We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 154
USD 130
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 186
USD 158
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 135
USD 132
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 194
USD 139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 170
USD 159
TheDesmond
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 171
USD 147
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 119
USD 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 103
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
262
89
18
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
89
18
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housewashington parkapartment buildingbed and breakfastpark viewoff street parkinggated parking lotbagelswithin walking distancesmall kitchenettetop floortwo blocksboiled eggschain hotelrestaurants and barssitting areacomfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This year timing made it necessary for me to get a room and stay overnight after a follow-up appointment at Albany Med. I got a great rate at the Morgan State House on Orbitz. This is a place that truly makes you feel at home! No room service, but a lovely family style breakfast. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean. The staff are causal yet professional. I felt very much at home, and will be back.

Room Tip: Book ahead.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLyndaBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I thought I had seen many nice hotels in many years of travelling areound the world, for business and leisure.
But what I found in the Morgan State House is by far the most surprising and pleasant experience I ever had! 
Starting with the arrival where at teh address I had in the booking it does not appear any classical logo of an Hotel, but more simply a door where , after ringing , a young man appears and cheers you,with a nice smile and some polite words. Then he brings you the room keys and explains to you dilegently where to park securely the car for the night. In addition to that he gives you many info, oral and written, about the location, restaurants in the nearby, wireless and other amemnities.
The room is then an even better a surprise: in this beatiful really ancient house, after having walked  up some wooden stairs ( no elevator, here, so do not bring with you heavy luggage....) you enter in a room like you may expect to see in a 19th century novel!!!
The bed is small (queen size) but nicely soft, well furnished and even with a nice flat tv screen and looks over a beatiful innner garden where you can enjoy quitenesss and some fresh air sitting on confortaable sofas.
The breakfast in the morning is unique: in a really well equipped kitchen , everything is available and you can simply help yourself to grab what you like, (eggs, fruit, bagels, muffins) and compose your meal as you like, seating  in the kitchen , in the dining room or in the garden!
The structure is located in the very center of Albany, so everything is easily to reach.
I found alos in the nearby a very good italain restaurant , named " Bongiorno's" , where I could enjoy one of the most tasting and well prepared italin meal I ever had abroad!
Well, in the end I must say: I shall co,e back to Albany!
So, i really need to say: i shall come back!!!

Room Tip: My room was the 3b. Very nice!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giangui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We wanted to break a journey from DC to Montreal, and this was a superb choice. An old house, paneled walls, with a mix of furniture and furnishings. All very comfortable. Arrived late but had a phone number to be let in. So helpful - carried cases, organized parking in the separate lot. We were given a suggestion to eat 2 blocks away at Buon Giorno ( great - like a real Italian village restaurant). We enjoyed the walk along the quiet cobbled streets. In the morning we enjoyed the 'take what you want' breakfast - plenty of choice for us. The staff even cooked eggs for one lady visitor. A highlight was a personal tour of all the rooms by the owner, Charles. Each room is unique and, although they all look great to our eyes, he is in a continuous program of improvement. He is a great ambassador for the region - so many activities and varied scenery to be enjoyed in an area we normally drive right past. We were happily surprised at how nice Albany is as a town. We will definitely come again

Room Tip: We enjoyed 3 B - but the front rooms (F) seem larger and have fabulous park views - cost more of course.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stiggersdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The building (outside and in) is beautiful. Our room spacious. Service, I think, lacked significantly.

The room was very nice. The ac worked; the water pressure/temperature were fine. The tub (which has jets) was comfortable for one. Strangely, there was one shampoo and two bars of hand soap (one for each sink), but no other toiletries. Usually, there is soap for showers, conditioners, and lotion. Also, for the price (~$250/night), I was expecting some bath salts. The cleaning service did make up the room nicely the next morning.

Service: when we arrived, we had to ring the bell (the door is locked for safety). A young man (mid 20s?) came to the door to lead us into the kitchen. Evidently, he worked there, though you wouldn't know it given his sloppy attire (shorts and a t-shirt) and lack of any name tag or introduction. He then took our credit card (why we didn't ask for his id, we dont' know), disappeared for a bit, and came out with the paperwork.

Breakfast is served, starting at 7, though the fridge is always available for guests to peruse. The food itself (continental style) was ok: bagels, fruit, coffee, juice, tea, small pastries, etc. It was nothing special. You help yourself. There is a nice patio area to sit in if the weather is nice. Both mornings, a young lady (again not dressed in any way so as to indicate she worked there) seemed to keep things in order.

Checking out, we had to go to the hallway to ring the bell because we had no idea how to contact the workers if they were not in the kitchen area. The same young lady above came down, did not ask if we enjoyed our stay and showed no indication that she cared to know. She asked if we parked in the lot ($10/day). We did, but had we not told her, she wouldn't have known (or cared, seemingly). Also, incidentally, they knew we were staying there to celebrate our wedding that day (we told them on the phone when booking)--but there was no acknowledgement of it. A simple "congratulations" would have been appreciated.

Put simply: they can get away with the poor service only because of the location and history of the building. That's what you are paying for here, and if other things are important, look elsehwere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cbarsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Albany has just enough to keep you busy for a weekend. Morgan State House is a perfectly located B&B, with beautiful great accommodations, adequate choices for breakfast. Walking distance to Lark St. where the capitol region dines, or as one local called it an "emerging Greenwich Village."

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryLuL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews