We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveller rating
394
77
29
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
77
29
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea aman hotel galle fort sri lanka steam room top floor an oasis of calm historic hotel colonial feel old world spa treatments no elevator third floor modern amenities high ceilings room number common areas
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 527 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the beautiful Amangalla. The service was excellent. The food was great too. The staff was very friendly and accommodative . True Sri Lankan hospitality . Just few minutes away from the hotel , you could also visit the Dutch hospital and the Dutch museum. Lots of little restaurant and bars to try out too . Overall we had a very enjoyable stay in Galle .

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yasanthi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

This was our first visit to Sri Lanka, and Galle was the perfect introduction location. We stayed for 3-nights and booked the 'Discover Galle' package which included breakfast, afternoon tea as well as a walking tour of the Fort. We also booked our round-trip airport transfer, as well as an additional temple tour through the hotel. I can't say enough great things about this property. We especially enjoyed using the hydrotherapy suites, relaxing by the pool, and the spa treatments. Food was excellent, staff was friendly and helpful, and our butler was outstanding. We've only stayed at two Aman's - here, and Amanjiwo in Borobudur. This property is not as remote as Amanjiwo, and therefore there was street noise that could be heard from our first floor room. Our room was also at the beginning of the hallway, so we could hear people coming and going with their suitcases, sometimes quite early. Nothing too bad, but worth noting. Also, as this is a historical building, and featured in guidebooks, the dining area isn't as quiet during the day as many people stop by to take a look. This aside, I highly recommend this hotel if staying in Galle, and hope to visit Amanwella on a future visit!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishaC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel is like a magical time travel experience to a romantic bygone era! The decor and ambiance is charming and seems a little exclusive, but at the same time well balanced by friendly, polite staff who make you feel very much included. The facilities are plentiful with access to a phenomenal ‘bath room’, which includes a hot pool, a freezing plunge pool, a steam room, a sauna and of course showers and toilets! Tea & scones are served each day on the front veranda - not to be missed! There is also a terrace overlooking rooftops to the ocean, which is lovely for drinks at sunset. The pool is large, warm and set amongst gorgeous greenery. Our room was super clean and the bar fridge contained some free items. The location inside the Fort was perfect for exploring this interesting town. It is very safe and friendly. This one’s a must do!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 702ValerieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Not often we came across a hotel that had such a lasting impression. Amangalla served more than a comfortable place for rest with friendly services, it had become an integral part of our Sri Lanka's experience.

My wife and I spent two nights in this lovely place where we felt "home". Great effort was made from the top team to every member for the personal interaction. Sean, the GM came to greet us on our first day, and a welcome note signed "Sean & the Amangalla family" resonated that message. While on the departure he and his team came to chat and see us leave in our car; this was like old friends.

There were a certain traits we found in the people working in this hotel - their smiles, the pursuit of excellence and their pride of representing the hotel.

Our butler Charith was fantastic. He's sharp, attentive, and had a nice sense of humour. His recommendation and arrangement to our itinerary were spot on - he understood. We enjoyed his company.

Danuka, who looked after breakfast at the courtyard, taught us the traditional way of eating string hoopers with our hand. He was courteous and attentive.

During dinner time, another waitstaff while taking our order, noticed that our table was slightly wobbly, he gave a discrete signal to another staff and in no time the table was fixed without fuss before we asked. That was clinical and set their service level apart.

The building was beautifully maintained to preserve the colonial past.This place could be as close as one could get to experience the grandeur of luxury travel of the yesteryears.

We had the private hydro-bath before breakfast and it was highly recommendated.

This place makes magical memories.

Room Tip: The Garden House (new wing) that comes with a private balcony overlooking the garden for space and privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tobeslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

We decided to stay here in order to chill out and relax in The heart of Galle
It was a great choice
The old colonial building is stunning
Don’t miss the sunset lounge
Our room, in new building , number31, was spacious, furnished with colonial and elegant style
The swimming pool is large for an city center hotel
The Bath is so pleasant
The entire team was so nice !
Thanks to them
We have had one dinner and the food was so good
Of course it s Aman so it s more expensive than the others hotel, but it s worth it, see that like an investment for your pleasure !

Stayed: August 2018
Thank ksarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews