We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akkotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The hotel owners are fabulous; helpful, knowledgeable and very friendly. This hotel is built into the wall of the old city, amazing. It has a great roof area that from which you have panoramic views at night.
The room was very clean and sufficient space wise. The beds were very firm by American standards. The room faced the street and it was very noisy until about 2am every morning.

Room Tip: One that does not face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roadwarriorretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2016

This is our third time in recent years staying at this small hotel, located near the market and port. The hotel is actually located in the ancient city wall. In the past we stayed in regular rooms. And they were fine. This time we reserved a larger suite. However, it was more like sleeping in a musty cellar, so on the second day we switched rooms, and were much happier, with windows, air and daylight. The hotel is mostly decorated in an old-fashioned brown. The people who run this hotel were, as always, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine. They helped us with recommendations for where to eat lunch and dinner. Since parking is not plentiful, a couple of times we traveled by taxi, leaving the car parked.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenGS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

A friend a nd I stayed for one night at the Akkotel which was a very nice boutique hotel in the old city of Akko. The room was comfortable the staff very friendly and helpful. The only drawback is the noise from the street in the early morning.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Leora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

The Akkotel has three things going for it: the beautiful old exterior of the building built into the old town wall; the warm welcome at reception; and the location in the old town. Unfortunately the interior is just so dated and cluttered with old furniture and 'stuff'. If it hadn't been US$180 a night, and instead been US$80-100, I would rate the hotel 4 out of 5 because then at least it would have provided value for money. I guess they can get away with charging what they do because there is so little to choose from if you want to stay in the old town.

So if you decide to stay at the Akkotel please let me manage your expectations. It's a small hotel across two levels. It's very dark inside with very poor lighting - not great if you want to put makeup on ladies! The hairdryer stopped working because it overheated so mum had to wait 10 mins before resuming drying her hair. The furniture is dated and so are the fittings and decor. It is so in need of modernisation but of course in keeping with the beautiful old architecture. It wouldn't take much because structurally it's great and you wouldn't want to mess with the old walls, ceilings and marble staircase. There is an amazing roof terrace which is labelled something like 'Terrace and Cafeteria' in the lift, and again with such potential. An amazing view of the city but it didn't looked like anyone had been up there for years. They were plastic chairs and a table when you exited the lift and before you unlocked the door to exit. Then the breakfast was very average. Limited choice. The only hot dish was Shakshuka which was luke warm because there was nothing to keep it warm. I attempted to eat this but it had caught on the bottom at some stage of cooking and burnt. Mum and I left to go to a local cafe by the entrance to the Mosque and had a bowl of hummus and coffee with cardamom with the local men. Well worth the addition few dollars and we ate outside in the sunlight.

Talking about food, a visit to Akkotel wouldn't be complete without eating at Uri Buri. We went for dinner. We didn't have the tasting menu as we'd had a late lunch but the food was just so amazing - each dish a mouth sensation - and a similar price to what we'd been paying for lunch and dinner around Israel.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BAChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst on a tour. The hotel is built into the walls of the old city and an amazing place to explore from. You felt really part of the historical city. We wanted to relax for an hour in the sun and went onto the roof terrace but it was empty and totally underused - perhaps too early in the season - I hope so as it could be a great place for watching the sun go down.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DGPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acre
0.4 km away
Efendi Hotel
Efendi Hotel
#1 of 4 in Acre
368 reviews
1.1 km away
Rimonim Palm Beach Acre
10.1 km away
Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Sea Life Spa Hotel
Sea Life Spa Hotel
#2 of 7 in Nahariya
251 reviews
13.9 km away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
10 km away
Madison Hotel Nahariya
Madison Hotel Nahariya
#4 of 7 in Nahariya
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akkotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akkotel

Address: Salahuddin Street, 1 | Acre (Akko) Old City, Acre 24112, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Northern District > Acre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Price Range: $226 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akkotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akkotel Hotel Acre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing