We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Deco On 44(Galle)
USD 100
USD 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortaleza(Galle)
USD 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 100
USD 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 334
USD 296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 179
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
597
118
28
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
118
28
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspet rabbitssri lankatuk tukgalle fortprivate gardenbeautiful hotelboutique hotelcolonial stylespecial thankssurrounded by treesrooms are hugecentral courtyardswimming poolthe general managerold world charmhotel staffnice pool
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Hotel Tamarind hill was amazing and I stayed last month with my wife for our anniversary celebration. Staff were brilliant and they had done nice job by decorating our Bed with flowers and linen arts which make her extra surprised.

We were on HB basis and enjoyed yummy and heavy breakfast with clean and friendly atmosphere. Rooms are really nice as they have converted dutch stylish house as modern boutique villa and the rates are OK and good value for money. As we are Sri Lankans, some other hotels' staffs with funny EGO which we don't accept and here all the staff were doing great job and special thank for their GM, Nihal for his special attention in detail and nice and romantic arrangements for our anniversary dinner.

Definitely we will come back and recommending to all who are planning to see the colonial dutch city Galle, stay here... its Great to be here.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NalakaJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiaLeisureLk, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Nalaka,

Thank you for choosing Asia Leisure hotels and we really appreciate your wonderful remarks about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the colonial nature of Tamarind Hill. And we are overjoyed to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel. Even more we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and exceptional services too.

It is indeed a pleasure to accommodate you and your wife and we were more than happy to serve you up to our best. We are glad that you decided to spend such a special day as your anniversary at our hotel and we were delighted to hear that we succeeded at making everything romantic and memorable. Shall share your comments with our team members which goes a long way to continuing their good work in future.
We always try to make the stay of our guest special and glad to hear we reached it. Thank you once again for your compliments and recommending us and we really look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

This converted colonial home makes for a beautiful boutique hotel. The rooms were most special feature. They are generous in proportion and well appointed. The pool is also perfect. However, given the price you pay there is certainly room for improvement. It is outside the Galle Fort, the main tourist area, so it is not in a prime location. The breakfasts are wonderful but costly. The dinners, particularly the Western food, was not up to the standard we had at other hotels. The service was good but not great. The spa was absolutely terrible. I was not expecting the worst massage I have ever had from a masseuse who is clearly an untrained masseuse. I was terribly disappointed in their lack of driver accommodation. Most hotels of this price will include driver accomodation but we were required to pay an additional fee for him to stay offsite and there were restrictions on the times when he could have his meals. I appreciate what this hotel is trying to achieve, but it is certainly overpriced for what it offers.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EatPartyLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiaLeisureLk, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Asia Leisure hotels and we really appreciate your valuable feedback. We are glad that you liked the Colonial nature of Tamarind Hill. We are so happy that you like our premises including pool and all.

We discussed your comments with our team, and we are truly sorry we did not uphold the standards of food and service excellence we pride ourselves on. We sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations this time round. We will look into further improving our hotel regarding all the comments you have stated.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us. We hope that we will have chance to welcome you back again and recover your impression of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

This hotel is situated a little off the busy coastal road that runs out of Galle.You drive in from the usual Sri Lankan traffic mayhem and the hotel is very much 'an oasis of calm'. The old house is lovely with a range of public rooms beautifully furnished. At the back is a large 'cloistered quad' where the rooms are located. These are beautifully appointed - but with some niggles. Why no shelf in the shower area for shower gel etc? Why no bath mats - needed with the 'wet room' design of the shower?
Dining at the hotel was either in an air-conditioned room or sitting at tables on one side of the cloisters. The latter location sometimes attracted the attention of a lot of pesky flies! The food was well presented and generally good. However, the staff at the hotel were perhaps as not well trained and confident as one would expect of a high class 'boutique' hotel. Although they tried hard, I'm not sure that most of the staff understood how to engage with hotel guests - not helped by shaky English in some cases. It would be usual in a small hotel of this kind for someone to welcome guests properly, engage with them while at the hotel and 'see them off' at the end of their stay. It wasn't clear whi should have been doing this - but it didn't happen. Overall the hotel was a really nice place to stay - and with a bit more attention to detail and staff training could have got a 5 star rating. Room for improvement!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DeeJ158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiaLeisureLk, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Asia Leisure hotels and we really appreciate your valuable feedback. We are glad that you liked the Colonial nature of Tamarind Hill.

We discussed your comments with our team, and we are truly sorry we did not uphold the standards of detailed perfection and service excellence we pride ourselves on. We sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations this time round. We will look into further improving our hotel regarding all the comments you have stated.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us. We hope that we will have chance to welcome you back again and recover your impression of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Tamarind Hill has so much potential but fails in so many small ways that you end up being slightly disappointed. Firstly, these comments are made in light of the fact that this is not a cheap place to stay in February with prices around US$300 per night by the time service charges and taxes are taken into account. To put this in context there are some fantastic hotels in Sydney, London, Paris New York etc etc where for this amount of money you can stay in a fabulous hotel.

The positives are the buildings, the pool area, the rooms and the generally relaxing nature of the place. With abundant wildlife in the immediate surrounds you can enjoy breakfast with wild peacocks, monkeys, squirrels and all sorts of bird life. There are numerous staff and they do their best to help.

Herein lies the issue – no amount of staff make up for a lack of training and none of the staff appear to have any idea about the food and drinks they are serving to their customers nor the expectations the guests might expect - this is where Tamarind Hill misses the point. Some examples to explain
• At our first breakfast we were presented with the breakfast menu. My wife went to order the Sri Lankan breakfast only to be told that she couldn’t have this because she hadn’t ordered it the night before. We told the waiter that no one had explained this when we checked in the day before but there was nothing to be done and no Sri Lankan breakfast was available and he said very sorry but not his fault……….. There was no note in the room or the guest info book to advise you of this either.
• The western breakfast offers a pastry basket – management needs to look up in a dictionary the definition of “a pastry basket” as clearly they have no idea. A few slices of untoasted white sliced bread with some strange bits of puff pastry
• On our first night we ordered a gin and tonic at the bar. The local tonic was woeful – more like mouthwash than tonic – I asked if they had other tonics like schweppes tonic and the bar man said no. We were therefore somewhat surprised to find that in our mini bar there were 2 cans of schweppes tonic so the next day I questioned the bar man on this and his response was that there were 2 different companies involved and he could not sell Schweppes tonic regardless of the fact that the tonic he did serve ruined the drink it was designed to go with. Management have got a serious problem with this sort of thinking…
• The amenities in the rooms were great and shower gel and shampoo came in quaint triangular shaped porcelain bottles. However if you don’t replace / refill the bottles then they run out. Surely this is a basic task for the room service crew every day – but not at Tamarind Hill
• The towels in the rooms were once white. They are now an off white / grey colour. Ours always appeared to look like they needed to be washed again. I get that keeping towels white may be difficult but wouldn’t it make sense to use a different colour and create the appearance at least of the rooms having nice clean fresh towels – it’s the little things that leave a lasting impression – Again one day they cleaned the room and only replaced one bath towel. It’s just not that hard to replace two bath towels and two hand towels every day and make sure this happens – but it is apparently at Tamarind Hill
• Likewise the table cloths which had seen too many red wine spills and needed to be replaced
Tamarind Hill seems unsure of its target market. The lunch / dinner / room service menu is really disappointing and as a result other than for breakfast, the only time we ate there was on our last night before heading to the airport. We found it strange that there were more Thai items on the menu than Sri Lankan food. The menu had pasta, pizza, burgers that I just don’t understand why you would serve up such fare when the local food is so abundantly available and more pleasant. By all means have a few western sidelines but at least have a core local menu. The chicken burger came with a processed pattie – why oh why would you do that when chicken is abundantly and cheaply available? If you wanted a red wine, I’m not sure of how all of the wines were cellared however it always concerns me in hot countries to see bottles of red wine standing around in displays on shelves – just how off will these be by the time they get to the glass?
Tamarind Hill should send someone over to the Sun House in Galle to have a look at what they could achieve and how they could present a menu. The food there was magnificent as was the service and they wisely offered two options when it came to tonic – the local version or with schweppes at a premium price. The bar man told me that he didn’t sell much local toinc. No surprises there.

Tamarind Hill is a fabulous place ruined by the lack of investment by management in staff training and in presenting fare that is worthy of the price tag of the hotel. Given the abundance of alternatives available you would do well to check out other places than be underwhelmed by the overall offering available here. If you stay here go out for your meals and bring your own tonic. The Sun House in Galle has a similar ambiance, facilities, is around the same price but knows what it is doing.
We get that none of the staff have likely ever drunk a gin and tonic, drink red wine, eaten much western food and therefore they have little or no idea about what they are serving. Having said that there was never anyone from management or who appeared to be from management to oversee the staff, to coach, mentor and train the staff. What the place needs is a good hotel/restaurant consultant to do a Tamarind Hill make over and turn it into what it could so easily be, which is a fabulous place to stay with a great menu and drinks list.

Room Tip: Don't eat here - go out for lunch and dinner
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

As others have said this is a beautiful hotel. Rooms are organised around a central courtyard. Breakfast is great. I ate dinner a couple of times and was also impressed. You can easily pick up a tuk tuk on the main road to take you into Galle or the beach. Enjoyed every minute of it.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank 71sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiaLeisureLk, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Pina,

Thank you for choosing Asia Leisure hotels and we really appreciate your wonderful remarks about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful nature of Tamarind Hill. Even more we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and services as well.
We really look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews