We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A spacious and well appointed apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Bed Room Bed Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Living room
Bed Room
Bed Room
Kitchen
Dinning Area
front garden
front balcony
tiolet and bathroom
Bed room
Front view
Bed room
Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
carolatga...
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A spacious and well appointed apartment”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Sompala and his family are very hospitable people and went out of their way to give us a lovely stay. The apartment has every convenience and we felt very at home. You can walk to the shops and jungle beach and Unawatuna are a short tuk tuk ride away We walked into the old fort city a couple of times too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude G
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for nine nights. A very clean, spacious two bed roomed apartment with all modern appliances. Made to feel very welcome by Sompala and his lovely family, who could'nt do enough to make me feel at home. Apart from cooking me a sumptuous Sri Lankan meal, Mrs S would regularly bring me fruit and breakfast. With the famous fort just a 20 min walk or a 5 min tuk tuk ride, a much better alternative to any hotel.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T368732
1 review
“A wonderful 2 weeks in the heart of Galle”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed in the house above Somapala and his lovely family for 2 weeks in May 2015. The house itself is spacious, clean, well equipped and in a great, quiet location a 20 min walk from Galle fort, 10 mins from new Galle and 10 mins from a great beach called Sahana.

Somapala and his family were always friendly and were a delight to meet. Thanks for all the wonderful home cooked food! I would recommend this extremely well priced accommodation to family, friends etc. It is a superb and well valued alternative to staying in the touristy Fort. This is a more a taste of the real Sri Lanka. Thanks again Somapala we will email you photos soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
Thank you very much your nice review. we were delighted to have a guest like you and your friend. we had a great time with both of you too. me and my family are most welcome you in you next visit. Thanks again .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SidouSida...
Algiers, Algeria
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful place with excellent host”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

From the first moment we arrived at Somapala's place until the end of our 4 days stay, we had the best services and hospitality ever. Me, my wife and our baby girl are so grateful to Somapala and his wife for making our stay at Galle such a wonderful experience.
The private apartment at the first floor was in a mint condition with every single amenity you could imagine, you name it. And if not available, just ask and they will do their best to help you. Honestly, it would take a lot of time to list all what's supplied in the apartment. We even had a lot of baby toys and a stairs protection fence installed in no time.
That was the perfect blend of privacy and host availability for any help or advice.
Special thanks to the tenant's wife who was so sweet and kind with so many touching attentions.
That is by far the best value for money rental I had in all my travels. I won't hesitate to rent the same place if I return to Sri Lanka someday, especially with my family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was outstanding: Location, Cleanliness, Hospitality, Kindness, Amenities, Price
Liked least: Mosquitoes: Prepare mosquito repellent when staying in the veranda or the living room. There are mosquito nets above the beds.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
Thank you very much your nice review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sfumato1
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An ideal apartment, good location, and also perfect as a base from which to explore this area of Sri Lanka.”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed here on two occasions in the past year for a month and for three months. It is an ideal, well equipped and spacious apartment within walking distance of Galle Fort and the local town. Mr Somapala and his family are attentive hosts and ensure that the provision is always to their guests liking and are always ready to support visitors in any way they can.
The rooms are spacious, light and comfortable with an added feature of a shaded veranda looking out to the street. The ocean is three minutes from the end of the short cul de sac at bottom of the road.
I would heartily recommend the apartment as an excellent base and I too would hope to be returning in the near future.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing