We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Cheomseongdae Observatory
from USD 120.00
More Info
from USD 160.00
More Info
from USD 834.00
More Info
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
48
65
70
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
65
70
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east asia anapji pond flower garden recent earthquake small building stone tower from afar lit up at night short stop doesn t tomb complex admission fee taking photos historical sites surrounding area visit gyeongju tumuli park
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 196 reviews
Reviewed today

I wasn't sure how interesting Cheomseongdae would be for me, but it was close to some other things we were visiting so we went for a quick look. The tower is really beautiful in person, especially at night when it's lit up. It really is an interesting piece of history and it's an important symbol for Gyeongju, so it was nice to see it in person. It's a cool landmark to spot from a distance when travelling around the city.

Thank Sarah53187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

Our guide was not able to park along the road to visit the observatory, but I was able to take a photo only from afar. There were lots of tourists and cars, so I was able to stay and take photos from afar only for 10 minutes or so with my family. But along the road, there were colorful flowers and the violet colored weed-like plant (Muhlenbergia Capillaris). It was very beutiful, the first time I saw such a plant in all my travels.

Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a historic star gazing tower built in 7th century by Queen Seondeok. It is probably the oldest star gazing tower in East Asia. Worth a visit!

Thank Mornings6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Walk through the park which at the right time of year has beautiful lotus flowers. Doesn't take long. I suppose if you are into this sort of thing then you will enjoy

Thank secretary369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The building itself is very unique in shape and definitely is an important part of Korean history. More could have been placed at the site to explain the significance and some of the resulting discoveries. Otherwise, all you have is a cool looking building.

Thank jfurukaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wasn't overly impressed with the visual of this place but the reason behind it being built is quite amazing! If you are visiting the tomb mounds then by all means walk by the observatory.

Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

You can’t really miss this ancient observatory when you visit Gyeongju. Make sure you visit it both during the day and in the evening (before nine) because it looks quite different

Thank hankido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

It is what it is........a small bottle shaped stone built tower about 20 foot high. Set in a nice park, it is significantly old!
No admission charges.
Only a 5 min walk from Tumuli Park and the mounds.

We went during the day , perhaps a visit at night when it is all lit up would be better.

Good oportunity to burn off , food and beer.

1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Some may say.. it's just a small tower but you need to dive in that time .. 7th century and think about the observation they made.. pretty impressive

Thank BenoitY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

This was a very interesting stop. We spend an hour going around the park like facility. The signs are dual lauange which is very helpful.

1  Thank 494CHRISTOPHERM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews