We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al-Mutran Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Nazareth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Al mutran is a gem. It is in a historic building in Old Jerusalem, a few minutes walk to the Bascilica. The rooms are small but clean and the beds are comfortable with clean colorful linen and duvets instead of blankets. The rooms open onto beautiful common areas for eating, reading etc. On our floor there was a great little balcony that looked out over the city. The manager, Emil, was very accommodating and friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were not great, but better than some we had in Israel. The owner, Amir, was very friendly also. He even drove us in his car to a bus station.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    77
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
57
101
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Emil and Amir helped us so much to organize our tour at Pessah back to the airport because at Friday no busses are going from Tiberias and we did not know it. They were so beautiful. Thank you do much. Julia and Perra

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra31121996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Emile (the owner) was just about one of the most friendly people I have met. He was very accessible when we started planning our trip and answered all the questions we had. The rooms were farily spacious with a nice bathroom and shower. The location of Al-Mutran is great as you're within a quick 5-15 minute walk of all the sites so it's perfect if you're trying to explore Nazareth. They also prepared a tasty breakfast with plenty to eat. I'd definitely use this place if traveling in Nazareth.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and those seemed to be the rooms with queen sized beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamsmr34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in mid-March. Emile and Gaby were really friendly and helpful and I really enjoyed strolling around the old town. The room was really comfortable and i slept like a log. The house has such a homley atmosphere and although it wasn't hot when I was there I would guess that it would remain cool throughout the summer. Breakfasts were excellent. I would love to return one day with my wife. Nazareth is an interesting town if you ignore the religious souvenir stalls etc and has good restaurants/. I found the people to be very friendly. Not many people stay in the town since most people come on coach tours which just drop in for a couple of hours so it is relatively quiet in the evening apart from the locals.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pommiepreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Al-Mutran offers good value for money and set in a very interesting old stone house in the center. The room was simple but nicely furnished, when we had a problem with the heating the nice receptionist took care of it immediately, and the WLan worked very well. There is an opportunity to cook tee in a common room with a big table, where in the summer I imagine it's nice to meet up other guests. It was however difficult to sleep with the very noisy heating turned on.

One important information is however missing on the website of the Al Mutran: There is another place of the same name, a Christian guesthouse, in another part of town. Since it's been there for decades, everyone knows that Al Mutran in Nazareth rather than the relatively new "our" Al Mutran, which is why everyone sent us to the Christian place when we arrived by bus. We ended up in a dark part of the outskirts far away from "our" Al Mutran (which means The Bishop in Arabic), and only got rescued by the very sweet Sister in the Christian guesthouse Al Mutran who called a taxi for us to take us to her competitor. Btw, for those who seek a cheaper (albeit also simpler) place, the Christian guesthouse Al Mutran would be a good choice too!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nazareth hotels
0.3 km away
Villa Nazareth Hotel
Villa Nazareth Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 km away
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.7 km away
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
#3 of 13 in Nazareth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Golden Crown Old City Hotel
0.2 km away
The Fauzi Azar Inn
The Fauzi Azar Inn
#1 of 15 in Nazareth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.1 km away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#4 of 15 in Nazareth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al-Mutran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Mutran Guest House

Property: Al-Mutran Guest House
Address: The Old City, Bishop Square | POB 2654, Nazareth 16100, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Nazareth
Price range (per night): $129 - $211
Hotel Class:3 star — Al-Mutran Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Mutran guest house is a restored 200-year-old Arab mansion in the old city of Nazareth located in the Bishop Square. It offers a boutique-style atmosphere that is suitable for families, couples and individual travelers. The guest house is relaxed and cosy, the staff are welcoming and the rooms are elegant, offering panoramic views over the old city. All rooms have A/C. Free WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al-Mutran Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing