We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Deco On 44(Galle)
USD 92
USD 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortaleza(Galle)
USD 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 100
USD 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
252
68
11
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
68
11
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurch streetswimming poolupper suitefree tuk tukno alcohol licencethe complimentary afternoon teabanyan roomswine storesri lankawell presented and tastyboutique hotelhotel groupfree transportcoffee machineeach afternooncooking demonstrationmerchant's house
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch. Restaurant was airy and not crowded. The food took a long time to come. Probably should have ordered the fast food. But dishes were well presented and tasty. A pricy menu. Friendly staff. More suitable for residents on packages.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Eraj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We stayed 2 nights. Should have booked for longer. The old bazaar offices have been turned into a superb hotel after a restoration project that took 6 years. Lovely room, everything of the highest quality. The perfect location in the heart of old Galle town. When we stayed the hotel had yet to be granted its liquor licence but they are very happy to serve your own purchases with no service charge or corkage. (Liquor store a short walk away). The table service for breakfast is a la carte and superb. So good that we asked to meet the chef to say thank you. This hotel will be remembered as an all time favourite. The pool (under construction in February 2018) should be finished very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NickandMaretha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We stayed here for two nights and there is a 2pm onwards check in. This is a former Merchants House converted to an Hotel. We had asked for a King Bed room with a balcony and we were allocated Banyon Room 20, which is the only room on that floor with a balcony. I would describe the room as 'Simple and pleasing'. It has all the facilities and is spacious with a large bathroom (no bath) and a large walk-in shower.
The room does not have any carpets or mats which makes it feel a bit sparse, and not as our tour operator described 'luxurious fabrics and furnishings'.
The Hotel interior with its reception rooms and courtyard is very good and pleasant, especially when the sun shines on the courtyard.
Breakfast is to order with a good choice and quality and you can sit inside or outside under the archways at the front. The outside area black and white checked table tops do need a good clean with a cleaner to restore as they are weathered and it would certainly make their appearance that much better.
Complimentary afternoon tea is provided which is a nice touch and matches the surroundings.
The Wifi in our room was very poor, but when I reported this to the front desk they immediately installed a router extender which gave us a very good reception.
The King Bed was very comfortable.
All the staff were very pleasant and welcoming, and many thanks to those on the Front Desk who were most obliging.
The swimming pool is not finished and therefore not available, and the hotel does offer a complimentary shuttle to a Jetwing hotel nearby if you do want a swim, by Tuk Tuk and we did this and enjoyed the Tuk Tuk ride which takes about 10 minutes, but apart from this it is not really worth doing this unless you are desperate for a swimming pool.

The Hotel has a very good Spa, and the treatment rooms are very pleasant and spotlessly clean. There are two therapists. PIWI is a very experienced Balinese therapist and has a lovely personality, speaks fluent English and I had a very good Deep tissue massage with her. The other therapist is KAREN from the Philippines and is also very experienced and again with a lovely personality. I had a relaxing and deep tissue massage with her. Many thanks to both of them for such good treatments. Well worth in making a booking.

Galle itself has many historical buildings and the hotel do arrange a City tour, which we could not take as we had a pre-arranged one. I would definitely advise using the Hotel one. Other than this the many Gem Stores etc and other shops to us were not interesting at all.
There are two other excursions you can do whilst in Galle or on the way in or when you leave and these are THE CINNAMON EXPERIENCE and the BUDHIST MEMORIAL STATUTE and the little photographic museum by it and the rail way line in memory of all those who lost their lives (40,000) in the Tsunami of 26.12.2004. Both in their own ways excellent, but the latter very sad and horrendous.
A two night stay at this Hotel does fit the criteria.

Room Tip: Room 20 with King Bed on the higher floor and has a balcony
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We didn't like Galle much. This place is OK but our room was dark and miserable.Pretty basic accommodation and an average lunch and breakfast. Good location but there are probably better options.
Good coffee and juice bar.


Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AMLRadlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeardropHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Fort Bazaar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are saddened to hear that you did not like our Banyan Bedroom which has been praised by many guests in the past. However, we do understand that tastes and preferences can differ from person to person and we apologise if this room did not appeal to you.

Your comments regarding lunch and breakfast have been noted and discussed with the culinary team. We pride ourselves on using fresh produce and quality ingredients in the preparation of our dishes however it is unfortunate that the meals fell short of your expectations.

Our liquor license is pending approval and we hope to have the pool ready soon however we have informed all Travel Agencies to keep guests aware of this when booking. Due to the absence of a liquor license and swimming pool, we allow guests to bring their own alcohol and also provide free tuk tuk rides to the swimming pool at a nearby hotel. Nevertheless, we apologise for any inconveniences caused.

Finally, we thank you for your comments on the location and beverages. We hope to see you back in Galle soon.

All the best,
The Fort Bazaar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We spent one night at the Fort Bazaar and really regret not spending another night. The hotel is located in an refurbished building in the middle of the Galle Fort. Everything is in walking distance. It really is in the perfect location.

Service was extremely friendly and staff was always smiling and ready to give a helping hand. They even arraged a bike tour for us prior to our arrival.

The room was well-maintained and felt very true to the style of the building, yet it had some modern touches and all the modern comforts. The grounds and common areas are beautiful in this boutique hotel.

Breakfast was one of the best meals during our stay in Sri Lanka. There were both local and western options, both very well prepared and portion sizes were generous. We did not eat dinner at the hotel, but it looked very good.

This is not an inexpensive hotel, but you do pay a premium for the location and quality of the accommodations. All in all, it is worth the price and a nice splurge.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rammjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews