We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An idyllic retreat away from the madding crowd”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Breakfast Bar
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JacquiTha...
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An idyllic retreat away from the madding crowd”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend a wonderful few days in this idyllic retreat. The house is very modern and stylish, but also very warm and welcoming, as are the local staff who produced wonderful breakfasts and, on request, delicious curry dinners. The property is kept spotless - not a cobweb or speck of dust in sight anywhere. The outlook on to the beach and a gloriously wild ocean is spectacular. It's also ideally located close to the town and railway station. We arrived by train from Colombo and it's just a short, cheap taxi ride from there. When it came time to leave, we were very reluctant to go. We could have spent many more lovely days there. I can't recommend it enough.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2017
Thank you Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Relaxed and cozy atmosphere by the beach”
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I went there with a group of colleagues and just loved it from the moment we stepped in. The villa looks very discreet from the outside and once in, it's as if you enter this place that just keeps extending. We didn't expect that. The entire house was built recently, run by a British family and all in all, they have made good use of the limited plot space. A 3 storied building, we explored the villa and loved it when we were able to get to the beach for a nightly stroll on the waves. Just loved it. The room was spacious, airy and very comfortable. Probably the complimentary tea setting could have been upgraded a bit because it looked a bit tacky when placed inside that lovely bedroom. But, that wasn't a big deal. It rained a bit on the night we spent there and with the large windows that we left open in the lounge area, the air was soothing enough we could have literally fallen asleep right there, on the floor! The hosts were very nice and attentive and were there to assist us with meals. Overall, enjoyed the stay very much and can't wait to go there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony facing the beach and easy access to the beach itself.
Liked least: Doorless bathroom. If alone or with partner wouldn't be an issue but don't know how a family with children, especially daughters would adapt to that. Locals might find it a bit awkward? Otherwise, not an issue really. Just a comment.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzieall...
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restful Holiday”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this house. We were catching up with our two grownup children (19 and 21) after uni and our son's year out. It was the perfect space for us. Right on the beach - dramatic waves crashing a few metres from the door. We did yoga each morning on the terrace. My daughter's friend came too and there was plenty of space as it is huge. Also v stylish. And came with a sweet-natured cook who made us excellent breakfasts and curries in the evening when we wanted them. We will definitely go back. It's close to Galle where there is history and restaurants and culture (night life) and also near great swimming beaches. The only downside is that it's on the main beach road (all beach houses seem to be). Sri Lankan traffic is quite chaotic and you could hear it in the upstairs suite which had parts exposed to the open air. This was too noisy for my husband and I so we had to move down a floor. (There are 3 floors). But the middle level is made from solid concrete and the only sound you can hear is the waves). The family who own it are British and work with a charity out there. They were really helpful and arranged loads of stuff for us. We went up to Kandy after which was amazing. Really memorable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being right on the beach
Liked least: Road a bit noisy from the top floor.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thank you Lizzie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommend!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Modern villa backing onto idyllic beach. This villa is perfectly located for a restful get-away but is also moments away from the busy town-center.

Positioned a stone's throw away from a 5-star resort along the same beach.

The villa has a modern/classic and spacious layout with private pool and garden area. Very safe with CCTV to the front and rear of the property.

The chef (who doubles as a security guard) creates delicious meals with fresh local produce - healthy and moreish!

A true gem.

Highly recommend!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you for staying with us we are really pleased you enjoyed our paradise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing