We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave it a second chance and it did not dissappoint! BRAVO.”

black & blue Steak and Crab
Reserve with OpenTable
black & blue Steak and Crab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 747 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 40 - USD 80
Description: black & blue sets the bar for the New American Steakhouse; elegant yet unpretentious, sophisticated yet approachable. b&b offers an inventive design and unparalleled ambiance for you and your guests. Our inspired cuisine coupled with our gracious hospitality is perfect for your refined lunch meeting, special occasion dinner, family gathering or executive business event. black & blue also offers a variety of private rooms and tailor made menus for large groups. We would be happy to help plan your next business meeting or celebratory function.
Restaurant details
Description: black & blue sets the bar for the New American Steakhouse; elegant yet unpretentious, sophisticated yet approachable. b&b offers an inventive design and unparalleled ambiance for you and your guests. Our inspired cuisine coupled with our gracious hospitality is perfect for your refined lunch meeting, special occasion dinner, family gathering or executive business event. black & blue also offers a variety of private rooms and tailor made menus for large groups. We would be happy to help plan your next business meeting or celebratory function.
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Dined here in May, and it was just not ready for prime time. My original review is copied below. I had a business lunch here today and it was vastly improved; everything from the service to the food. We had numerous seafood offerings, including a very nice crab cake, snapper and grouper. What an improvement! We did not have any steak, so cannot comment on that. I will certainly return in the future. To the Management: thank you for listening to the customer feedback and making changes.

If you put this in NYC it would not last a month”
Reviewed May 24, 2017

This is a poor excuse for a steak house. The space is nice and when you walk in, expectations are high. It all goes downhill from there. The red wine we were served was warm, even thought they said it was stored properly. Not good. The Lobster bisque had a bitter, off putting taste. We ate some and left the rest. The shrimp cocktail was one of the worst I have ever experienced. Overcooked, TINY shrimp. So how were the steaks? Mediocre at best. Other party with me had a rib eye. It was the thinnest cut ever. Mashed potatoes had a sweet taste. Bizarre. The place is obviously skimping on quality to maximize profit. I recommend that ownership immediately head to NY or Boston and eat in a few top steak houses and then come back and revamp. I would not return.

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g29786-d8368391-r487378453-Black_blue_Steak_and_Crab-Albany_New_York.html#

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HonestOpinion19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiley M, Guest Relations Manager at black & blue Steak and Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for your willingness to return to b&b. We are so pleased to hear about your positive experience and look forward to your next visit. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Kiley M
Guest Relations Manager
Two For Seven, LLC
guestrelations@blackandbluesteakandcrab.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 76 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We went to the restaurant with relatives from Oregon. The menu was impressive but the food and outstanding service even better. The steaks are always good as they were this night. But the short ribs (house special) and veal chop (daily special) were the hits of the night. Our server, Rebecca, went far beyond her call of duty to satisfy my bother-in-law's desire for root beer. Greatly appreciated. Great evening!

Thank eph62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiley M, Guest Relations Manager at black & blue Steak and Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you very much. We are so pleased to hear about your positive experience and can't wait to share your review with the entire b&b team. See you soon!

Sincerely,
Kiley M
Guest Relations Manager
Two For Seven, LLC
guestrelations@blackandbluesteakandcrab.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

My husband and I went to Black and Blue with another couple. My friend and I shared a porterhouse steak and it was cooked perfectly. The restaurant is very accomodating with sharing dishes. My husband had tuna steak, which he raved about. The meat and fish come without side dishes, so you order what you want, The sides come in two sizes, single and sharing portions. The mashed red potatoes were enough for 4 and delicious. Also, an excellent wine list and service. This was one of our best restaurant experiences in a long time.

Thank gomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiley M, Guest Relations Manager at black & blue Steak and Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and share with us your experience. We are so pleased to hear about the exceptional food and service. Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Kiley M
Guest Relations Manager
Two For Seven, LLC
guestrelations@blackandbluesteakandcrab.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We had a nice dinner on a busy Saturday night. We found the decor in the dinning room relaxing and comfortable. However the acoustics made it difficult to having a conversation. We selected the red snapper, filet mignon and rack of lamb along with sides of onion rings, Mac n cheese and ceasar salad. Let me not forget the decadent long Island oysters! The red snapper was felt to be very good to exceptional, while the rack of lamb was said to be very good. The filet of mignon was done to perfection. We throughly enjoyed the onion rings and Mac n cheese. The wait staff was very knowledgeable, but not always attentive. Topped off the dinning experience with the most scrumptious truffles.

Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiley M, Guest Relations Manager at black & blue Steak and Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Ellen, thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and share with us your experience. While we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the food, we are concerned about the inattentive service. That is certainly not what you should expect from us. If you are open to it, please send us an email at your convenience to see what we can do to make up for our mistakes. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Kiley M
Guest Relations Manager
Two For Seven, LLC
guestrelations@blackandbluesteakandcrab.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

My husband and I tried black and blue several weeks ago. The service was not the best due to a very long wait. We let the management know. They responded quickly and sent us a gift certificate to make amends.

We went again last night. The service was outstanding in all respects. That, combined with good food, made for an excellent time. To top it off, our waiter, "Billy", was a former student of mine way back in grade school. It was good to see him and observe that he has mastered his craft. We can now recommend black and blue.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LuticiaPamelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiley M, Guest Relations Manager at black & blue Steak and Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share with us your experience. We are so grateful for your willingness to return to b&b and can't thank you enough for recommending our restaurant to others. See you soon!

Sincerely,
Kiley M
Guest Relations Manager
Two For Seven, LLC
guestrelations@blackandbluesteakandcrab.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed black & blue Steak and Crab also viewed

 

Been to black & blue Steak and Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing