We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 150
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Hotels.com
USD 150
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Booking.com
USD 137
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUSD 137
CheapTicketsUSD 150
TravelocityUSD 150
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
237
35
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
237
35
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool peacock villa tuk tuk boat tour sri lanka dutch canal free bikes a small boutique hotel our honeymoon three nights bed was very comfortable perfect stay last stop rain shower prawns stayed here for one night last night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed for one night in the beautiful Waterland hotel and we enjoyed fully the experience there. The place is amazing, the food is absolutely great and the service impecable.
Thank you for your hospitality! Will definitely choose Waterland in our next trip to Sri Lanka.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank GabiSimion
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2019

Waterland has always been a special place with a gorgeous setting, beautiful architecture, and attentive service. 6 months ago, we began a comprehensive upgrade of all aspects of the property and service with the twin aims to
be not simply the best hotel in Negombo, but one of the best hotels in Sri Lanka.

The upgrade included a major remodel of the lobby, kitchen, restaurant, pools, and outdoor areas and the construction of 2 new pools, 3 new bathrooms, and 2 outdoor decks. The upgrade also included lots of training of the management and staff and the development of additional policies and procedures to help ensure consistently outstanding service, meals, housekeeping, maintenance, ...

It's super that these efforts are bearing fruit. We are delighted that your stay was amazing, the food was great, and the service was impeccable.

We know you have many choices of places to stay. Thank you for choosing Waterland and for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review.

We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2019

We stayed at Waterland for one night at the end of our honeymoon and had a lovely time. The location was brilliant and relatively close to the airport for us to catch out flight the following morning. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We had a delicious dinner and breakfast. Generally everything was fantastic! Would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pru9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2019

We're delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay at Waterland. We're glad that the location, service, and meals were memorable and that generally everything was fantastic. It's been neat to see more and more guests coming to stay for honeymoons, anniversaries, and birthdays. We're honored that guests are choosing Waterland for such special occasions.

Thank you both for staying at Waterland and for taking the time to review your stay.

We wish you a lifetime of happiness together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2019

We have had a lovely stay at Waterland. We stayed two nights and room and the private pool were amazing. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly.

The hotel was a bit difficult to find for our tuk tuk driver but if you follow the signs, you will get there.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leyenkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2019

A first impression and a last impression heavily impact how one thinks about a place.

Waterland is generally the first and last place that foreign visitors stay during their trips to Sri Lanka. It is especially important, then, that the guest experience should be sublime.

We're delighted that your 2-night stay at Waterland at the start of your holidays created an excellent impression of the island.

Regarding the location, it's good of you to point out that there are lots of signs around Negombo directing the way to Waterland. Waterland is also on Google Maps.

Thank you for staying and for reviewing your experience.

Over the summer, we closed Waterland so we could carry out an array of enhancements. The place feels even more magical than before.

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2019

Our family of 4 had the privilege of staying here in the "Waterland suite" for our first day in Sri Lanka. The kids were thrilled with the swings over the reflecting pool in the living room, and we all found the beds comfortable, the rooms spacious, and the views exceptional. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the food delicious. We really enjoyed a sunset boat trip on the lagoon, and borrowing the bicycles to go to the beach. Our only regret was not staying longer! Out of many lovely properties we stayed in, this was our favorite.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rebecca p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2019

It's wonderful to hear that you and your children had such an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for reviewing your stay and commenting on various aspects of your stay including the design, the spaciousness, the service, the meals, and the views.

It's heart-warming to hear that of the many lovely places you stay, Waterland was your favorite.

Over the summer, we closed for 3 months so that we could carry out an ambitious array of upgrades to the property. The remodel is now completed!

Thank you for visiting Sri Lanka and for making Waterland a part of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2019 via mobile

It was a really nice place to end our journey.The Villa is amazing and also the staff working in the hotel was very kind and helpful all the time.

I also recommend tasting the food in the hotel restaurant - the chef cooks very delicious meals!!!

Looking forward to visit again

Michel Röthlisberger + Saskia Godenzi

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michelroethlisberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I8744EImarkn, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2019

Thank you very much for staying and for your enthusiastic recommendation of the accommodation and the restaurant. Thanks too for acknowledging the excellence of the staff. Their kindness, helpfulness, and dedication are indeed praiseworthy.

We are pleased that we could make the end of your journey a special one and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews