We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean View Tourist Guest House, the best guesthouse in Negombo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean View Tourist Guest House
Ranked #29 of 272 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Ocean View Tourist Guest House is the best guesthouse in Negombo. It is flexible towards Colombo city tour arrangements.

As I was transiting in Negombo for one night, the driver of Ocean View Tourist Guest House that picked me up at Negombo's airport of Colombo brought me to see Colombo before bringing me back to check-in at the guesthouse at minimum charge. Return airport transfers are free. Only the Negombo airport-Colombo-pass by Negombo airport routes are chargeable.

Dinner includes local fish and rice while breakfast is complimentary. All staff and the owner are hospitable to me.

Mosquito nets are compulsory fittings in the rooms and thus there is no worry about getting mosquito bites while sleeping but bring mosquito repellents along after stepping out of the rooms.

Ocean View Tourist Guest House has the largest library of books and magazines in Asia for its guests to browse and read. It is located near the reception.

I miss Ocean View Tourist Guest House and will not hesitate to return to the guesthouse if I have to transit in Negombo for one night.

Room Tip: Choose the ground floor if you are on transit to another city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your excellent review. This feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2016

In the past four years I went to SL six times. I always spent my first and last night at Ocean View Guest House being conveniently close to the airport. The rooms are quite nice and very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful all the time. Although the room rate is a bit higher than other places in SL and breakfast is not included I think that I'll stay there again in future.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet with individual patio on ground floor or balcony on upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank diegomarconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your excellent review. This genuine feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

This is a clean hotel and there wont be any problem if the breakfast costed 500 with only 2 eggs, butter and some bread. And the room doesnt cover the breakfast which costed 2000 for a single bed.
I made assumption that the breakfast was covered (because it was when I stayed in Candid) and after being charged 500 just for such kind of breakfast I felt angry because it was not worth it.
Will not come back for sure. Thats why I found only me and another guy staying in this hotel for 2 days. Not recommend at all.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Phuong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Thank you for your review. Thank you for saying place is clean. The problem for you was the breakfast.Yes our breakfast is 500 rupees or 4USD per person and at the time you check in we have informed you the indicated room rate is room only. Then for the breakfast it is not just eggs and toast. We provide any amount of toasts with jam and butter, two eggs as you like fried, boiled, omlet or scrambled , a pot of tea or coffee, fruits and fruit juice. You have mentioned that you have stayed in a different place name and it was not like that. All the places are not same and the prices are different.kind regards, Mark Thamel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

A bit expensive for Sri Lankan standards but is close to the airport so lot of people do go to this kind of places after arriving to Sri Lanka.
There are many touristic places around for lunch and dinner and is close to the beach as well.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Javier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your excellent review. This feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Ocean View is a moderate guest house in Negombo. The rooms are quite basic but clean. Breakfast is simple but tasteful. All in all a good place to start your trip. What makes that this place deserves a four star rating? That is for sure the owner, Mark Thamel! He is a wonderful business man who helped us with a driver (Mudhi, excellent English speaking, guy) and finalizing our 16 days roundtrip through Sri Lanka. Our driver was a wonderful person, trustworthy, always in time and very experienced. We enjoyed every minute with him. All in all I would recommend to contact Mark if you want to organize a roundtrip yourself. You will definitely be in good hands during your time in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bredero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear Friendly guest, Thank you for your excellent review. This feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you again for your valuable time spending to write it and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0 km away
Marine Tourist Guest House
Marine Tourist Guest House
#19 of 272 in Negombo
389 reviews
4.3 km away
Villa Taprobane
Villa Taprobane
#9 of 272 in Negombo
128 reviews
0.1 km away
Angel Inn
Angel Inn
#17 of 272 in Negombo
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Beach Walk
Beach Walk
#59 of 272 in Negombo
19 reviews
0 km away
Manik Home Stay
Manik Home Stay
#39 of 272 in Negombo
29 reviews
10.4 km away
Ziegler Cottage
Ziegler Cottage
#6 of 272 in Negombo
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Tourist Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Tourist Guest House

Address: 122 Lewis Place, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range: $29 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Tourist Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View Tourist Guest House Negombo is the most convenient place for your stay in Negombo.You can reach us from airport in 20 minutes any time of the day. We have got different rooms for different prices according to your budget. We are specialized in organizing inbound tours as well.Our experience is since 1978. If you want to know the country well, come with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Ocean View Tourist Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Tourist Guest House Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing