We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Deco On 44(Galle)
USD 100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 100
USD 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 275
USD 267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 308
USD 145
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 295
USD 60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 180
USD 166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortaleza(Galle)
USD 170
USD 142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 179
USD 164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 278
USD 216
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,967)
Filter reviews
1,967 results
Traveller rating
1,182
547
164
42
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,182
547
164
42
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson the rocksindian oceancinnamon roomgeoffrey bawasri lankamain restaurantwaves crashingset menubuffet styleoverlooking the oceanbeautiful hotelhalf boardnew wingtuk tuka la carte menudeluxe roomrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 1,967 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018

I had always wanted to stay at the lighthouse since this hotel had kindly provided lunch for a group I was working with from the Apollo Hospital after the tsunami on our way back to Colombo.
The wonderful outlook from the dining area out onto the rocks was one good memory I took back from that tragic time .
My wife and i stayed with my cousin and her partner and we were both keen to stay at another Geoffrey Bawa establishment .Many years before we had stayed at his hotels in Ahungalla and Kandalama.
We werent disappointed in the lovely rooms all with views out over the water and large and comfortable if slightly dated bathrooms
The service was impeccable and the staff very friendly and obliging and the dinner was a good variety of buffet as was the breakfast with a good selection of both western and sri-lankan food .
My test is always the egg hoppas ,breakfast curry and the curd and treacle and all passed muster

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dlgrant2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Jetwing Lighthouse on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you were able to visit us again to better enjoy our many facilities. Thank you for your kind words towards our rooms, views and most importantly for our associates. We are delighted to know that you received an impeccable service while vacationing with us.
Having enjoyed the many facilities and comforts of Jetwing Lighthouse we hope to see you again soon for yet another memorable and relaxing holiday.

Ayubowan!


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

A friendly welcome. Friendly staff in pool bar and main restaurant.

Nice large room overlooking pool and beach. Nice to have fresh fruit and tea and coffee in room, and bottled water replaced daily. Separate bath with candle! Nice large shower.

Delicious breakfast and fantastic selection to suit all diets.

It would be helpful if the menus included tax as this plus service always get added on. This seems to be standard practice in many of the hotels, so Jetwing isn't alone with quoting a net price.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G_and_S_herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Lighthouse at Galle Sri Lanka.

We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for complementing our associates as they truly appreciate it and it is certainly their highest encouragement.

Please know that the exact percentage of the government taxes are not indicated only because it tends to fluctuate quite often. We are sorry if this caused confusion to you.

Thank you for staying with us and for recommending Jetwing Lighthouse to fellow TripAdvisor reviewers. We hope to see you again soon for yet another memorable stay.

Ayubowan

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

This is supposedly a 5 star hotel and, to our mind, to achieve that status one would expect luxury accommodation with staff service of an extremely high standard. Sadly, that was not quite the case.

The hotel itself is situated in a wonderful location right on the cliff edge with glorious views out over the ocean. The first thing you will notice when entering the hotel is the fabulous staircase which is worth a view photos in it's own right. Our room was spacious and clean with a large comfortable bed. The terrace outside the room afforded lovely views but it was difficult to open the doors to access the terrace and took some effort both to open and close them. Although the room was very nice it certainly didn't fall into the 'luxury' category and was no better than other lower rated hotels we had stayed at in Sri Lanka.
The bathroom was also of a decent size and clean and tidy although there didn't seem to be much point in having locks on the shower and toilet when they were glass-fronted and any occupants were visible anyway. Bathrobes are provided and a safe is always a welcome bonus.

The hotel does seem to cater for school parties - there were two during the three nights we stayed here - and whilst this isn't a big deal there are occasions when the peace and quiet can be shattered by excited children, particularly when they all descend on the restaurant at once.

As previously mentioned, the views from the hotel are special, particularly the spectacular sunsets if the weather is clear, and it is a treat to sit out in the warm evening with a drink in hand watching this happen.

Unfortunately we have to say that we felt somewhat let down by the standard of service which should have been impeccable for a hotel claiming 5 stars :-
1. We only had one bath towel for the two of us - still, that was a bonus as others in our party had none at all. How basic is that ?
2. Twice we requested early morning wake up calls - we are still waiting ! Others in our party also failed to get their calls.
3. We ordered packed breakfasts and when we went to collect them was told our driver already had them - no, he hadn't !
4. Staff were slow in replacing food in the buffet that had run out to the extent that some of us just gave up waiting.
5. When we had a set meal staff had no idea who had ordered what and were running up and down tables with meals trying to find the right person to serve.
6. Cash we left in the room had disappeared when we came back from breakfast. Okay, this was going to be left for the room service staff anyway but it was a bit presumptuous for it to be taken before we'd even vacated the room. How did they know it was for them ?
7. On leaving we were asked to pay for items taken from the mini-bar. We hadn't even opened the mini-bar the whole time we had been there so this was nonsense.

Perhaps we were just unlucky with the service we received but it certainly fell well short of our expectations. Such a shame as this really could be somewhere special but at the moment it falls short of what we would consider to be five star accommodation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Mr. Tillard,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review subsequent to your recent stay with us.

We are deeply saddened in reading your review. We cannot begin to express our disappointment in knowing you and the rest of your party had endured many inconveniences while vacationing with us. Clearly we have failed to achieve our usual standards when you visited us and for this we are ever so regretful. We are aware that anyone who decides to stay with us is expecting the usual high standards of service that Jetwing is known for. Knowing that you in turn had to face this many inconveniences truly distraught us.

All senior managers of each department were called in for a meeting where we have discussed your feedback in detail. Rest assured we take your review very seriously and action has already been taken for immediate rectification.

It is very kind of you to have taken the time to post this lengthy review of feedback so that the management is aware and is given the opportunity to improve ourselves.

Please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you have faced when staying with us. We have taken your comments to heart for instant reorganization.

We hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting us again as we would love the opportunity to show you the true worth of the resort.

Ayubowan

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Beautifully furnished room with a west-facing balcony from which you can watch the sun setting over the Indian Ocean.

Poolside snacks and drinks were good and reasonably priced, although food took a little while to arrive as it was prepared in the main kitchen and walked over.

We found the pool itself to be a little tatty, and used as a bird-bath at certain times of day by the many crows who bathed themselves on the of the pool. We were able to also use the Club pool which is longer and deeper and less busy - better suited to swimming a few lengths.

The only thing that reduced the score from a 5 to a 4 was the quality and variety of the food on offer in the evening buffet which we found disappointing. The other negative for us was the large number of noisy coach parties that book the hotel - only a problem at meal times, not around the hotel grounds.

The a la carte however was excellent, as was the breakfast buffet and the friendly service that we received.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Mr. Pete,

Thank you for reviewing Jetwing Lighthouse on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you found the drinks and snacks at our poolside restaurants to be reasonably priced and of good quality. However we are sorry to know that it took a while for the order to be presented. We have brought your concern to our executive chef in order to find a solution for this and thereby offer a quicker service to our guests.

It is disappointing to know that you found our pool to be tatty. The relevant managers have been informed of this for immediate rectification. It is however pleasing to know that the Club pool was to your liking.

We are truly regretful to know that you found the quality and variety of food made available at our dinner buffets to be unsatisfactory. Your most valuable feedback has been shared with our Executive Chef for immediate rectification. We are also sorry to know that groups who visit the resort for meals were a disturbance to you.

Thank you for your kind words towards the a la carte menu, breakfast buffet and most importantly the friendly service which you had received.

We thank you yet again for taking the time to share your feedback with us and allowing us to better ourselves. We hope that you will visit us again for yet another relaxing vacation.


Ayubowan


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights to finish our holiday in Sri Lanka. After touring around the island this was the perfect location to relax.
Nestled on the ocean the hotel is designed by Geoffrey Bawa. The magnificent staircase is what greets you on arrival and is simply stunning.
We stayed in the Spilbergen Suite which was equally magnificent. Very spacious and luxurious accommodation with a large balcony with unobstructed views of the sea.
The staff though are what really made the stay so enjoyable. They were lead by General Manager Priyanthika Wijenaike.
Special mention must be made of our room attendant Sameera. He was an absolute joy and greeted us each day with a beaming smile and genuine attentive customer service.
The food whether buffet or a la carte was superbly presented and delicious and the poolside dining options were also first class.
Great pool areas, the larger of the two overlooking the sea and once again attended by attentive staff.
The General Manager must take credit for leading such a fantastic team of staff.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Huntershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review following your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse at Galle. I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your vacation with us, experiencing the comfortable rooms and indulging in our various cuisines carefully prepared by our own culinary experts.

At Jetwing Hotels we greatly value guest feedback as we constantly strive to maintain the highest level of service.
It is very encouraging to know that you were overall satisfied with our services and products.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us the opportunity to serve you. It was a delight to have you as our guest.
We at Jetwing Lighthouse always do our best to make sure our guests feel comfortable and well looked after by providing personalized service as per individual requirements of each guest. It is humbling to know that you felt my leaderships of the team is driven well. Your words are a source of encouragement which I will always treasure and take to heart, thank you.

Having indulged in our unique Jetwing hospitality, we do hope you will return for yet another memorable stay.

Thank you for your patronage!

Ayubowan

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews