We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“albany med”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Recovery Sports Grill
Ranked #147 of 696 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: USD 7 - USD 25
Cuisines: American
Description: Recovery Sports Grill is a family-friendly sports grill offering a unique, yet comfortable atmosphere. With a focus on the community, guests enjoy local memorabilia showcased throughout the restaurant. With 13 locations, in five states, we pride ourselves in serving fresh, never frozen, house-made items as we have something for everyone!
Restaurant details
Description: Recovery Sports Grill is a family-friendly sports grill offering a unique, yet comfortable atmosphere. With a focus on the community, guests enjoy local memorabilia showcased throughout the restaurant. With 13 locations, in five states, we pride ourselves in serving fresh, never frozen, house-made items as we have something for everyone!
Reviewed 31 August 2017

good food..nice place..pulled pork nachos are excellent and HUGE portions. Rubens very good and the ice cream sundaes are to die for! Wait staff is friendly and wait for order is not bad all in all good experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nancypol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah Q, Director of Sales at Recovery Sports Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience. Sounds like you enjoyed a great appetizer, entree and dessert! We thank you for your kind words and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017

First, I have to say that I do not really like sports bars/restaurants or the idea of putting televisions in restaurants. That being said, I really liked the Recovery Sports Grill! I had never heard of the place, but like many others was visiting someone across the street at Albany Medical and needing a convenient place to eat went to the Recovery Room. The food (steakhouse sirloin and bang bang shrimp) were both excellent and the service was friendly, efficient and prompt. Great value. The TVs and sound system were not intrusive. We had a great time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Howland_Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Public Relations Manager at Recovery Sports Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

We're so glad you had a great experience with us. Thank you for sharing and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

My extended family was in town for my uncle's funeral. We ate here on the two nights we were in town. The food was wonderful, but the service was more so. On the night of my uncle's wake, the 13 of us who had traveled to Albany gathered at a table. Without any notice, my uncle's immediate family joined us, making us a party of 21. The staff, and our heroic waiter in particular, immediately added extra tables and chairs and started over again with drink orders. We had a terrific dinner and a very precious time together. Needless to say, we (not all of us!) returned the next night. I will always associate this sports bar with great food and excellent, understanding service!

Thank _marianne_reichelt03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Public Relations Manager at Recovery Sports Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Marianne, we're so glad you had a great experience with us. Thank you for sharing and we hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Ate here several times while a family member was in Albany Medical Center. While the "Recovery Room" is named for being between Albany Medical Center and the Veterans Hospital, the noise level is anything but relaxing. After eating here, you'll likely need "recovery" from the headache you get from the restaurant's really loud headbanger soundtrack.

This was a running joke with my family and patrons at other tables, who all had trouble talking above the music blaring inside, outside on the dining patio, and onto the street through loud speakers. Even our very nice waitress had trouble hearing our food orders above the noise. The music isn't even "good" metal or arena rock--it's just bad.

I realize the sports pub theme comes with the eatery chain, but you gotta wonder if management here is "tone deaf" to their actual clientele, which is hospital staff and patients' families, Hilton guests, and business people. Since the Hilton upstairs doesn't serve lunch or dinner, and nearby eateries are few, most patrons are stuck trying to block out blaring metal while attempting to enjoy their burger, salad, wrap, or pasta.

By the end of our stay, we and other patrons we talked to all had the same idea: why not bring the actual atmosphere up to the restaurant name? Clearly an atmosphere makeover is needed. That would increase business, and do the entire community--including Hilton guests upstairs jarred by 12 hours straight of loud-speaker noise--a real favor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CNYTravelView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Director of Sales at Recovery Sports Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

We thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the noise level of the music. We have reached out to the management team to address the level of the sound system as the level described is not standard at our locations.

We thank you for your patronage and hope you will stop in and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Has dinner here while staying at Hilton Garden and attending a Health care conference next door.

The server Cortney was fabulous! She was very helpful, response dive and cheerful.

The restaurant is a sports bar and grill. There are over 20 large TVs all around the perimeter all on different channels. It's very noisy! Lots of high bar level seating. Some regular tables.

Had dinner of grilled mahi mahi, asparagus and citrus rice. Portions were meager. Food was ok, not great. Rice had a lot of pepper.

This is an OK place for convenience. If you like the sports bar theme you'll enjoy it.

Thank DrKatieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Public Relations Manager at Recovery Sports Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for your review as we like to hear our guest's feedback. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Recovery Sports Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing