We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historical settlement with a winter craft sale”

Shaker Heritage Society
Ranked #22 of 71 things to do in Albany
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site of the first Shaker community. Located adjacent to Albany International Airport, the historic site features nine Shaker buildings, an herb garden, apple orchard and cemetery where Shaker founder, Ann Lee is buried. The 1848 Shaker Meeting House contains a small museum and gift shop. Hiking trails are available at the adjacent Ann Lee Pond Wildlife Preserve.
Reviewed 5 December 2017

This is a historic settlement from the late 1800's into the 20th century. Most of the important buildings are still in place, with a good audio tour available. During the Christmas season, they hold a very nice craft sale as well, which is always worth the visit. There is also a nearby nature preserve, which offers a nice hike any time the weather permits.

Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"meeting house"
in 15 reviews
"herb garden"
in 6 reviews
"albany airport"
in 8 reviews
"nature preserve"
in 2 reviews
"settlement"
in 6 reviews
"video"
in 4 reviews
"fairs"
in 2 reviews
"history"
in 12 reviews
"century"
in 2 reviews
"room"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017

The exhibit is one room that details the start of the Shaker Movement in America and continues through its last years. Well done. Informative.

1  Thank takingiteasy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakerWV, Manager at Shaker Heritage Society, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

A quick visit to this Shaker site was well worth the time to see the location/remnants of the first Shaker establishment in North America. My senior citizen parents & I visited on the final day of an 11 day road trip flying into Indianapolis & flying out from Albany.
They were preparing for a big craft fair the next two days so we were able to peek inside the barn as well as tour the meeting house & museum that is normally open for visits. We viewed a 20 minute video that was worth the time to learn about the Shakers in general plus in particular about this community. It gave a great overview of how the Albany airport is located on the former areas worked/farmed by the Shakers. The grounds were neat along with the herb garden and chickens/fowl in a cage near the barn. My parents were not as familiar with the Shakers as I was, and they enjoyed learning about them.

1  Thank SS2teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakerWV, Manager at Shaker Heritage Society, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. We are so glad that you and your parents enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Drove through the grounds this afternoon. Even though was closed, it reminded us of derelict mental institution.

1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakerWV, Manager at Shaker Heritage Society, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

We thank you for taking the time to log on to review the Albany Shaker National Historic Site but we think you should come back again! Walk the grounds on a nice day and see the wonderful stone work lining Shaker Creek. Stop and visit with the oxen who live on site during the summer or explore our beautiful Shaker herb garden. Picnic on the grounds, come to a concert or learn a new skill during one of our hands-on workshops. Yes, the historic site needs a lot of funding to restore the nine remaining Shaker buildings but there is much to explore and enjoy if you take time to look more closely. This is the site of the first Shaker community. It is a very important part of American history and culture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2017

I've only ever been in the meeting house for craft fairs but it's well maintained and pretty cool. The sounding (presumably abandoned) buildings are also really cool to look at.

1  Thank Chevy1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaker Heritage Society also viewed

 

Been to Shaker Heritage Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing