site in Palmyra. It has free wifi in the lobby. I don't need much service from hotel staff but they were helpful when we need advice on how to get to Damascus. One thing I do remember is that the drain in the shower/bathroom didn't drain the water from the shower. It was rather annoying when I needed to poop at 3am. I had to find my shoes and put them on and wade in the 1/4" puddle of (shower) water to the toilet.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyTravelName192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    23
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
30
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

You don't have many options in Palmyra. Ishtar Hotel is one of the good options.The staff were really helpful and nice. The location is really good, just a short walk from the ruins. However our room was not clean. It was a tidy room but we found some hairs in just as we opened the sheets. We did not complain about this situation since it was late at night and everything else about the hotel was fine. 3/5.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorissanspeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beer Sheva
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Amazing location close to Palmyra ruins, affordable and reasonably clean, but rooms are very simple - bathroom is a bit weird as after having shower the water has no way to drain so everything there remains wet. It's family run business and the guys are really nice. There's a cave-like restaurant in the basement which is a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eviette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

Clean rooms, nice place situated in the city but also near ruins of Palmyra. But the best of all is food and people there! Food is always fresh and so, so tasty - I could eat it every day:)
and people are very frendly, open-minded, helpful. They know a lot about Palmyra and they can show you the places that regular tourists don't know:)
I highly recommend the company of Ismael! ask for him if you're there!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanubia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

I stayed in Palmyra for one night in November and I found Ishtar hotel to be a very good option. Location is perfect, rooms are very basic but clean and comfortable and breakfast was a pretty good meal (buffet).
What amazed me was the friendliness and helpfulness of staff. I have never felt so much welcome!

Ok there are cheaper places and better value for money in Syria... But hey, this is Palmyra! Basically one of the most touristic spots in Syria.

I definitely recommend to stay at Ishtar hotel if you go to Palmyra.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ishtar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ishtar Hotel

Property: Ishtar Hotel
Address: Jamal Abd Naseer Street, Palmyra, Syria
Region: Syria > Homs Governorate > Palmyra
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Palmyra
Price range (per night): $26 - $32
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our 2-star hotel with 17 rooms. All rooms have a private bathroom, heating and A.C. It is a simple hotel, but clean and comfortable with very reasonable prices. We are located on the main street near the museum of Palmyra, 5 minutes walk from the ruins, and our goal is making all our customers enjoy their stay in Palmyra with our friendly hospitality. The Hotel Manager speaks fluent English and French. He is happy to assist with any information you require. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ishtar Hotel Palmyra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing