We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
157
27
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
27
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool peacock villa water monitors tuk tuk local community flying dog free boat ride galle fort floor to ceiling windows dutch canal sri lanka lovely villa secluded location head massage our honeymoon a small boutique hotel spa treatments
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We (four adults) stayed at Waterland for two nights when we first arrived in Sri Lanka. We had our own pool and our terrace looked out over river and sky. There were so many birds and then as dusk fell, bats. We highly recommend Waterland for it's serene feel, quiet location, delicious breakfasts, friendly staff and spacious, well designed rooms (especially loved the bathroom and comfy beds). We had the two bedroom suite - it came as a two storey space, with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a gorgeous swimming pool! Beautiful, modern design. It was good to be a bit out of town, but there were great transport options available. We would return in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TerriC1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

How nice of you to write to descriptively about your stay. The birds and views, birds, and bats are indeed neat features of the setting. You capture the feeling nice with your title: Serene, bird and river life.

Thanks for emphasizing the bucolic setting on the edge of town. It's good that guests understand that this is not an area with lots of bars, restaurants, and shops.

We are glad you liked the accommodation, the rooms, the beds, the design, and the space so much.

Thanks for noting the excellence of the meals and the staff. The staff - including the restaurant staff - invest their hearts into their work and it's lovely when their efforts are recognized

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at this gorgeous place. Our room was lovely with its own private pool. It’s perfectly hidden away and all the staff were very friendly. Would definitely stay here again. It was a great place to relax for a few days before we started our tour around Sri Lanka.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JanineMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

We are so glad to hear that you had a fabulous stay, thought it was gorgeous, enjoyed your villa and your pool, and found the location to be perfect.

It's great to hear that all the staff were very friendly. Their dedication to the guest experience makes all the difference.

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

At our arrival to Sri Lanka, we went to Waterland which is not too far from the airport, very convenient when you arrive at mid night. We stayed all together 4 nights. This boutique hotel is very nicely decorated in a very hideaway location, with your own pool, a river and bougainvilliers. It was most agreeable.
Nice breakfast and diner.
Very quite location, away from busier Negambo.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PatrickA848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

We know there are many choices of accommodation in Negombo. Thank you for choosing to stay at Waterland and for taking the time to review so many aspects of your stay. We're pleased that you found your stay so agreeable and enjoyed the bucolic setting, pool, views, meals, and convenience to the airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The staff are amazing, the rooms are clean and tidy and the food is fantastic.
The only reason I haven’t gave this a 5 star is because check in took way too long and when we got to our room we realised they hadn’t told us when breakfast was or what the WiFi code was. Also the breakfast took way too long and we were the only table there.
All in all I would defiantly recommend this hotel

Date of stay: March 2018
1  Thank JRamsey0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

We're delighted that the staff, rooms, and food were fantastic and that you really enjoyed your stay.

Thanks for staying, for reviewing your stay, and for recommending Waterland.

Thanks too for the valuable feedback about how we can improve. When you checked in, you should have been told the timing of breakfast and the Wi-Fi Code and you should not have had to wait long for your breakfast. Our apologies for these shortcomings. I am working with the staff to minimize the chances of these mistakes occurring in future.

While it's great to hear how much guests enjoy their stay and about things we're doing well, we very much appreciate hearing how we can improve. Such feedback is key in our efforts to make Waterland one of the premier properties in Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in the Fire Villa at the end if our stay in Sri Lanka. It was peaceful, relaxing, idyllic - just what we needed before heading back to the UK. The area is very peaceful & it was lovely to be able to sit & listen to the wildlife. We went on a couple of bike rides, ate in the Hotel & had a couple of spa treatments which were all worthwhile.
The room was clean & the shower room had good hot water with an effective shower fitment. We had tea/coffee making facilities in the Villa as well as fridge so felt very self contained.
Being near the airport it is the perfect place to start/end your trip to Sri Lanka. We will be back.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for reviewing your stay. Your description captures the ambiance of Waterland: peaceful, relaxing, idyllic.

We are glad you appreciated the nature and were able to take advantage of the bicycles, the spa, and the on-site restaurant.

Thanks for noting the quality of the cleaning, hot water, shower pressure, and proximity to the airport.

We're glad you will be returning and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews