We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean View Tourist Guest House
Ranked #29 of 272 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2016

It was easy to get all the information I needed and to book this guesthouse via email with Mark a few days in advance. He offers airport pickup for $20 USD which we booked and we were very pleased with the service and driver. As our flight arrived before 5am we booked the room for the night before (so we could check-in and sleep straight away) as well as two additional nights. We were greeted very nicely by the early morning staff and they assisted us with our luggage.

We booked a $35 USD room on the top floor, with private balcony, view and AC and were quite pleased with it. The provided wifi and AC work well, the balcony is quite large and while there is no ocean view (despite the name...) it is nice to sit out and watch the comings and goings on the street, the palm trees and the sun-set. The bathroom is quite modern and large. We had no trouble accessing both cold and hot water as needed. The room also has a ceiling fan, windows, mini-fridge, small wardrobe, hanging rack and large bed with comfortable mattress and nice netting.

The $4 USD breakfasts are a bit light and typical but convenient to start the day. We arranged with Mark a Colombo day tour which went quite well. For $60 USD we were picked up at 9am and brought back at 4pm and with a minor bit of coaxing were able to see what we wanted.

The guesthouse and area were pretty quiet overnight so no disturbances. There is some construction across the street with hammering starting at 07:30 so not too bad. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend for a few days although NO house keeping...

P.S. While the waves were too rough for swimming I actually thought the beach across from here didn't look too bad. Further towards town is not so nice but more interesting with all the fisher-people.

Room Tip: Go for AC if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your excellent review. This genuine feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you and your friends when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2016

My brother and I stayed at this guest house for a couple of days in October, and we were thrilled with the cleanliness of the place. The rooms are well furnished and the bathrooms are worthy of a 4* hotel. The guest house is secure, with gates closing for the night. Just cross the Beach Road, and within 1 minute's walk you'll find yourself on the beautiful Negombo Beach.
The owner, Mark, is particularly friendly and helpful.
I know he also organises tours on the island, and it must be a privilege to visit this beautiful country with such a knowledgeable man who, it is worth mentioning, has an excellent command of English.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigi1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your excellent review. This genuine feedback encourage us to improve and keep up our place and services. Thank you again for your appreciation and for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you and your friends when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Centrally located, walking distance to the beach. Very nice host and friendly staff. Well presented breakfast on a set price. Nice fitted bathrooms with hot water and modern fittings. Tuktuk and local transport available easily on the road.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Main L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your excellent review. This genuine feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you and your friends when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We stayed in guest house only one night but everything was very good. We also booked 8 day trip with guide from this place and it was amazing! Everything what we needed was arranged very promptly and without any problems. This Guest house offers everything you need for your stay in Sri Lanka if you don't know where to start with your planning and also when you exactly know what you want to see.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alenabalogova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your excellent review. This genuine feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you and your friends when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We only stayed there one night but it was great, the room was big, we has A/C, it was clean and really close to the beach. The manager (Marc) is really nice as well. They even arranged a pick up at the airport, we really liked the place, and it was really cheap.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Eléonore G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your excellent review. This genuine feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0 km away
Marine Tourist Guest House
Marine Tourist Guest House
#19 of 272 in Negombo
390 reviews
4.3 km away
Villa Taprobane
Villa Taprobane
#9 of 272 in Negombo
129 reviews
0.1 km away
Angel Inn
Angel Inn
#17 of 272 in Negombo
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Beach Walk
Beach Walk
#50 of 272 in Negombo
20 reviews
0 km away
Manik Home Stay
Manik Home Stay
#39 of 272 in Negombo
29 reviews
10.4 km away
Ziegler Cottage
Ziegler Cottage
#6 of 272 in Negombo
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Tourist Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Tourist Guest House

Address: 122 Lewis Place, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range: $29 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Tourist Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View Tourist Guest House Negombo is the most convenient place for your stay in Negombo.You can reach us from airport in 20 minutes any time of the day. We have got different rooms for different prices according to your budget. We are specialized in organizing inbound tours as well.Our experience is since 1978. If you want to know the country well, come with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Ocean View Tourist Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Tourist Guest House Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing