We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
janinec51
Australia
Good place to rest before/after a long flight
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jan 2019
We enjoyed our 2 night stay after flying from Australia and before starting our tour of Sri Lanka. The trip from the airport is about 20 minutes, the room has everything you need, safe, aircon, TV, decent shower, balcony with view of pool (third floor), free Wi-fi. Breakfast buffet is fine although would appreciate a selection of fruit, we didn't eat anything else here as there are many restaurants close by. The pool area is lovely, we didn't swim in the beach as were warned it can be rough and the there is a bit of litter around which makes it less appealing.
Overall, use it as a rest stop not a destination in itself, there are far better beaches in Sri Lanka.
Date of stay: December 2018
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$212
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Paradise Beach Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$186
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Paradise Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$98
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Paradise Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$309
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.2 km from Paradise Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$76
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Paradise Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to Ramada Colombo, Katunayake
Wyndham
AU$119
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
8.2 km from Paradise Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$51
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
10.8 km from Paradise Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$96
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Paradise Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$140
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Paradise Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    AU$207
  • eDreams
2.3 km from Paradise Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Negombo
Reviews (1,217)
Filter reviews
1,217 results
Traveller rating
307
444
325
97
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
307
444
325
97
44
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,217 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2018

We stayed in 5 hotels while in Sri Lanka, and this was the worst of them all. Although we only stayed here for one night, as it's close to the airport, this hotel leaves a lot to be desired:-
The bathroom in the room was very, very small and the shower quite slow. The beds only had bed-sheets and one pillow. The corridors seem run down, with really garish colours. Breakfast was poor, with not much choice and poorly laid out, so it was difficult to find everything.
However, the pool is nice, and the beach is on its doorstep. The location is also good, with lots of shopping and restaurants nearby, and a few sights of interest like temples.
If you want to stay here for a couple of nights then that's fine, but a longer stay might be uncomfortable.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2018 via mobile

When we checked in the hotel, few things we notice that was quite unpleasant, there was no blankets for the room they only gave bedsheets as blanket and it was freezing in the night, the edges of the bedside was sharp and protruding knocked into it few times. Bathroom was small and there was a stale smell in the room. They need to refurbish this hotel, as a lot of things in it was old. Only pleasant thing which was ok was the breakfast. Quite upsetting as we stayed in Sri Lanka for 8 days and moved within 4 hotels and this hotel was the worst and the most expensive hotel including the taxes.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cherylin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2018

I will try to be as balanced as possible and let you decide what to think.
The hotel staff are possibly the nicest people you will ever meet, they are very accommodating and seem to care. The food was not so good with breakfast comprising, baked beans, sausages 'chicken toast', beef curry and 2 other choices. I was not expecting luxury, but this was below expectations. Fruit is displayed in the breakfast section but it was plastic. Evening meal was little better, often no buffet and a rather poor fixed menu choice. However, after I told the waiter that I did not want spaghetti Bolognese (the best choice for that day), I was told - just ask and we will cook what you want. A great example of the staff honestly trying to accommodate guests, an impressive response. The result was fine. The beach was almost deserted, apart from 'mobile vendors' asking you for just one minute. The beach dives quite steeply into the sea, there are no lifeguards and the sea smells a little of sardines. But I think that is normal for the stretch of beach - what can you do? My partner and I still walked arm in arm until we tired of saying 'no thank you' to the vendors. There are quite a few street dogs, but just walk around them. There are quite a few mosquitoes so spray you skin or cover up. Local restaurants are worth a try. There is quite a bit of litter around and the air quality is a bit poor thanks to the Smokey 2-stroke tuk-tuk's. It left me with a cough, but that could be just me. I always felt totally safe, the current political situation made no difference at all and should not put you off going. Go to Kandy but be prepared for a stop-go journey for 3 hours each way. But that's life in Sri Lanka, get used to it and check your insurance. Blue busses work on commission and will want to overtake your vehicle no matter what. If you go to Colombo, visit the Kingsbury hotel (old colonial) and take afternoon tea and a big slice of cake for not very much money -my top cake-tip. 'The coffee bean' chain is more expensive and nothing special. Please go to Sri Lanka, have a great time, but don't expect great local cuisine - ok is good enough. Spectacular scenery will be well away from built up areas and we just ran out of time. We had some rain, but not much, and it helped to cool things down. Room air con got noisy after it had been on for an hour or 2, so we slept with just a room fan - but t was ok.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ed_just_sayin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2018

The hotel is located well at the beach side and it has pretty much everything you need. It has aged and needs a freshening up. The linens and comforters have aged. The food is not bad. But for the price paid I cannot complain much as it's well located. The room service as well as the staff behavior is really good.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alexkj05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

I booked 14 nights here with TUI on impulse & my wife was apprehensive after reading the reviews.
If you're in the same situation don't worry, it's okay.

Sri Lankan people are very friendly & hospitable with all the staff here having the same attitude.

Reception was efficient with drinks on arrival and rooms available before check in time. Local currency exchange at good rates too.

All rooms seem to have pool/sea views. Our room had a comfy bed & everything you would want, although you wouldn't be taking photos of it to show off with on social media!

The pool area could have been cleaner. The pool attendants spent most of the day chatting in their kiosk rather than tending the pool area.
We were advised not to swim in the sea as the undercurrents were strong, so we only went onto the beach to watch the sunset. Beach sellers will approach you in a friendly manner but they are persistent so an assertive 'no thank you' will avoid any pressure to buy.

Breakfast in the hotel is buffet style & okay. The freshly cooked eggs were good.
We had lunch at the pool bar once which also was good.
Within walking distance of the hotel are plenty of places to eat at very reasonable prices. My wife liked the Jetwing vegetarian/vegan restaurant.

The hotel hosted several functions while we were there which seemed to have priority over the tourists.

We toured Sri Lanka staying in far superior accommodation at approximately £30 a night.
Paradise Beach Hotel in comparison is worth paying £20 a night for, but not much more.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank simonb7997
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews