We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rose Villa was great.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rose Villa

Your own private 5 star
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your own private 5 star
Indian ocean at your feet Magical evening
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Your own private 5 star
Indian ocean at your feet
Magical evening
Luxury and comfort assured
A home from home
Ocean terrace
Italian styled bathrooms
Relax among the palm trees
Elephants on the beach
Our wonderful beach looking south from the end of the villa
Private pool area
Luxury four poster beds with imported mattresses for added comfort
Large lounge area fully equip
Italian inspired bathroom
Lounge to pool area
Luxury interiors
Let us look after you
Entrance to Rose Villa
Welcome to paradise
Bathroom three robes providing for your comfort
Sunset from the the pool
Handmade kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Acebuy
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rose Villa was great.”
Reviewed 5 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family had one of our best vacations. The Rose Villa and staff are terrific. We normally like to eat out but the staff was fun and the food was good so we had dinners at the villa every night. The staff arranged for yoga and massages at the villa after we returned from days out.
The villa was in a sleepy fishing village that was in between many areas that offered some fun days from local shopping, diving, elephant riding, hiking, etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga_Tue
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“VERY SAFE, PEACEFUL AND RELAXING PLACE.”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at “Rose Villa” for 6 days in the beginning of September – and these 6 days were just lovely.
The owners of the villa (Anna and Dominic) are charming people and great hosts, caring for the comfort and respectful to the privacy of their guests. The villa is pretty spacious and cozy, clean and well-equipped; everything inside the house works properly (air-conditioners, ceiling fans, showers, kitchen fittings, video- and sound system, WiFi), and the beds are JUST AMAZING. But the best thing in the “Rose Villa” is a view from the living-room and veranda – a breathtaking view straight to the Indian Ocean with all its beauty and power. The beach in front of the villa is very nice too – it’s clean, safe to swim (if you won’t go too far from the shore, of course) and almost private, with rare fisherman walking by.
There is a staff of 4 people (a cleaning-lady, a night watcher, a cook and a driver) provided by the hosts to the guests of the “Rose Villa”, so that your stay there would be absolutely restful and totally careless.
Dom and Anna, thank you for such a wonderful holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbeatable!”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Second visit to this group of properties - the other being Monstone Villa next door but one. Everything about the place is 5 star. The villa is beautifully appointed with all the comforts of home and more. Meticuloulsy clean inside and out ther is no better place to stay in Sri Lanka in my opinion. Staff are fabuolous and will look after guests like family. Wonderful and can't wait to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why stay in a 5* hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at Rose Villa for just over a week. I have never reviewed accommodation before and have travelled for years but the fond memories Rose Villa have left me with, have compelled me to do so.
It is set beautifully on a private beach just outside Galle and it ticked all the boxes for us with a young family. The garden and pool were ideal for lounging and for our daughter to play and splash. The house itself is exquisite and furnished to a very high standard. This is one of those occasions when the photos are actually what you find. The staff were excellent in every possible way and made our stay, with no request being too much. The chef which the villa offers is REALLY good. We ate almost every breakfast, lunch and dinner in house as the quality was so high and the prices were so competitive. For me this was as I stay everything I would expect in a 5* hotel but it is a Villa and means there are far more pluses in my book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the Villa and it's furnishings
Liked least: I really can't fault it
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Villa in an Exotic Setting”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautifully decorated, spacious Villa with well appointed rooms and a fully equipped kitchen. There is a lovely pool and garden area, the garden gate opening onto a stunning beach with crashing surf and picturesque walks, we even helped the local fisherman haul in their nets!

Security and Domestic staff were friendly and attentive with Sylvia producing a tasty breakfast each day, one regret is that we did not have enough time to book an afternoon cookery lesson and trip to the market with her, hopefully next time. (At one point there was a slight problem with the Air Conditioning System which was fixed within an hour of being reported).

Our daughter is 10 years old and found the Villa facilities very impressive, with board games in the lounge area, her own very grown up bathroom and, especially in the evening if our conversation bored her, English speaking channels on the TV with plenty of films to choose from.

The location of the Villa is convenient for both Galle in one direction and Hikkaduwa in the other both 10 / 15 minutes by Tuk-tuk. We enjoyed several trips organised by the host, the river trip in particular was very basic but fascinating, friendly and not to be missed!

Despite the opulent furniture and exotic setting the Villa felt very much like a home to be lived in and enjoyed, somewhere to relax with family and friends.

We enjoyed our stay and will be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Speed with which we felt at home
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing