We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely amazing!”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Five
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Five
The entrance at Villa Five The Entrance and stair case to the suites and to the left for expansive, living, dining areas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Villa Five
The entrance at Villa Five
The Entrance and stair case to the suites and to the left for expansive, living, dining areas
A place to come, sit, read a book or take a nap in these oversized chairs
The pool from the entrance, the walkway to the right to the beach
looking back to Villa Five from the pool and beach entrance
The pool, chillout area and second dining area
Villa Five pool
The oversized lounges by the pool
The magnificent atrium and entrance by night
Villa Five at night
Villa Five at night
Villa Five pool changes colour at night.  Spectacular
Our protected beach
The view from the Koththamalli Suite
Terrace Views
The large bathroom in the Kurundu Suite
The handmade bath in the Kurundu Suite
The bathroom in the Maduru Suite
The Bathroom in the Suduru Suite
Delicious fresh breakfast included for up to 10 adults each morning
The view from the Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lara123ha...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a place! Everything has been thought of here, staff are amazing, food quality and choice extensive and beautiful interiors.
The villa was beyond expectations, with HUGE rooms and bathrooms, masses of outdoor space, DIRECT access onto the beach and close to restaurants, bars etc.
Cannot recommend this place enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Hi Lara, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We are so blessed to have an amazing team and this seems to be consistent feeback with all our guests.

Get another group together and escape to serendipity soon!

Istuti (thank you) and smiles
Danielle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizziekc
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Private Beach Front Luxury”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Villa Five is situated on a gorgeous and semi-secluded stretch of tropical paradise.

Each suite is spacious and well designed with plush linens, airy bathrooms and wide views of palms and ocean. Individually, they are wonderful, but the house is best enjoyed by a group. As a group of six adults, there was the prefect combination of plenty of privacy and great space for entertaining.

Everything you could possibly want was arranged by the staff we affectionately nicknamed "the ninjas." They had an amazing ability to read minds, predict everyone's needs and then disappear. The food was the best we had during our trip.

The only small drawback was some street noise, but it seems like almost every property is situated along the main road into Galle. The upside - tuk tuks were easy and the trip into town was very quick and easy.

Can't wait to visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2017
Hi Lizzie

Matt and I are so happy to hear that you all enjoyed your stay at Villa Five. Love the nickname of the staff ;). They are pretty special and as I say in all my responses, we are truly blessed to have this fabulous team and an awesome chef!

Unfortunately, unless you head to hills which will as you know takes you away from the beach and the sound of the ocean, there will be the occasional street noise in this incredibly popular part of Sri Lanka.

We value your feedback and sincerely appreciate the time taken to write the review.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again soon!

Smiles and Istuti (Thank you)
Danielle and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zutaloo
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa with Amazing Beach Access and Amenities”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Our group of 6 adults and 6 small children (age 2-5y) booked the whole villa for a week-long getaway in late January. Communication prior to booking, during our stay and afterwards was stellar. Our questions were answered in a timely manner, we were given useful tips and the staff was able to help us with coordinating transportation bookings. Our late night flight was delayed and arrived in the middle of the night. But the villa staff was awake and had the everything prepared for us: cool hand towels, welcome drinks and more importantly, the bedrooms prepped and air-conditioned so we could get the unhappy kids to bed as soon as possible. It was 2 or 3 a.m. when we arrived at the villa and it was a welcome sight!

The villa itself is stunning. High ceilings, quality furnishings and a lot of attention to detail. Drying racks for wet beach wear, various toiletries, beach towels, conveniently located USB ports and power outlets, etc. Each bedroom had in-suite bathrooms, fans, powerful air conditioners and mosquito nets. This is a luxury villa with the perks of a personal chef and manager to arrange travel and tours. The staff was pleasant and accommodating.

We enjoyed having breakfast each morning and taking dips in the pool. The staff is around to tidy up and refresh the rooms each day. Most evenings, they close the doors in the bedrooms and lanai to minimize mosquitos. Having a chef in-house was convenient for meals and snacks; With so many small children on different schedules, this was a big factor in making our time at the villa truly enjoyable and leisurely. One suggestion would be to update the board announcing the daily dessert - the entire time of our stay, the placard did not change, and to replenish the washroom toiletries every few days.

The location of the villa was the icing on the cake. A protected lagoon is a few minutes stroll on the beach. During low tide, the children enjoyed exploring the rocks and small pools of water and when the tide rose, adults could take turns snorkeling and swimming. Nearby and further down are beach front entrances to other hotels and restaurants. The villa is close enough to visit restaurants via a short tuk-tuk ride but also remote enough to ensure tranquility and privacy.

One of our highly organized friends pre-booked most of our activities prior to our arrival to Sri Lanka. The staff at the villa offered to book tours and activities, and our friend politely declined and informed him she had already made arrangements. She reported that the staff member seemed annoyed and felt the level of service deteriorated a bit after that encounter. There were a few instances which seemed to support her feeling, such as rooms not being turned down for the evening, etc. but these issues could have been small unintentional oversights as well.

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Five and would highly recommend it to anyone searching for a place to stay on the southern coast. Thank you for accommodating our group and making our visit to Sri Lanka a memorable experience!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Hello and thanks so much for the wonderful review.

As the owner of Villa Five and the contact prior to arrival, I do like to ensure that our guests are all set for a relaxing stay prior to their arrival. Great to hear you were happy with the pre arrival information and service. Thanks!

We are very proud of our staff. They work very hard and always try to go the extra mile, especially with children and the different meal and time schedules. So great to hear you were happy with their service.

We always like to know where we can improve, so thanks for the feedback regarding the replenishing of the toiletries and closing of the suites at dusk! This entire review has been passed onto the team.

Thanks again for the wonderful review and feedback, we do hope you visit us at Villa Five again soon.

smiles
Danielle and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luzmuz
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“paradise”
Reviewed 11 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

one of our greatest experiences in sri lanka was staying at Villa 5. The villa design and rooms were incredible including the swimming pool and copious amounts of space for us to relax. furthermore we appreciated very much the expereince of the culinary delights of the chef, which was one of the most memorable moments, curry dreams came true!! be sure to ask for the curry and the amazing chocolate brownies!! The rooms were super clean, big, comfortable, with AC and breathtaking view!!!

we were so sad to leave after this 5 holy days!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2017
Hello from Sri Lanka,
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that Villa Five was everything you had dreamed of!
We are indeed very lucky to have such an amazing team and yes Chef's curry is pretty amazing, as are the brownies!
We are so happy to hear that you had 5 "holy days"
warmest regards
Danielle and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Absolute bliss in an exquisite beachfront villa”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Villa Five was so much more than we imagined.... from the sound of the surf to the superbly spacious luxury bedrooms and multiple living areas, to the wonderful attentive caring staff ... our 5 days were fantastic.
Having the option to walk 1 minute to a safe lagoon to swim was a real plus. The outdoor dining and living areas made having a group perfect and the chef on site was a dream.
Perfect for a few families or for a romantic get away I cannot recommend the beautiful villa enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Villa facilities, surrounds and staff
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Hello Bronwyn,

Thanks for your wonderful review. Sincerely appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Villa Five and in Serendipity (aka Sri Lanka).

The walk to the lagoon in itself is breathtaking indeed, however the lagoon is something else. We love how at different times of the day and year, the lagoon offers different looks with tides etc, yet still remains a safe place for families to relax in safety. And as for the sunset....has to be seen to believed!

We are very fortunate to have a great chef on board offering a menu that is reasonable and always fresh. Great to hear your enjoyed the meals.

Once again we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we do look forward to you visiting Villa Five again one day.

warmest regards
Matt and Danielle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing