We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
An interesting activity if you are in Mahe

In my opinion apart from beach and sea activities there is not much to do so if you find a grey and... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
rickyspa1
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Rum Distillery Tour and Tasting

My wife and I decided to go here one day that it was a bit rainy in the morning at our resort. We... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
LPD_MAV
,
Yateley, United Kingdom
Read all 168 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Mahe Island
from USD 36.90
More Info
from USD 144.30
More Info
from USD 109.70
More Info
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
52
61
28
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
61
28
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sugar cane the main house nice colonial style la grande maison heritage site nice tour guided tour per day gift shop purchasing testing island seychelles tourists gifts scr
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

If you want to visit this cute distillery you have to make a request. You can do this by filling in the form on their site or give them a call. It is only allowed to have a guided tour. The lady explained the whole process very clearly to our group. After the tour through the distillery we went for the rum tasting. It was a nice experience. The whole estate dated back to the 1700's. Lot of history on this site. You can even have a bite in their restaurant.
Distillery tour is 100 and with rum tasting 150.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Ativoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

My wife and I wanted to check out the distillery and taste the different rums. The distillery was closed, we were early, but the tasting was on. No problems, we’ve been thru the Bundaberg Rum Distillery in Australia. The tasting cost SCR 100 each which we thought was reasonable. The eight year old rum was the best, the pineapple and coconut flavour rums were a bit sweet.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank jeffo547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Great small distillery with much love in there products and the locals love it. The tasting is great

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

We were there today, Monday 29th January and although the shop was open the tour was not available as it is raining, the restaurant /coffee shop is also closed, looks like a beautiful place but couldn't see much of it, I would like the website to be updated so people wouldn't make an unnecessary trip

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank suzif73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We did the 11:30am tour. Its about an hour long. Overall I’d rate it as ok. If i was earning ZAR, I’d say its a bit pricey but as a saffa now earning AUD, the disappointment factor was lower.
The tour guide doesn’t appear to enjoy her job or may have been having a bad day.
The tour consists of the history behind the house which is now a restaurant & office, the surrounding grounds and then the distillery process. Lastly, 6 rums are sampled in the visitors centre.

We caught the bus from beau vallon to the terminal in Victoria and then changed buses to head onto Takamaka. Its easy to spot from the bus without any help from a local. All in all, the journey took us just under 1 hour to get there but the bus was busy so we had multiple stops.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews