We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean View Tourist Guest House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Jetwing Blue(Negombo)
USD 157*
USD 78*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pledge 3(Negombo)
USD 84*
USD 70*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 76*
USD 66*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amagi Aria(Negombo)
USD 101*
USD 77*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 123*
USD 114*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jetwing Beach(Negombo)
USD 133*
USD 108*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jetwing Sea(Negombo)
USD 172*
USD 146*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 75*
USD 58*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 186*
USD 181*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Castle(Negombo)
USD 55*
USD 34*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
94
113
43
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
113
43
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankaday tourhot watertuk tukrooms are cleaneggs and toastmosquito netone nightairport pickupair conditioned roomclose to the hotelspent nights herenice place to staynice balconynegombo citynice breakfastlovely guesthouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Driver met us at the airport, about 25 minutes by car to the guest house. Our room on the third floor, balcony with partial ocean view, a/c, fan and mosquito net (saw a few mosquitoes at dinner but none in room). Good breakfast. Lots of restaurants nearby for the other meals. Guest house is well run by Mark. He arranges a 4 day tour for us, which was excellent.
40 minute walk or 10 minute took took ride to Negombo town. Be sure to visit the fish market and fish landing.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emkay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your review. This feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Located in Old Town near the beach, lots of restaurants and shops in the area. The room was clean, air conditioned, upgraded bathroom with warm shower. Wi-Fi in the room, TV. Staff were very helpful. We heard music one night from a neighborhood pub lasting until midnight but the remaining two nights heard no music at all. You can here street sounds when the work day starts but it's not too bad. You can also here song birds. No bad surprises, I had no complaints, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are more private and include a small balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Restless_S0ul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your review. This feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Liked this place. It was clean and comfortable. They recommended a boat tour which was a really good experience. Delicious food at the restaurant next door. The wifi was good as well as breakfast. Lots of mosquitoes at night, so beware. You need the nets

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your review. This feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Clean. By far the cleanest place we have stayed in for a long time, anywhere. Everything was clean, including the owner Mark's car! It really showed a sense of pride to me.
Staff was wonderful, very helpful and friendly, always attentive.
Breakfasts are simple, but wonderful, tea, coffee, perfectly fried eggs, fruit plate, toast and jam. While not a curry breakfast, it was perfect for our needs. Oh, and did I mention it was clean?!
Mark the owner is a wonderful man, his command of the English language is amazing, and he was so helpful in making sure we got the most out of our visit. If you can get him as a guide you are very lucky! He has been in the business for years and has an amazing amount of knowledge of the Island Nation and all of its attractions.
We spent 4 nights here, the location to the Airport is really handy, and we booked all of our day trips through Mark.
The rooms were simple, but nice, ours had two twin beds, pushed together, with a simple sheet for a "duvet", trust me its all you need! Our room had cable tv, and A/C, both of which worked great. The bathroom is all tile, spotless, and had a nice shower. Our room had a nice balcony facing the street and the direction of the ocean. No real direct ocean views, as there has been some development over the last few years, however, it is still nice to sit on the deck and watch the goings on.
The rooftop deck is also available for guests to view the sunsets, or just to hang out and enjoy the weather.
If anyone is hesitant to book here, don't be, its a really nice small property, friendly helpful staff, and owner, plus it really is super clean.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ytranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your excellent review. This genuine feedback encourage us to improve our services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you and your friends when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

The sheets on the bed had some marks. They were washed but old.
We couldnt lock the door. I had to ask from one of the boys to come and help me but even for him it was difficult.
The room needs renovation and more cleaning

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Panagiotis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear friendly guest, Thank you for your review. This genuine feedback encourage us to improve our services. i have gone through all our locks after your review.Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you and your friends when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews