We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 168
USD 137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fortaleza(Galle)
Free cancellation until 21/07
USD 189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 203
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Deco On 44(Galle)
USD 100
USD 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kikili House(Galle)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 116
USD 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 90
USD 82
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 220
USD 208
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 331
USD 253
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 176
USD 170
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
24
26
11
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
26
11
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnarrow staircaseeggs to orderrotistayed here for one nightlocation was perfectsri lankastay there againstayed longervisit gallemosquito nettwo nightsbathtubpapayafortaccurtainspillows
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

I’d probably have rated this place 2 but for the friendly staff, and especially the older chap who served breakfast in the morning. The room is basic and tatty, and not what one would reasonably expect for the price and in a town where most establishments put some effort into blending their premises with their historic surroundings. The breakfast is great, but the general food menu is very limited, and hardly has a ‘local’ feel to it - surprising, because the eating segment of the business seems quite well patronised. The hospitality industry isn’t just about acquiring some premises and raking money in...

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

The staff at Secret Garden were friendly and super welcoming. Checking in was prompt and fuss-free. Our room was bigger than we expected (2-storeys) and the bathroom was hugeee. We would have prefer if the curtains are less translucent for our bedroom that was located on the ground floor.
One of the staff also kindly prepared biscuits and fruits for us when he knew we needed to check out at 3am to leave for Yala National Park. We really appreciate his kind gesture.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YXQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

We found it on tripadvisor and decided to book even with the recent bad reviews. It is a bit of a quirky hotel in terms of layout. But the staff is helpful and friendly.

My partner was not feeling good after a very bumpy train ride from Colombo, they greeted us warmly and made a room ready for us quickly. Andrè is great and helpful.

In general the quality of the food is average. The included breakfasts are huge and you don’t want to miss out.

The staff to have our laundry done and arranged for an onward taxi for us.

The location couldn’t be better, located right in the heart of Galle Fort it is very easy to walk to any destination.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AshishGuptasfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed only 1 night here but we wish we could have stayed longer.
The little hotel is very nice and originally was a private house and they convert into a guesthouse. They have a bar where they serve the breakfast which was delicious (lots of fruits) and also greeted us with a welcome drink (coconut water).
Toshi and Andrew (2 of the member staff) are awesome (all the staff is actually). And they accept credit cards.
Highly recommended place !

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

We chose Secret Garden Fort as it had an 8.9 rating on Trip Advisor and we believed the very selective photos shown were an accurate portrayal of the place. We were wrong.
We booked the ‘Deluxe Double with Balcony’ (room 3) for 4 nights. There was no balcony as such. Grubby and cracked windows could be folded back to expose a fold in wooden seating arrangement attached to a wooden railing.
The paintwork in the room was old and dirty with mould on the walls especially in the bathroom where the grout in the shower area was black. There was a new basin, a close up photo of which was in the advertising information, but the walls, tiles and paintwork were in a disgusting condition having not been maintained.
The electrics were hazardous with the square pin adaptor supplied plugged into the round pin plug socket by way of a two pin plug and a piece of wood in the Earth pin. This arrangement caused the socket to crackle and when a member or staff came to address our concerns following power failure, a crack and bright spark caused him to recoil in apparent alarm.
Chipped tiles and dirty paintwork were evident everywhere.
Access to the hotel is down an alleyway which also doubles as the eating area. Access to the rooms is via difficult to navigate spiral stairs.
The only positives for the Secret Garden Fort that we could see were an efficient air conditioning unit in the room and an adequate breakfast.
We assume the 8.9 rating comes from the food and drink supplied by this establishment, certainly not the accommodation if Room 3 is anything to go by.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wendymick2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews