We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Jetwing Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jetwing Sea
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Yes, the hotel is direct at a beach - but boring long without any shade.
Yes, the rooms are nicely designed - but balconies do need a touch up
Yes, the service is ok - but we had a big hiccup at check in. Took 2 hours to rectify.
Yes, some staff members are extremely nice - some are a bit too much
Yes, they have restaurants - but in comparison to other similar places in SriLanka the prices are a rip off.: at the GalleFace hotel (5*) the buffet dinner is 1800Rps and excellent. At this one its 2500 Rps and mediocre. A small glass of simple wine is 600Rps.. at the Galle its 300Rps. The hotel car to the airport is 30.-$ but any normal cab charges you 1500Rps only.
And then - 30% of guests from Arab countries in their black burkas watching you at the pool -- frightening.

Room rates at the GalleFace - a true 5-star hotel - and here are the same. But this one I would rate it as good 3-star hotel catering for business travellers and as an option for an overnight stop close to the airport before flying off. But not pleasant for a long holiday stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nasoowas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review posted on Trip Advisor. Your valuable comments are noted and we are truly sorry to hear about the disappointments you faced and also to know that we have fallen short of your expectations on a few instances. With regards to the dinner buffet I wish to bring to your notice that buffet prices vary according to different inclusions and we do have a special Seafood dinner chosen from a wide array of freshly caught fish at a lower price at our exclusive Seafood restaurant. A delay in check in would be mostly due to the early arrival as the occupied rooms will not be released until 12.00 noon by the occupants. Rest assured that we will do our best to avoid such instances in future as service excellence is what we are best at, sometimes going the extra mile in order to achieve it.

Nevertheless we apologize for the inconvenience that has been caused to you during your stay and are hopeful that you will return in the near future perhaps for a longer stay.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,037 - 1,041 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

A really good hotel for relaxing. The location is great, easy access to the beach. The beach is clean. The food is good and service excellent

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Guest,(done may 11)

It was a treat to see your comments posted on Trip Advisor. A few lines of praise says it all which will make everyone at Jetwing Sea happy for a job well done. And our sincere wish is to see you back with us to do the Jetwing Sea experience once more.
Until then warm regards from everyone at Jetwing Sea.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

A one night stay turned into two when I became unwell (in no way due to the hotel BTW). Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects - the location, the clean, modern rooms, the great dining (when I could manage it), and the service. The latter was not quite as "crispily professional" as other places we visited, it was more relaxed, but just as efficient. The assistance we received when I was unwell was very much appreciated. One day I WILL get back to try the delightfully presented Sri Lankan Chicken Curry which I didn't manage to manage to start on!
Very happy indeed with the room overlooking the beach. Nice watching the fishing boats go by and watching the sunsets. Nice modern clean rooms.
Did not try the fitness facilities so cannot comment on that.
Just liked the feel of this place and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't know if all rooms have the ocean view. Probably best to check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a delight reading your review of Jetwing Sea posted on Trip Advisor, and a warm “Thank You” from the bottom of our hearts for the invaluable recommendation to all fellow travelers. We are always encouraged by wonderful reviews such as yours, and we will be sharing your comments with each and every member of our team specially the associates who attended to you during your sickness, we do hope you’re feeling much better now.

As a beach hotel Jetwing Sea has a lot to offer, whether you are interested in a sunny beach, watching the lovely sunsets, a variety of food presented, or simply just relaxing in a pool, Jetwing Sea has it all. What better way of relaxing in a peaceful serene atmosphere, than spending a few luxurious days at Jetwing Sea.

Yes, indeed we would love to see you again very soon as Jetwing Sea is your hotel as much as it is ours.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed here for one night at the end of our 10 day trip around Sri Lanka. Compared to the other places we had stayed at, the hospitality and service at Jetwing Sea was sorely lacking. We were interrupted 3 times during our buffet dinner about payment- the first time we requested for the meal to be charged to our room, but was informed that this was not possible as we were only staying one night (not sure if this is company policy?). The second time, we requested if we could pay by credit card since we were running out of rupees but they were not happy with this and hence a third interruption asking us whether we could pay with cash. In the end we gave up and agreed just so the waiter would leave us alone. We then waited 20 minutes for our drinks to arrive and then, while we were still eating our desserts, the waiter gave us the bill and wanted immediate payment! The next morning, when we tried to checkout, we were asked whether we had taken anything from the minibar. We confirmed we had not but the receptionist asked us to wait while she found a member of staff to double check. We waited almost 15 minutes for the confirmation to come through even though our taxi was waiting for us before we were finally allowed to leave. Most hotels take their guest's word and we have never experienced this kind of mistrust before. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gpoon116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. Though not the ideal review any of our associates would like to see on Trip Advisor, we are truly sorry for the inconvenience. Your thoughts will be taken very seriously and action will be taken for instant remedy. Service is one of our strongest points and rest assured we will correct ourselves where we have let you down.

We are very hopeful that you will still consider Jetwing Sea for your future visits and we will prove to you that we have learned from our shortcomings as we fully understand that in order to enjoy a meal at any given restaurant, it has to be complimented with service to match.

Sincerely,
Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I booked the suite at the very last moment but Jetwing staff was extremely helpful in searching a room for us, me and my fiancée.
Room was superb, service excellent, great food and even they gave us a snack at midnight while so busy with new years Eve celebrations!
Breakfast was great, and we asked a possibility for late check out and they gave us!!!!! Well actually I recently spent 2 days at Vil Uyana, another Jetwing chain hotel and now I'm sure that they are the best in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a suite, they are amazing!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank supermamcolombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the marvelous review you posted on Trip Advisor following your stay at Jetwing Sea. Your thoughts are truly the words of praise for which we put in our heart and soul to achieve and are truly cherished by each and every member of our team.

As we endeavor to give you an experience that is unique to Jetwing Sea, by relaxing you, pampering you and giving you every possible luxury you can dream of, including a very personalized service, it is certainly the aim of Jetwing Hotels to be the best in Sri Lanka.

Again thank you for your very kind feedback, please do visit Jetwing Sea again for a much longer stay. We will make sure you have another memorable experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
9.4 km away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 44 in Negombo
1,074 reviews
1.1 km away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#8 of 44 in Negombo
1,518 reviews
1.7 km away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 44 in Negombo
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#2 of 44 in Negombo
574 reviews
0.9 km away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 44 in Negombo
1,864 reviews
2.5 km away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Sea

Address: Palangathurai | Ethukale, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sea Shells Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#4 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#4 Business Hotel in Negombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: $145 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beach at your doorstep, Jetwing Sea offers an idyllic coastal retreat along the soft golden sands of Negombo and makes for an enchanting holiday home where one can work, play and fall in love. Enjoy exotic seafood, plan a sunset wedding or unwind at the rooftop spa, serenaded by the sounds of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Sea Hotel Negombo
Sea Shells Negombo
Negombo Sea Shells Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing