We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Galle Fort
More Info
Reviews (3,544)
Filter reviews
3,544 results
Traveller rating
1,871
1,323
302
39
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,871
1,323
302
39
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka nice walk world heritage site narrow streets shops and restaurants must visit place few hours historical place cricket ground tuk tuk dutch architecture old town fort walls sea ramparts portuguese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,335 - 1,340 of 3,544 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016

To make the Fort come alive, hire the services of a local guide... they will explain about the history of the Fort, Galle itself, the Portuguese, the Dutch and then of course the British. On the walk ways you can still find pieces of old pottery, clay pipes and other remnants of bygone era's. The canon holders and guides are still in situ.

The streets are full of character and a guide will be allowed access to some of the older inns or hotels to sow you the architecture. There are churches, shrines, temples and mosques. Also look over Galle International Cricket Ground.

Well worth a visit

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2016

If you are in Galle don't miss this attraction. It is worth to spend a few hours strolling around the fort and knowing the history, nice shops, mosques, church and restaurants. I wish we had more time.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank rukie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Definately worth a look. Try to avoid the gem shops as it may potentially be a scam. Don't be weary to negotiate and if you are unsure, trust your instict and rather not buy anything as they can be forcefull. Enjoy the old fort and have a good.lunch at Tuk Tuk in a minute.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank MelanyD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Galle fort were a small old Portuguese fort town that was reinforced by the Dutch. It ended by in British hand when Holland lost to in a war to France.

A must visit if you are like colonial history and architecture. I say stay a night in town but check in the daytime so that you get to see the sunset over the lighthouses over the sea. And booked yourself a nice dinner at one of the many old dutch houses converted into dining places.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

The fort area is defiantly worth visiting if you are interested in colonial history. It has some fantastic examples of Dutch and English colonial architecture. My suggestion is stay in the fort area get up very early and wander around before the tourist buses arrive I even saw wild peacocks wandering the streets. The locals are very friendly. Would be great if they band cars in the inner lanes and streets as they do in Hoi An in Vietnam.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank MarkB501
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews