We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly lovely, peaceful place”

Reviewed 3 November 2018

This was one of my favourite stops in a frenetic 8 day tour of the Holy Land.The church of Peter's Primacy at Tabgaha on the north shore of the Sea of Galilee is a fairly modern structure (1930s), but simple and beautiful. The altar is built over the stone on which Jesus prepared fish for his disciples after His Resurrection. Unlike many of the sites in the Holy Land, this was very peaceful when we visited and we could easily have spent far more time here than the hour or so we had. There isn't a lot to see -- just the little church and the Sea of Galilee -- but it's the sort of place that you could bring a picnic lunch and just sit on the shore thinking or reading for hours. We paddled in the Sea of Galilee which is warm and very clean.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Antonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sea of galilee"
in 3 reviews
"prepared fish"
in 2 reviews
"disciples"
in 4 reviews
"shore"
in 2 reviews
"resurrection"
in 2 reviews
"stops"
in 2 reviews
"jesus"
in 4 reviews
"church"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2018

It is not the sight that is so excellent, but the feeling that you experience when visiting the sight.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 444Erica2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

This was one of our stops on the Sea of Galilee. The shoreline is relaxing and I can imagine Jesus as he prepared fish for his disciples. It a beautiful place and not crowded at all while we were there. The church is small but we sang a song while inside and the sound inside of that church makes even the poorest of singers sound beautiful!!

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank Melisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

We visited this part of the sea of Galilee to remember the time when, after His resurrection, Jesus cooked fish for his disciples who were out on the lake in a boat. It is a very peaceful setting and probably much like it was 2,000 years ago. The Church of Mensa Christi, which houses the Primacy of St Peter, is just by the lake shore.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Fleckney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Small church up the hill far away from tourists. Church was closed when we got there. It’s more the surroundings (mark not pretty but authentic) and the stroll that makes it of interest

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank marjoleinc115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mensa Christi Church also viewed

 

Been to Mensa Christi Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing