We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Angurukaramulla Temple
from USD 30.00
More Info
from USD 80.00
More Info
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
99
105
50
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
99
105
50
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full moon day murals buddist pictorial lions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

If you are in negombo you should visit the place . The temple is very solemn. The sleeping buddha is the main attraction.We had a guide who showed us round the temple who explained all about the various features throughout which was very interesting.On leaving you were invited to sign the visitors book and leave a small donation if you so wished. Photos are allowed.Very pecseful place.Have big Buddha inside the temple n on main door also ,very peaceful & source of positive energy.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Sangi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Peaceful and amazing paintings. Love the status of the Buddah. Nice green area where you can sit and relax.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank sunny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

A big temple in middle of premium residential area. Accessible to public. Went there on a noon time, so couldn't attend the ritual activities. Worth visiting this place

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Shyju C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Our first cultural outing after landing in Sri Lanka. Our introduction to Buddhist temples did not disappoint. The colour and beauty bring the walls to life and the understanding of an ancient faith and following is shared by those who keep the sacred site. Our Driver/Guide who was Buddhist took great pride in showing us this temple and explaining his many beliefs. He delighted in explaining how all the islands major faiths support and participate in each other's holidays and rituals. Religion and faith in Sri Lanka it was apparent are not defining qualities that segregate, but rather a faith of any kind was what they held in common along with shared admiration which allows them to bring different beliefs together to exist in harmony. How rare to learn this and rarer to find it. As a non-spiritual person, I found myself for the first time in a very long time, interested in learning about people's faiths.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We were told that a guide would meet us and show us around this beautiful temple. As we parked there was a derelict building by our side which detracted from the temple a little. The guide did show himself but didn't really explain anything and we were left alone... our hotel guide gave us more information. At the end we were asked to sign the visitors book and make a donation... don't be 'pressured' to pay what others seem to pay... I may have donated more had things been explained. I am told that standards appear to be slipping.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews