We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the time”

Shaker Heritage Society
Ranked #22 of 67 things to do in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site of the first Shaker community. Located adjacent to Albany International Airport, the historic site features nine Shaker buildings, an herb garden, apple orchard and cemetery where Shaker founder, Ann Lee is buried. The 1848 Shaker Meeting House contains a small museum and gift shop. Hiking trails are available at the adjacent Ann Lee Pond Wildlife Preserve.
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

A quick visit to this Shaker site was well worth the time to see the location/remnants of the first Shaker establishment in North America. My senior citizen parents & I visited on the final day of an 11 day road trip flying into Indianapolis & flying out from Albany.
They were preparing for a big craft fair the next two days so we were able to peek inside the barn as well as tour the meeting house & museum that is normally open for visits. We viewed a 20 minute video that was worth the time to learn about the Shakers in general plus in particular about this community. It gave a great overview of how the Albany airport is located on the former areas worked/farmed by the Shakers. The grounds were neat along with the herb garden and chickens/fowl in a cage near the barn. My parents were not as familiar with the Shakers as I was, and they enjoyed learning about them.

Thank SS2teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakerWV, Manager at Shaker Heritage Society, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. We are so glad that you and your parents enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"meeting house"
in 15 reviews
"herb garden"
in 6 reviews
"albany airport"
in 8 reviews
"gift shop"
in 9 reviews
"craft fairs"
in 2 reviews
"small museum"
in 3 reviews
"settlement"
in 6 reviews
"ann"
in 7 reviews
"founder"
in 2 reviews
"exhibit"
in 7 reviews
"history"
in 13 reviews
"boxes"
in 2 reviews
"century"
in 2 reviews
"nature"
in 2 reviews
"room"
in 3 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Drove through the grounds this afternoon. Even though was closed, it reminded us of derelict mental institution.

1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakerWV, Manager at Shaker Heritage Society, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

We thank you for taking the time to log on to review the Albany Shaker National Historic Site but we think you should come back again! Walk the grounds on a nice day and see the wonderful stone work lining Shaker Creek. Stop and visit with the oxen who live on site during the summer or explore our beautiful Shaker herb garden. Picnic on the grounds, come to a concert or learn a new skill during one of our hands-on workshops. Yes, the historic site needs a lot of funding to restore the nine remaining Shaker buildings but there is much to explore and enjoy if you take time to look more closely. This is the site of the first Shaker community. It is a very important part of American history and culture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

I've only ever been in the meeting house for craft fairs but it's well maintained and pretty cool. The sounding (presumably abandoned) buildings are also really cool to look at.

1  Thank Chevy1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The Shaker Heritage Society is a gem located near the Albany Airport. The history of the Shakers is very interesting, and the grounds are lovely. A visit to the summer and fall craft fairs is a must for me, as is a visit for holiday shopping in the Meeting House.

2  Thank PattyR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakerWV, Manager at Shaker Heritage Society, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you so much for your review and for continuing to attend our craft fairs. The craft fairs support about 100 local small businesses (handicraft, local food products etc) as well as the education and historic preservation programs of the Shaker Heritage Society. See you at the next craft fair!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

An airline schedule curtained the time I had to visit. From the short time I was there I found the area to be incredibly inviting and filled with a wonderful history of the Shakers. I've done some research since being there and am anxious to return and spend the extended amount time this place deserves for a proper visit.

1  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaker Heritage Society also viewed

 

Been to Shaker Heritage Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing