We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean View Tourist Guest House
Ranked #29 of 272 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Located in Old Town near the beach, lots of restaurants and shops in the area. The room was clean, air conditioned, upgraded bathroom with warm shower. Wi-Fi in the room, TV. Staff were very helpful. We heard music one night from a neighborhood pub lasting until midnight but the remaining two nights heard no music at all. You can here street sounds when the work day starts but it's not too bad. You can also here song birds. No bad surprises, I had no complaints, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are more private and include a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Restless_S0ul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your review. This feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Liked this place. It was clean and comfortable. They recommended a boat tour which was a really good experience. Delicious food at the restaurant next door. The wifi was good as well as breakfast. Lots of mosquitoes at night, so beware. You need the nets

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your review. This feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Clean. By far the cleanest place we have stayed in for a long time, anywhere. Everything was clean, including the owner Mark's car! It really showed a sense of pride to me.
Staff was wonderful, very helpful and friendly, always attentive.
Breakfasts are simple, but wonderful, tea, coffee, perfectly fried eggs, fruit plate, toast and jam. While not a curry breakfast, it was perfect for our needs. Oh, and did I mention it was clean?!
Mark the owner is a wonderful man, his command of the English language is amazing, and he was so helpful in making sure we got the most out of our visit. If you can get him as a guide you are very lucky! He has been in the business for years and has an amazing amount of knowledge of the Island Nation and all of its attractions.
We spent 4 nights here, the location to the Airport is really handy, and we booked all of our day trips through Mark.
The rooms were simple, but nice, ours had two twin beds, pushed together, with a simple sheet for a "duvet", trust me its all you need! Our room had cable tv, and A/C, both of which worked great. The bathroom is all tile, spotless, and had a nice shower. Our room had a nice balcony facing the street and the direction of the ocean. No real direct ocean views, as there has been some development over the last few years, however, it is still nice to sit on the deck and watch the goings on.
The rooftop deck is also available for guests to view the sunsets, or just to hang out and enjoy the weather.
If anyone is hesitant to book here, don't be, its a really nice small property, friendly helpful staff, and owner, plus it really is super clean.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ytranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your excellent review. This genuine feedback encourage us to improve our services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you and your friends when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

The sheets on the bed had some marks. They were washed but old.
We couldnt lock the door. I had to ask from one of the boys to come and help me but even for him it was difficult.
The room needs renovation and more cleaning

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank pvaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear friendly guest, Thank you for your review. This genuine feedback encourage us to improve our services. i have gone through all our locks after your review.Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you and your friends when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We landed in negambo and finding it hard to look around srilanka. Local tuk tuks charge a bomb and out of all that they try to cheat you.

We wanted some one to be truthful and take us around srilanka, we stepped into ocean view and spoke to Mark about a day tour. He suggested places which we can cover in a day and prioritise places.
He told us we can start at 6am. And took our stay address.

6am dot! Jade s standing in the entrance waiting for us to get on board. Very few ppl respect time and I totally love the ppl who do so.

Jade is so polite and a gem of a person, it was like our own private van. Jade would stop when we wanted to and if wanted to skip he would politely accept it.
He explained about various cultures of Srilanka and answered all those crazy questions we had about Srilanka.

The entire day tour was made amazing thanks to Mark and Jade.

Next time any one visits Srilanka am gonna recommend these guys eyes closed.
We loved their service so much that the next day we asked them to drop us back to airport.

Very safe, very sweet, very humble service.
Be assured they won't cheat, steal. They make sure your safe in their hands.

My next visit am gonna call you guys in advance and my taxi from airport, travelling entire Srilanka is yours.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank mohamed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your excellent review. This genuine feedback encourage us to improve our services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you and your friends when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0 km away
Marine Tourist Guest House
Marine Tourist Guest House
#19 of 272 in Negombo
390 reviews
4.3 km away
Villa Taprobane
Villa Taprobane
#9 of 272 in Negombo
129 reviews
0.1 km away
Angel Inn
Angel Inn
#17 of 272 in Negombo
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Beach Walk
Beach Walk
#50 of 272 in Negombo
20 reviews
0 km away
Manik Home Stay
Manik Home Stay
#39 of 272 in Negombo
29 reviews
10.4 km away
Ziegler Cottage
Ziegler Cottage
#6 of 272 in Negombo
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Tourist Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Tourist Guest House

Address: 122 Lewis Place, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range: $29 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Tourist Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View Tourist Guest House Negombo is the most convenient place for your stay in Negombo.You can reach us from airport in 20 minutes any time of the day. We have got different rooms for different prices according to your budget. We are specialized in organizing inbound tours as well.Our experience is since 1978. If you want to know the country well, come with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean View Tourist Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Tourist Guest House Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing